No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Anchor Inn

Not Classified  Inn Ratings explained
1 Lutterburn Street, , , Ivybridge, PL21 0NG
Mark & Vicky would like to welcome you to the The Anchor Inn, a traditional yet contemporary, village inn with restaurant, pub and ten bedrooms available on a Bed and Breakfast basis. Ideally situated within a stones throw of Dartmoor National Park in Devon where the movie Warhorse was recently filmed, we’re the perfect base for exploring one of the UK’s most stunning landscapes. We’re also just on the edge of the glorious South Hams with it's array of wonderful beaches and coastal paths. If you want to hit the shops or take in a show, then the city of Plymouth is just twenty minutes away. Our six bedrooms and four cabins have high ceilings, comfortable double beds with walk in showers or baths and our prices offer phenomenal value for the quality and comfort that we offer. The rooms are ideally suited to families and couples looking to get away on a short break or holiday to South Devon, the Dartmoor National Park and the South Hams people and to people on business looking for a comfortable alternative to the busy city. If you want a bite to eat, then our restaurant is open for lunch and dinner. Our menu, is delicious, seasonal and uncomplicated - a real gastro treat. If a pint and a snack is more your thing, then our pub is the place to be. If you’ve never been our way before, let us advise you on all the best things to see and do in our area.
Picture of Anchor Inn, Ivybridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overnight stay
We spent a Saturday night here as it was a very pleasant experience. Staff were very friendly, our room was spacious and clean, the bar area was small but cosy and the breakfast was tasty. Only negative would be the fact the windows of the outside rooms aren't soundproofed and so we were woken on Sunday morning by the voices of other guests leaving around 7ish.

Reviewed by
Rhian N

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine village inn just to the south of Dartmoor
A very comfortable and welcoming village inn with excellent accommodation, good food and very friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Paul Bryant

From Falmouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well earned rest
Found hotel clean and newly refurbished. Wet room was great. However church bells weren't! Food very tasty but a bit too "fancy" for us. Enjoyed stay though!

Reviewed by
A Yates

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place, nice people
Stayed one night because I was unable to get a room in a business hotel in Plymouth within budget. The Anchor is a beautifully refurbished inn with comfortable rooms (only saw no 5) and great food. I had dinner and breakfast, both excellent. If you were staying more than a couple of nights I'm not sure hanging or drawer space would be sufficent in No 5, so best check out other rooms. Ugborough is a pretty and v.quiet village, except for the church clock chimes!
I will definitely use the Anchor again for business trips, maybe for leisure too. Thank you Ben and Francesca.

Reviewed by
Leslie Young

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Homely visit
On arrival we were shown to our beautifully presented room which featured stylish and homely décor. The staff were very welcoming and were able to accommodate our 4 month old puppy as we were able to eat our main meal in the dog friendly bar. The food was tantalising and great value- outstanding quality! We will be returning.

Reviewed by
C Villa

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very high quality accomodation & food. Thoroughly recommended!
Enjoyed a two night stay - the Anchor has obviously had a very thorough refurbishment with a lot of money spent! Very good ensuite wetroom with high quality fittings and excellent quality linen. Food extremely good, I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Damon Culley

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb last minute break. Staff welcoming and friendly and setting beautiful.

Reviewed by
N Skirton

From Somerton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anchor Inn
Fantastic , very enjoyable stay. Very well presented and comfortable, great food and staff were very nice. Highly recommend a visit to them.

Reviewed by
B SOUTAR

From Arbroath, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Devon
Excellent accommodation with a very warm welcome. During our 3 night stay every member of staff we met greeted us warmly & went out of their way to make you feel welcome.
Food in the restaurant was great & reasonably priced when compared to others in the area.
Would highly recommend & would not hesitate to book again.

Reviewed by
John S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.