Reviews - Barnett Hill - A Sundial Venue



Price From 205.60 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (44)

73% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • D Weager

  • November 2015

A birthdy suprise turned sour

I surprised my husband for a birthday treat to a stay at what appeared to be a stunning hotel.

The building is stunning, but the hotel aspect is poor. Everything from the staff to the food to the style to the ambience is seriously lacking. I would love to bring it up to standard.

  • john g

  • October 2015

Comfortable stay

A popular hotel in a fantastic setting.

Room was clean and tidy and well maintained. Wi-Fi was a bit slow and had a 45 minute wait between ordering food and receiving it but was eased by genuine helpful staffing. Was an enjoyable stay.

  • D Rouchy

  • August 2015

Exceptional Value & Top notch facilities

  • C Grimes

  • July 2015

Laterooms, cheap rooms, thats what we got, serves us right!

The room was probably the last one available, in the "servants quarters", comfortable but uninspiring, we couldn't see out the windows, except the sky, might have been a nice view.

to see out I would have needed a ladder. Very enclosed, so laterooms, cheap rooms, that's what we got. I'll pay more next time and get a room with a window I can see out of. We didn't have a kettle either and it took an hour and two visits to reception to get one. Food was good, the gardens were magnificent, and the Surrey countryside quite beautiful, although inside the hotel was a little shabby, if I could pay for a room with a view I might stay again but nt with laterooms.

  • Jim P

  • July 2015

A great venue for business or pleasure

Excellent accommodation, the venue is lovely - the grounds stunning - the staff are extremely friendly and efficient and there is a feeling of pride in their hotel.

Beware though - no lift as it is a listed building. The food and service were excellent.

  • E Middleton

  • June 2015

A very special place

Arrived in darkness so didn't appreciate just how special the place was till I drew my curtains in the morning and looked out over the fabulous gardens and grounds.

I owned and ran a tour operator for twenty years so have plenty of experience of hotels and their staff. The staff here were brilliant. I look for two things in staff, friendliness and helpfulness, both of which are not as common as you would hope, especially considering they cost nothing. These staff were effortlessly helpful and friendly and a credit to themselves and the management.

  • R Devrieze

  • June 2015

A night at the inn.

A delightful place to stay.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The grounds and gardens beautiful and would of been quite happy to stay for several more days. I already know where I will be staying the next time I am in the area.

  • Joe Malone

  • June 2015

Very pleasant stay

The hotel and the grounds are lovely.

Rooms are just a little dated but perfectly acceptable and spotlessly clean. I was particularly impressed with the staff who were all incredibly helpful and professional.

I didn't have an evening meal but the cooked breakfast was as good as I've had at any hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and I'd certainly stay again.

  • Keith W

  • April 2015

A gem of a hotel

Welcome on arrival.

Read other reviews some liking some slating but I could not fault my two night stay. Single room in the courtyard. Very clean room and comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic. Choice of full English and/or continental. Staff very friendly and helpfull on all occasions. Games room gym and sauna were a bonus all included in cost of accommodation. Cannot say a bad word on my stay would definitely stay again and will next time I'm in Guildford. Thank you all staff at Barnett hill for making my stay enjoyable.

  • r ainsworth

  • April 2015

Would use again

Good receptionist, beautiful grounds and v good breakfast