No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Barnett Hill - A Sundial Venue

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
BARNETT HILL HOUSE, BLACKHEATH LANE , GUILDFORD, GU5 0RF
Barnett Hill is a beautiful Queen Anne-style property set in 26 acres of stunning gardens and woodlands just outside Guildford in Surrey. The stunning architecture has been carefully maintained and enhanced to ensure that Barnett Hill offers its guests a great relaxing environment in a country house rural setting.

The beautiful dining rooms in the main house have their own individual style, creating a timeless world of elegance and serenity that makes Barnett Hill a very special venue. 56 en-suite bedrooms provide superb accommodation for guests for overnight accommodation, celebration meals and special occasions. Dinner is available in the evening with prior reservation at the time of booking highly recommended as dining options may vary.

Barnett Hill has 56 superb bedrooms that are perfect for a restful night's sleep after a busy day. The rooms, some of which sit within the main house while others are housed in an adjacent accommodation building, are individually decorated, comfortable and beautifully appointed.
Picture of Barnett Hill - A Sundial Venue, GUILDFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay
Great location, wonderful grounds, efficient and friendly staff and comfortable room....and all at an excellent price. Thank you !

Reviewed by
Sue B

From Stamford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
This was a great value stay. The only issue we found was that in the morning the room was very light as the curtains did not block out much of the sunlight. It would nice to have some black out blinds or thicker curtains.

Reviewed by
Steven M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average 4 star hotel in fantastic setting
Very good customer service. First room we were give was a little tired / drab - despite bathroom clearly newly refurbished. We complained and then we were given choice of 2 others, and the one we took in the end was nice, but (only discovered once we had settled in) there was a cupboard of hot water pipes next to the bed which made the room unbearably warm. We mentioned this on checkout and had £25 taken off the bill. Customer service throughout was excellent.
Breakfast was average / poor. Cheap fruit juice, cereals, sliced bread, machine coffee etc.
Bar was very very tacky and unwelcoming. We tried to eat in the hotel the first night but were told we would have to wait 45 minutes to get a table - admittedly we hadn't booked but were a but put out that we had never been prompted to book to avoid disappointment.

Reviewed by
Jeston N

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do not go here unless you have to, i.e. are on a company RaRa course. Do not pay for yourself - as a private citizen it's not for you. The building is great (to own or look at). Access is terrible (unless the company bus takes you). Do not venture into the menu past chicken and chips. Breakfast is motorway service station routine. The building looks interesting, but this is not an upstairs downstairs experience (no upstairs for sure).

Reviewed by
M Riley

From Unterseen, Switzerland
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel
Friendly hotel in beautiful surroundings.

Reviewed by
Heather D

From Burgess Hill, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
One of the best hotels we've stayed at, a real hidden gem. Beautiful grounds, lovely rooms, lovely food, very friendly staff. They've also got a games room which was great fun. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
p andrews

From Worcester park, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food, grounds, common areas, service all outstanding
It's a beautiful place. maintained to a very high standard. Food much better than might be expected, really very good indeed with a reasonable wine list as well. It's a very lavish place at amazingly reasonable prices. Homemade ice cream and yoghurt at breakfast! Service was uniformly good.

Reviewed by
William F

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
We only stayed one night would have liked to stay longer, the accommodation is modern and comfortable.
Breakfast was very nice with ample choice with great service.

Reviewed by
K McDonald

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Quality of room
To say I was disappointed was an understatemment. I paid £98.00 for this overnight stay, and the accomodation was poor. There we're holes in the walls, stains on the carpet, walls we're dirty, a simple wipe down was needed, the limescale on the head of the shower was disgusting. Tiles in bathroom cracked, broken and coming off, the electric socket was hanging off the wall, not ideal with a 3 and 6 year old. The pull out bed was broken at the bottom and dipped, so not a comfortable nights sleep.
It is such a shame as it is set in beautiful grounds, and simple problems that could make it look it better. We went to the main hotel for our breakfast, which was nice and the staff we're all friendly. I informed reception of my issues, but nothing was resolved.

Reviewed by
K Shields

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good and Bad
Amazing property, beautiful setting, imposing surroundings but bedrooms need upgrading. Bedrooms give impression that the hotel is under-funded and were last renovated many years ago. Also no curtain in my bathroom, hence lack of privacy through clear glass window (odd). Would stay again but would request fresher room.

Reviewed by
Daniel B

From Penang, Malaysia
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next