No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - University Arms Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Regent Street , Cambridge, CB2 1AD
Situated in the heart of Cambridge, the University Arms with its illustrious history, offers a combination of expansive elegance, associated with the Victorian era, and an attention to detail demanded by today's most discerning guest. Facilities for business or leisure are impressive and professional with a choice of 120 bedrooms. Importance is placed on meeting the requirements of each and every guest whether for a weekend Leisure Break or a lavish product launch for 350 delegates. Complemented by spacious bedrooms, many of which overlook Parker's Piece, and a fine restaurant, the University Arms provides the complete venue for every occasion. The first impression you get as you come through the main entrance, is one of elegance and style. The second is one of warmth and personal attention. Every bedroom with its own distinctive style surrounds you in traditional luxury, yet provides each guest with the facilities of a modern hotel.
The hotel has parking for a limited number of cars which is available on a first come first served basis.
Parking is on a self park basis charged ay £16.00 per day. Once our car park is full, alternative parking is available at the Queen Anne car park which is situated on Gonville Place, postal code CB1 1ND.
Picture of University Arms Hotel , Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 129 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room felt tired.
Although the bedding and towels were of a good quality and clean,on the whole the room itself and the the furniture were in need of an update and refurbishment
We planned to dine in the restaurant for our evening meal.the surroundings were very nice however on placing our order for two beef meals we were informed they only had enough for one. As this was only 7.30 and there were only a couple of diners in ,this seemed avery poor show. The serving staff were very pleasant and attentive.

Reviewed by
M T

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value comfortable hotel ideally located in the centre. Lots of character...loved the lift!
Room needed updating but was still comfortable. We were told the hotel is to be shut for 2 years whilst it undergoes extensive refurbishment. What a shame as I would love to stay there again soon but it will be fantastic when it is finished.

Reviewed by
Yvonne S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location but can't rate anything else but poor.
I suppose you pay for the location because nothing else warranted the price. Firstly the rooms were terribly dated. The bathroom had hairs on the floor and lampshades all skque-wiff, the detail missed when room checked by housekeeping. On a positive the bed was comfy . When I joined my friends in the bar it became apparent the pipes to all the beer pumps wasn't working but they continued serving it until we brought it to their attention that it wasn't drinkable. The staff seemed unable to communicate effectively. When we returned from our night out at midnight we decided to have a nightcap in the bar to be told it was closed!! As residents we expected to be served so they reluctantly opened it. Breakfast was pleasant giving plenty of choice but the service was a joke. Unable to communicate or provide any customer service this is not acceptable in an industy that should pride itself on providing guests with good service.

Reviewed by
claire d

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice enough people, but our stay was a like a panto...they couldnt seem to get anything right. The hotel is old and tired, the air conditioning in the bedrooms is broken and the decor is horrible and dated. We will stay at the Cambridge City Centre hotel next time.

Reviewed by
john h

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Website very misleading
Incredibly poor experience here
AC was not working, rooms are old and dingy, customer service poor.

Reviewed by
Joel W

From USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faded elegance
The room and bathroom need a full renovation. The bathroom door would not close, because at some stage the top hinge had been forced. There was hair on the bathroom floor and the lino was discoloured. The air conditioning unit in the bedroom did not function. Décor is old and faded. That said, full marks for providing enough milk to make more than one cup of tea.

Reviewed by
E King

From Saxmundham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, but...
Generally good accommodation with large room, comfortable bed and balcony with view on to Parker's Piece; great location and on site car parking.
A very warm night and the air conditioning was not working so opened the window-however this led to an extremely restless night with constant noise from midnight to 5:00 am.
Complained about the broken air conditioning again at checkout and had an in depth conversation about Cambridge nightlife!? Missing the point of the cause of the problem.

Reviewed by
Barry A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Check in and check out was very efficient and the staff at breakfast were really great. The negative for the hotel was that it looks very tired. Our room's carpet was thread bare. The bathroom needs an update including new tiles. It was all a bit underwhelming. I think the hotel is getting away with low standards in the rooms because of the great location. I feel its very cheeky to charge for parking taking into consideration the price of the rooms.

Reviewed by
c bright

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A brief but comfortable stay
We only stayed one night so we could travel up from Kent and have a night out in town. The excelent central location swung our choice and everything was on our doorstep, which was good. We ate out and only really used the hotel for the accommodation, and the breakfast the following morning, which we had in our room. The room in the 1960's extension was a little tired and battered generally, although we noted the managers comments in the room guide saying the hotel will be undergoing refurbishment, this does need to be badly done though, but generally our stay was very comfortable and the breakfast was very good. A bit pricy for the state of the room as it is currently but that's a city central location price I guess. Over all though agood stay. Shame about extra cost for parking the car at the hotel though.

Reviewed by
Ian Batchelor

From Sevenoaks, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real treat
Comfortable clean room - lovely view of Parker's Piece. Worth the upgrade! Worth getting up early to enjoy breakfast in ballroom looking over Parker's Piece. Would recommend the Eggs Benedict with back bacon. Close to the centre of Cambridge with its great shops, sights and eateries. Overall would recommend treating yourself.

Reviewed by
Gillian F

From Woodford Green, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next