No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Barnett Hill - A Sundial Venue

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
BARNETT HILL HOUSE, BLACKHEATH LANE , GUILDFORD, GU5 0RF
Barnett Hill is a beautiful Queen Anne-style property set in 26 acres of stunning gardens and woodlands just outside Guildford in Surrey. The stunning architecture has been carefully maintained and enhanced to ensure that Barnett Hill offers its guests a great relaxing environment in a country house rural setting.

The beautiful dining rooms in the main house have their own individual style, creating a timeless world of elegance and serenity that makes Barnett Hill a very special venue. 56 en-suite bedrooms provide superb accommodation for guests for overnight accommodation, celebration meals and special occasions. Dinner is available in the evening with prior reservation at the time of booking highly recommended as dining options may vary.

Barnett Hill has 56 superb bedrooms that are perfect for a restful night's sleep after a busy day. The rooms, some of which sit within the main house while others are housed in an adjacent accommodation building, are individually decorated, comfortable and beautifully appointed.
Picture of Barnett Hill - A Sundial Venue, GUILDFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place to get away from it all.

Reviewed by
M Kemp

From Sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stunning location
Friendly staff, great food, beautiful venue, basic but clean bedroom with a dodgy shower in the annexe, useful gym with free weights, weight machines, rower and bike. No running machine. Good Wi-Fi throughout. No Vodafone signal on site but that isn't the hotels fault!

Reviewed by
craig e

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly disappointing
The grounds looked superb and first impressions of the hotel were good. Unfortunately the quality of the accommodation was very disappointing. The standard double room was tired looking and the carpet worn thin. Overlooking the car park was not the view I had anticipated. The shower head had sprung a leak and sprayed water everywhere, but at least the water was hot. Fortunately the room was quiet as requested and we managed a reasonable amount of sleep, despite the size of the bed. The best thing about the stay was the breakfast and the helpful waiting staff. Overall a disappointing stay, and what felt like a missed opportunity given the lovely surroundings.

Reviewed by
Alan B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely old house in beautiful grounds
This lovely old house, once the residence of Thomas Cook, has fantastic detail. It is set in acres of well kept grounds. It represented exceptional value for money costing less than many B&B places.

Reviewed by
david b

From New Milton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent as usual

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Parked my van with a table on top in a car park full of corporate cars !!!
This is probably the best place we have ever stayed in in the UK, absolutely superb setting and grounds, brilliant service, food,it had the lot. Cannot find fault with the place, which is a first. We will definately be staying there again. Other couples and families were staying there at the same time so although the place is geared to the corporate/conference clients guffawing and talking mind-blowingly boring drivel, we were treated just as importantly as the suits and did not feel at all out of place. 100% 10 out of 10.

Reviewed by
Simon Shepheard

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible customer service
I had booked a table at the hotel restaurant in advance of arriving at the hotel but upon checking in, I was informed that they had no record of the table booking and we were asked to eat in the bar, where we were basically ignored. We sat down at 8.30 - was served our main course at 9.30 and our dessert at 10.30, after repeatedly trying to find someone to ask where our food was.
Upon checking into the room, we noticed that one of the LED lights in the bathroom was flickering / strobing. We could not turn off just this one light so we either had a flickering light or complete darkness in the bathroom. I suffer badly from migraines and the light did trigger a migraine and nausea. We reported the light on the first night and we were told someone would look at it but was still flickering when we returned to our room over two hours later. We then reported it again on the Saturday morning but was still not fixed when we returned on Saturday evening. Upon checking out, I complained about the fact that no-one had tried to fix the light and was told that they had tried but had failed and that we should have come to reception for a third time, as they would have been able to move us to a different room on Saturday night - something they had completely failed to communicate to us. A simple note in the room would not have been so hard to do. There was no apology about this terrible customer service and I was not permitted to speak to a manager even though I asked to do so and waited 30 minutes to do so.
I would never, ever, stay here again. Beautiful surroundings and convenient for visiting friends of ours but the worst customer service have ever experienced.

Reviewed by
J Jennings

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quick stop!
I arrived at 2200 to be told that there was no food available either from the restaurant or the bar and I had to drive back into town to eat.
Room was basic but comfortable and clean. Very pleased and grateful to have a good wifi connection which enabled me to work in the bar and in my room with ease.
Breakfast was really good, nicely laid out quality choices and a rally nice place to start the day. I ate mine outside looking out onto the lovely gardens.
Sadly due to the experience when I arrived, knackered and hungry I probably wouldn't stay again.

Reviewed by
Liam Grover

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Such a shame. A wonderful opportunity wasted!
Such a shame. This hotel is, apparently, run on behalf of The Red Cross. It is in a beautiful setting and has glorious gardens. However, the room we stayed in was cramped and very short of standing room. We were on the second floor and our room was in one corner of the lovely house but built into the slope of the roof. A few bumps and bruises but we survived! The restaurant was a sham. A young chap who had been seconded from bar duty was doing his best to keep up with service but he was a little out of his depth. The 'restaurant' was a side room with somewhat austere décor. Not a four star hotel as we had expected from the rating

Reviewed by
Paul V

From Bude, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting - poky room
Exquisite location and lovely grounds - perfect for good weather weddings. Really enjoyed the variety of trees and the wooded walks. But, room was small and crowded with tiny shower, poor water flow and difficult temperature control. Fan in wardrobe indicates that it did get hot, but didn't work. Food good to a point and service was polite and willing.

Reviewed by
MJ M

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next