Bangor University Accommodation

4

Neuadd Reichel Building, Ffordd Ffriddoedd, Bangor, LL57 2TR

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (79)

86% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • richard irwin

  • September 2013

Excellent study eedroom

Room was spotless with ensuite, fresh towels daily and bed made up.

and keycard door locks make it very secure. i stayed here to do Snowdon and bus services pass by the university on main road. i didnt take the meal option but used a Morrisons supermarket for breakfast and evening meals. The walk into town is about 10 minutes and uphill coming back or you could take a bus. Its apity that it is onlu available out of term time because value for money it cant be beaten

  • Christine Tuckey

  • September 2013

My stay at Neuadd John Morris Jones

Only real negatives were 6 flights of stairs to room and wet room type of shower.

Seems I missed requesting accommodation with a lift when I made my booking. Internet password etc did not work and I did not know that breakfast for the following day had to be booked by midday. I arrived about 6 pm. Bed was comfortable.

  • M W

  • September 2013

My Experience at Bangor University

A group of cousins met at Bangor.

After I checked into my room on a weekend I realized there was a stench from the bathroom. There was no one around to report this so I emailed them the next day and there was a key to a new room. I moved all my stuff in the new room but on return in the evening realized the bed had not been changed and the bathroom dirty, and the bin had not been emptied. It was quite a walk to reception. I emailed again. I returned to my room later that morning and the bed had clean sheets, bathroom cleaned, but bin was waiting to be emptied and room needed vacuuming and I had no coffee/tea as advertised. That evening on my return it was all done. When I left I got my money back and apology from a lovely manager saying this wasn't their normal standards. I mentioned that the kitchen was dirty and the bin had not been emptied in the 4 days during my stay. Also my cousins who requested stay with me on the same floor were on a different floor and access was difficult. Because the service was terrible and I would mark 1 above, the very nice and helpful manager sorted it out and I would give her 6, so I have given the overall experience 3. In theory it should be good value for money but my experience was unbelievable.

  • d hyde

  • September 2013

adequate and cheap. but not perfect.

adequate accomadation but bathroom lighting not checked/working and other bulbs needed replacing too

  • Mita D

  • September 2013

Confortable but "cold"

The room is was bit dirty, and the building let me a "sad" and "cold" feeling.

But for a few nights is't OK, perfect organization at the reception.

  • A Vey

  • September 2013

Perfect place for single travellers on a budget, whatever your travel purpose

Having studied at Bangor University years back, and stayed for a year in the rooms, I was pleasantly surprised at how good the rooms actually were.

Internet connection is included, the bed was comfy, and cleaners came each day to provide fresh towels and clean the room. The breakfast was fantastic - fresh fruit and yoghurt, full english, and rolls, croissants etc. Seeing older negative reviews about the breakfast, they have clearly sorted out their act, and for only ~6 quid extra, the brekkie is a bargain that will keep you going well into the afternoon. One small problem was that the bells for each corridor (with 8 rooms each) didn't work, so if you have friends in a different corridor, make sure you can phone them. Each corridor has a kitchen but no appliances and utensils, so if you want to cook you will have to bring your own. I can't recommend this enough for single travellers (only single beds available - not really big enough for two, although groups might be able to have rooms on the same corridor) needing a single night to more than a week. The man at the reception was very friendly and helpful, providing maps, directions and suggestions for restaurants etc. Bangor is a lovely little city very close to a lot of amazing and often under-visited natural sights, and these rooms are the perfect base from which to explore them. I will certainly stay here again when I go back to Bangor. For value, comfort and breakfast, it is unbeatable.

  • John Clemens

  • September 2013

Good value for someone alone, it is really difficult finding single room accomadation, having to walk 100metres plus for breakfast could prove tricky in bad weather.staff were friendly and helpful

  • David T

  • September 2013

Very straight forward booking and efficient staff at check-in desk.

Had stayed here before and already knew my way around Bangor so I wasn't needing extra info. Room worked fine for its purpose, which was to sleep in as I was out during most of the daytime. Only qualm was that when someone went in and did room service they didn't close and lock the door properly as they left. Not sure what time that was, but I didn't go in the room for a period of about six hours and so on returning to it, wasn't happy that the room was unlocked when my laptop was inside it. Would rather keep the same towels for whole weekend and leave my bed unmade than pay to have my stuff nicked.

  • Colin P

  • September 2013

Great place

I have stayed here every summer since they started doing these holiday lettings (university reunions).

I think they are very good value for money, especially considering most accommodation in Bangor is old, dirty and expensive. The only complaint I have is that when the cleaners enter your room they often don't close your door afterwards which can be annoying.

  • W Hughes

  • September 2013

Practical Accommodation

Good, practical accommodation for overnight stay.

Self-catering facilities are basic - joint use of kitchen - cooker, fridge, freezer, kettle - but no pots and pans etc are available, so if you plan to cook your own meals, you'll need to bring everything. That said, it served a purpose for my visit, and good value. Organisation, administration of the stay were excellent, as was information received and the staff member I met was polite and helpful.