No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bay Horse Country Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Sleights Lane, Rainton, , Thirsk, YO7 3PX

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Family Friendly & Small Hotel 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

This country inn is in the heart of James Herriot's world. An ideal place to stay, unwind and enjoy your hosts' hospitality or take yourself out and about in some of North Yorkshire's most beautiful scenery. Enjoy real ale in front of an open fire in the cold winter months, or watch the world meander by from the picnic benches on a warm summer's night in front of the inn. After a long day there is no need to be off as there are several spacious en-suite rooms for you to relax and re-energise with a shower, or soak those aches away in a relaxing bath. The Bay Horse Country Inn has 7 spacious letting rooms all tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard. All rooms are en-suite with both bath and shower facilities. Each one has a TV, tea and coffee making facilities This 18th century traditional coaching inn is located in the idyllic village of Rainton, a sleepy hollow where time stands still. A place where village spirit draws strangers and locals together, set midway between the Yorkshire Moors and Dales just minutes from the A1. This country inn is in the heart of James Herriot's world. An ideal place to stay, unwind and enjoy your hosts' hospitality or take yourself out and about in some of North Yorkshire's most beautiful scenery.
Picture of The Bay Horse Country Inn, Thirsk at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 134 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome
Lovely pub, Landlord very helpful, good accommodation and excellent breakfast. Plenty of hot water and glorious deep bath. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Reviewed by
Linda L

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant stay
Only stayed one night but would have happily stayed longer. Warm welcome, friendly staff, great food, good company in the bar, very comfortable and quiet room and generous & tasty breakfast. Would not hesitate to recommend and hope to return in the future. Very sorry to have missed pie night.

Reviewed by
Ian L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food, well worth staying.
Chris and wife got up very early as we had to leave at 6.30am to run a sporting event.
We had a full English breakfast and a great evening meal the previous evening. Chris was the perfect host.

Reviewed by
REX L

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good hotel the bay horse.
The Bay Horse Hotel is a very comfortable well organised hotel. The service was very friendly & very good. I enjoyed very much my stay there. When in the area I would certainly stay there again

Reviewed by
Tom Luard

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food excellent, very friendly, only snag was a broken shower but had large bath.

Reviewed by
simon j

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A week in North Yorkshire
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by the Landlord, Chris. It was clearly a popular venue for locals and holidaymakers alike. The room was comfortable and the food was excellent - although we had booked for B&B we dined in every night - I can particularly recommend the pie night with a great selection of well cooked pies. Great base for touring North Yorkshire. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
K Jones

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a lovely get away
My husband and I got a lovely warm welcome when we stayed for our anniversary. Very friendly staff, even gave us a bottle of bubbly on departure. The atmosphere is lovely and the place has bags of character. Food was excellent and the chef wasn't at all phased by my food allergy, very knowledgeable, I didn't feel I missed out on anything. Very good value for money all round and we shall definitely be going back

Reviewed by
C Berry

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Short break.
Very comfortable and friendly, food was excellent, would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Richard Dodd

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value in real homely , comfortable accommodation. Very warm, friendly and obliging hosts.
Very generous Breakfast with great coffee. Would definitely visit gain if I had to return to Ripon.

Reviewed by
Anne Smith

From London, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly, relaxed and laid back
Stayed for one night with my husband, owners were very friendly and helpful, ordered an evening meal which was lovely, room clean and comfortable, again breakfast was very good. We felt really relaxed during our stay and would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Anne Walmsley

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next