No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Wold Cottage

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Wold Cottage, Wold Newton, , Driffield, YO25 3HL
Winner of 'Welcome to Yorkshire's' White Rose award 2012/13, best Bed & Breakfast & Winner of Deliciously Yorkshire Breakfast award,
The Wold Cottage, originally a Georgian city gentleman´s country retreat, sits in beautifully landscaped grounds where fruit and vegetables are grown for the table and woodland provides a haven for wildlife. Perfectly un-spoilt views extend over its own 300 acre farmland to the Yorkshire Wolds beyond. The area that inspired David Hockney to paint 'a Bigger Picture'.
Regular finalists in the prestigious White Rose Awards, Katrina and Derek have a special eye for detail in the accommodation as well as in the kitchen, Katrina having featured in BBC TV´s 'Ready Steady Cook'. Every room in The Wold Cottage has been lovingly furnished with quality and style to make your stay comfortable and memorable. All of our accommodation now has WIFI (wireless Internet) access.
Self catering options also available in barn convesion.
Excellent location for visiting Coast, Wolds, Moors, historical houses, wonderful gardens or just relaxing in beautiful counrtyside.

Bedrooms at The Wold Cottage are all spacious and individually styled with sumptuous furnishings, and each has a generous en-suite bathroom.

There is a choice of four-poster, twin-bedded and double rooms, as well as a family room with double and twin beds.

Thoughtful touches of luxury are all part of The Wold Cottage experience, including tv, cd-radio, a hot-drinks tray with welcome biscuits or cake plus bottled mineral water. Quality toiletries are there for you in the bathroom along with fluffy towels and bathrobes.

Quality, style and your comfort are of the highest importance at The Wold Cottage. There are 5 luxury suites to choose from - each having unique properties and features, please contact us direct to book individual rooms Tel.01262 470696

Complimentary tea & cake served on arrival 4-6pm
Picture of The Wold Cottage, Driffield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Sized Family Room
The main house is beautiful and in a lovely setting.
We had struggled to find a family room with parking in this location but found a real gem with The Wold Cottage.
The family room we stayed in was in a separate building away from the main house - it was a great size with plenty of space, lovely and clean and beautifully presented. The choice for breakfast was very good - even for our fussy 7 year old!

Reviewed by
Melanie L

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good beds too

Reviewed by
G Collins

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Immaculate

Reviewed by
P Morton

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel was beautiful the room we were allocated definately had the wow factor ! The breakfast was substantial and cooked very well ! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the owners to be friendly and welcoming.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Harris

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wet in Bridlington
Friendly welcome ,nice big room with very comfy four poster and very
large bathroom

Reviewed by
M Pruce

From Tirril ,Penrith , UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely restored Georgian farmhouse
A real find. A working farm with stylish accommodation. Excellent breakfast. No corners cut. Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Redhill, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful hotel, can thoroughly recommend it.

Reviewed by
P Brown

From Fleet, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely perfect
Friendly welcome with freshly baked loaf of bread, tea, coffee, Yorkshire brack and jam at our self catering cottage. Swing on large tree out the front for the kids to play on and plenty of grounds to wander around. Barbecue to use in warmer weather. Option to have breakfast in the hotel in the morning - fab selection (best scrambled eggs!)with single item options for the kids - ideal for fussy eaters. Accommodation was very clean with plenty of space, large living room enough for kids to play while we relaxed. Two bedrooms each with en suite, twin had bath again ideal with the kids. Derek and Katrina showed endless patience with both kids asking questions and chatting as small children do. Perfect location as base for visiting Scarborough, Whitby, Filey, Bridlington and York. Equally great just as a get away to do nothing. Will definitely be booking again!!

Reviewed by
Lisa P

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting pity about the food
Stayed for one night in the Parker Suite which is on the top floor of the annex. Massive suite with all facilities including small kitchen. Very clean and comfortable although bed was a bit too soft for our liking. Had arranged for evening meal which was disappointing and breakfast was fine but nothing special. Didn't really live up to the expectations set by the awards mentioned on the website.

Reviewed by
Alan C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely cottage, amazing place to stay
What a wonderful place to stay, wold cottage was perfect , the accommodation was fantastic, we got a free upgrade to a four poster bedroom in the converted barn which we loved, everything was clean and tidy and anything we could of needed. We were also booked a table at the blue bell in a nearby village in which we had the most fantastic meal, and the next morning the breakfast provided was just as nice, overall I would recommend wold cottage to anyone it is a lovely place and I would definitely go back again

Reviewed by
L Corley

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next