No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bay Horse Country Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Sleights Lane, Rainton, , Thirsk, YO7 3PX
This country inn is in the heart of James Herriot's world. An ideal place to stay, unwind and enjoy your hosts' hospitality or take yourself out and about in some of North Yorkshire's most beautiful scenery. Enjoy real ale in front of an open fire in the cold winter months, or watch the world meander by from the picnic benches on a warm summer's night in front of the inn. After a long day there is no need to be off as there are several spacious en-suite rooms for you to relax and re-energise with a shower, or soak those aches away in a relaxing bath. The Bay Horse Country Inn has 7 spacious letting rooms all tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard. All rooms are en-suite with both bath and shower facilities. Each one has a TV, tea and coffee making facilities This 18th century traditional coaching inn is located in the idyllic village of Rainton, a sleepy hollow where time stands still. A place where village spirit draws strangers and locals together, set midway between the Yorkshire Moors and Dales just minutes from the A1. This country inn is in the heart of James Herriot's world. An ideal place to stay, unwind and enjoy your hosts' hospitality or take yourself out and about in some of North Yorkshire's most beautiful scenery.
Picture of The Bay Horse Country Inn, Thirsk at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 141 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mini break
Quaint inn in Taunton, close to Thirsk and Ripon. Don't be put off by fact it's in middle of small village. Fabulous hospitality. Food amazing, so good we are there both nights, a rarity for us.
Great value. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Jacqui F

From Bolton Le Sands, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stand
Often have to stay away from home for one night when work dictates a long drive with a days work split over an afternoon and a morning then a drive back. It's important that I get a friendly welcome, a hassle free check-in, a chance to freshen up followed by a good wholesome meal and a drink. The room should be comfortable and clean but not 'sterile' so I can unwind in pleasant surroundings with a cup of tea and watching television. The bed should be firm but not solid with at least two pillows and a light duvet. A hot shower in the morning, then down to a tasty breakfast before checking out, ready to start another day totally refreshed. That's what I like and that's what I got. Excellent home cooked food, great beer and a good nights sleep. I thank my hosts.

Reviewed by
Graham Wright

From Malmesbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Break at Bay Horse Inn Rainton
Friendly welcome by landlord Chris, lovely warm clean and comfortable room. Food excellent, make sure to keep plenty of room to eat it all! Lovely bar with real ales, all staff lovely and friendly, will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Tina Baker

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Year visit
Located in a very small village and everyone is really friendly. Standard of the rooms were excellent as was the food which was quite exceptionally. Chris and his wife certainly work long hours and all the restaurant staff are very polite and accommodating to ensure everyone is happy. Lovely little restaurant and certainly would not hesitate to recommend to friends and Family - definitely one of the warmest hotels ever stayed in as well !! Thank you for our complimentary wedding anniversary drinks which was a surprise and much appreciated.

Reviewed by
R Edens

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Restful Stay
From arrival to departure the staff couldn't do enough for us. The food in the cosy restaurant was excellent. I would recommend the steak pie very tasty. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay.

Reviewed by
Kathleen Murphy

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Bay Horse Country Inn Rainton
This place was a very welcoming cosy little country Inn with a nice coal fire and excellent home cooked food. The room was nice except for the window not closing properly which was a bit disappointing as it was freezing outside. A phone call to a joiner could fix this in an hour. Overall, very good.

Reviewed by
i belton

From york, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The small touches made a big difference
This has got to be one of the most welcoming landlords I've ever met. The room was the cleanest room I've stayed in (and I've stayed in dozens for work and leisure). The small touches such as a soft toy on the bed, matching flowers to the ones in artwork, having books and magazines available and not stinting on the complimentary tea and coffee all added up to a very pleasant stay.
I've already recommended this hotel to someone who wants to treat their partner for Christmas. Not something I do lightly.

Reviewed by
L Jones

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant and friendly staff,spotless country pub and excellent food

Reviewed by
s muir

From Peterlee, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we visit again
cant keep away just love the place

Reviewed by
Chris Lunn

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem
Warm & friendly welcome, excellent food, lovely room.

Reviewed by
paula p

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next