No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Barnett Hill - A Sundial Venue

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
BARNETT HILL HOUSE, BLACKHEATH LANE , GUILDFORD, GU5 0RF
Barnett Hill is a beautiful Queen Anne-style property set in 26 acres of stunning gardens and woodlands just outside Guildford in Surrey. The stunning architecture has been carefully maintained and enhanced to ensure that Barnett Hill offers its guests a great relaxing environment in a country house rural setting.

The beautiful dining rooms in the main house have their own individual style, creating a timeless world of elegance and serenity that makes Barnett Hill a very special venue. 56 en-suite bedrooms provide superb accommodation for guests for overnight accommodation, celebration meals and special occasions. Dinner is available in the evening with prior reservation at the time of booking highly recommended as dining options may vary.

Barnett Hill has 56 superb bedrooms that are perfect for a restful night's sleep after a busy day. The rooms, some of which sit within the main house while others are housed in an adjacent accommodation building, are individually decorated, comfortable and beautifully appointed.
Picture of Barnett Hill - A Sundial Venue, GUILDFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Barnett Hill - A Sundial Venue
Staff very attentive and were proactive, as well as responding excellently to any requests.

Reviewed by
J Clements

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Uncomfortable small room!!!
The room was small and had a small double bed crammed into it, you opened the door and u were on the bed, no room to move around the bedroom a large damp patch on ceiling a cupboard which had been turned into a very poky small shower which needed returning.
Not what you expect for £160 was very disappointed as the grounds and main area was lovely l, bar area could be bigger!?

Reviewed by
M Dye

From Beckenham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hotel. Fantastic Grounds. Fantastic Staff & Food.
Photos on the website initially sold me to book this hotel, driving up and seeing the hotel and grounds were far better than the images showed, even on a cloudy day.
So let's get to the good bits - well all of it. Hotel and grounds are stunning. From the minute we arrived the staff were friendly, polite and friendly - from reception to bar staff and serving staff. You got the feeling they were all genuine with none of the added, fake smiles and the horrible American "Have a nice day" mentality you see in so many other hotels.
The room was perfectly adequate for what we required. If we wanted anything else we would have booked the other rooms but for our 1 night business trip it was absolutely fine.
The 3 course menu was simply gorgeous. Food cooked perfectly and one of the best sweets I have ever eaten. Delicious!
As was the breakfast. More food than you could shake a stick at, everything you could possibly want - and more. And again the staff were very accommodating, friendly and professional.
If I had one small gripe it would be the chairs in the bar area were not the most comfortable but I am really being picky as everything was top notch.
We will be using it for all future business trips down south and I can recommend this hotel and stay were no problem. You will love it.
Thanks to all of the staff for making our stay that much better.

Reviewed by
Kevin Donnelly

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a lovely stay in thomas cook's former home
a beautiful setting , wonderfully managed by predominantly British staff, which was great to see with no language barriers ! while the bar wasnt a great design, the staff were excellant and all the other public rooms were large and well designed and furnished. our bedroom was very functional with some nice touches , including a comfortable bed. only criticism were the midges that were attracted just outside our front door and i told the management , who informed me they were sending in the ghostbusting squad to remove them ! finally the gardens are exquisite and in excellant order ( the wendy house is special ! ) all in all a rather special place and one i look forward to returning to.

Reviewed by
richard s

From Seaview, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place to get away from it all.

Reviewed by
M Kemp

From Sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stunning location
Friendly staff, great food, beautiful venue, basic but clean bedroom with a dodgy shower in the annexe, useful gym with free weights, weight machines, rower and bike. No running machine. Good Wi-Fi throughout. No Vodafone signal on site but that isn't the hotels fault!

Reviewed by
craig e

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly disappointing
The grounds looked superb and first impressions of the hotel were good. Unfortunately the quality of the accommodation was very disappointing. The standard double room was tired looking and the carpet worn thin. Overlooking the car park was not the view I had anticipated. The shower head had sprung a leak and sprayed water everywhere, but at least the water was hot. Fortunately the room was quiet as requested and we managed a reasonable amount of sleep, despite the size of the bed. The best thing about the stay was the breakfast and the helpful waiting staff. Overall a disappointing stay, and what felt like a missed opportunity given the lovely surroundings.

Reviewed by
Alan B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely old house in beautiful grounds
This lovely old house, once the residence of Thomas Cook, has fantastic detail. It is set in acres of well kept grounds. It represented exceptional value for money costing less than many B&B places.

Reviewed by
david b

From New Milton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent as usual

Reviewed by
John B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Parked my van with a table on top in a car park full of corporate cars !!!
This is probably the best place we have ever stayed in in the UK, absolutely superb setting and grounds, brilliant service, food,it had the lot. Cannot find fault with the place, which is a first. We will definately be staying there again. Other couples and families were staying there at the same time so although the place is geared to the corporate/conference clients guffawing and talking mind-blowingly boring drivel, we were treated just as importantly as the suits and did not feel at all out of place. 100% 10 out of 10.

Reviewed by
Simon Shepheard

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next