Barnett Hill - A Sundial Venue

4

BARNETT HILL HOUSE, BLACKHEATH LANE, GUILDFORD, GU5 0RF

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (73)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Keith W

  • April 2015

A gem of a hotel

Welcome on arrival.

Read other reviews some liking some slating but I could not fault my two night stay. Single room in the courtyard. Very clean room and comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic. Choice of full English and/or continental. Staff very friendly and helpfull on all occasions. Games room gym and sauna were a bonus all included in cost of accommodation. Cannot say a bad word on my stay would definitely stay again and will next time I'm in Guildford. Thank you all staff at Barnett hill for making my stay enjoyable.

  • r ainsworth

  • April 2015

Would use again

Good receptionist, beautiful grounds and v good breakfast

  • Christian D

  • March 2015

Overnight Stay

Historically important Edwardian home built by Thomas Cook.

Exceptional value for money.

  • Stephen E

  • January 2015

beautiful surroundings, impressive building

The hotel was in a beautiful setting with fabulous woodland walks and easy access to Blackheath.

We stayed in the Lodge which is at the end of the drive (5 min walk to the main hotel). The Lodge accomodation could do with tidying up a bit. The bathroom was a bit shabby in places (tiling becoming loose), but overall the accommodation was good and the customer service excellent. The hotel should consider cooking breakfast to order when it only has a few guests - it would save money and the breakfast would be fresher for the guests. The games room needs work - re-cloth and level the pool table and get a new dartboard!

  • J Clements

  • December 2014

Barnett Hill - A Sundial Venue

Staff very attentive and were proactive, as well as responding excellently to any requests.

  • M Dye

  • November 2014

Uncomfortable small room!!!

The room was small and had a small double bed crammed into it, you opened the door and u were on the bed, no room to move around the bedroom a large damp patch on ceiling a cupboard which had been turned into a very poky small shower which needed returning.

Not what you expect for £160 was very disappointed as the grounds and main area was lovely l, bar area could be bigger!.

  • Kevin Donnelly

  • November 2014

Fantastic Hotel. Fantastic Grounds. Fantastic Staff & Food.

Photos on the website initially sold me to book this hotel, driving up and seeing the hotel and grounds were far better than the images showed, even on a cloudy day.

So let's get to the good bits - well all of it. Hotel and grounds are stunning. From the minute we arrived the staff were friendly, polite and friendly - from reception to bar staff and serving staff. You got the feeling they were all genuine with none of the added, fake smiles and the horrible American "Have a nice day" mentality you see in so many other hotels. The room was perfectly adequate for what we required. If we wanted anything else we would have booked the other rooms but for our 1 night business trip it was absolutely fine. The 3 course menu was simply gorgeous. Food cooked perfectly and one of the best sweets I have ever eaten. Delicious. As was the breakfast. More food than you could shake a stick at, everything you could possibly want - and more. And again the staff were very accommodating, friendly and professional. If I had one small gripe it would be the chairs in the bar area were not the most comfortable but I am really being picky as everything was top notch. We will be using it for all future business trips down south and I can recommend this hotel and stay were no problem. You will love it. Thanks to all of the staff for making our stay that much better.

  • richard s

  • November 2014

a lovely stay in thomas cook's former home

a beautiful setting , wonderfully managed by predominantly British staff, which was great to see with no language barriers .

while the bar wasnt a great design, the staff were excellant and all the other public rooms were large and well designed and furnished. our bedroom was very functional with some nice touches , including a comfortable bed. only criticism were the midges that were attracted just outside our front door and i told the management , who informed me they were sending in the ghostbusting squad to remove them . finally the gardens are exquisite and in excellant order ( the wendy house is special . ) all in all a rather special place and one i look forward to returning to.

  • craig e

  • October 2014

stunning location

Friendly staff, great food, beautiful venue, basic but clean bedroom with a dodgy shower in the annexe, useful gym with free weights, weight machines, rower and bike.

No running machine. Good Wi-Fi throughout. No Vodafone signal on site but that isn't the hotels fault!

  • M Kemp

  • October 2014

Great Place to get away from it all.