No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown Lodge Guest House

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
27 RUSSELL STREET , READING, RG1 7XD
A warm welcome awaits the discerning visitor at the Crown Lodge Guest House in Reading. Situated in the Reading Town Centre a family run Guest House providing superb and attractive bedrooms for comfortable accommodation

Crown Lodge Guest House was originally built around 1860’s by a Cattle merchant in Reading as family home. Late 1970’s it was converted to a guest house and had been trading as Russell Court Hotel until at the beginning of this year. Recently under our management it has been completely refurbished providing a high standard of all en-suite room accommodation with the choice of Budget, standard and deluxe rooms to ensure that whatever your accommodation requirements, you will have a relaxing and comfortable stay.

Our central location provides an easy access to all routes to and from Reading. We offer onsite private and CCTV monitored car parking facilities, and free wireless internet access. Whether you are working in Reading or visiting family and friends our facilities and hospitality will make your stay an enjoyable experience.
Picture of Crown Lodge Guest House, READING at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night visit
It does everything advertised, comfortable enough and friendly, very well maintained and welcoming frontage, but my only gripe is £95 seems a little pricey for a very cramped room and even more cramped bathroom (knees can easily touch wall sitting on toilet for tall person). No breakfast included either. Similar competing venue probably less than a mile away provides large room and includes breakfast for a significantly lower cost, but was full. Very good central location near to main road and main rail links will influence cost I guess especially given how congested with traffic Reading can get.

Reviewed by
D Orme

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good town B&B
A pleasant town B&B hotel, with friendly owners. Good car parking for 5 min walk into town centre.

Reviewed by
Paul B

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Executive B&B....does that really exist? I wish it did.
As someone who stays in corporate hotels normally - Hilton, Marriott etc I was attracted by the description of an "Executive B&B" which is a brilliant concept. However this was just a B&B. very nice and clean but typical B&B with flock wallpaper, creaky stairs etc.
Good value but not as central to Reading as suggested.

Reviewed by
Scott Falconer

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a quick overnight on the way to Heathrow
I stayed here overnight prior to an early morning flight from Heathrow Airport. The Reading train station is a quick £4-6 journey away and the RailAir coach is a very convenient link to the airport from there.

Reviewed by
Jennifer L

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Crown Lodge Guest House
Close to Reading train station. Excellent service and friendly staff, good rates and comfortable room. Breakfast available in small dining room with news on TV. Recommended

Reviewed by
William N

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The service and the cleanliness of the rooms was very good. The location is central,.
The neighborhood is a bit less, but all in all good value for your money

Reviewed by
simone k

From Israel
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
The bathroom stank of damp and the whole house smelled of curry. The parking was good and it was very close to my destination. It was typical of an old town house. I wouldn't stay again unless necessary.

Reviewed by
david k

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and welcoming
A lovely family run hotel,very clean- not too far away from the town centre but if planning a night out in Reading you would need to get a taxi!

Reviewed by
ELLA B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Crown Lodge Hotel Reading
a lovely stay at this city centre hotel as we were going to a wedding that evening. the staff were helpful and friendly. the room was clean and fresh and the bed comfortable

Reviewed by
M DEVENISH

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4* Star Guest House
It was advertised as a 4* Star Guest House, it was easy to find and great with parking at the back of the Guest House, friendly welcome when checking in. The room however was a little disappointing not quite 4* Star. It was very clean, just tired interior, like TV control stuck together with sellotape plus the room wasn't that warm, I couldn't get the radiator to work. But very small on-suite was very clean and lots of hot water. Not sure I would stay there again, I like my comforts too much, bit too basic.

Reviewed by
Sharon O

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next