No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Green Man Hotel by Good Night Inns

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Mulberry Green , Old Harlow, CM17 0ET
A delightful whitewashed, ivy clad building in the heart of historic Old Harlow. The Green Man is a 14th century former coaching station, surrounded by attractive streets and listed buildings in peaceful Mulberry Green.

With free on-site parking and close proximity to the M11 and M25, The Green Man Hotel is ideally situated for business travellers and last minute short breaks. For business meetings with colleagues in a picturesque location, the hotel has a well equipped meeting and function room.
Just 12 miles from Stansted Airport, the hotel has 55 rooms with en-suite bathrooms located in a quiet annexe to the main building. All rooms have flat-screen digital TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and unlimited free Wi-Fi. Guests are also welcome in the on-site Chef & Brewer restaurant serving delicious country pub food.

The Green Man Hotel is perfectly situated for trips to nearby Paradise Wildlife Park, historic Bishop’s Stortford and Bluewater and Lakeside Shopping Centres. The hotel is located just 10 minutes from junction 7 on the M11 in Old Harlow.
Picture of Green Man Hotel by Good Night Inns, Old Harlow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 93 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was our second visit this month. This visit was not as enjoyable as the first visit, mainly due to some sort of problem in the kitchen meaning there was a very limited menu in the restaurant in the evening and no english breakfast available in the morning. There also was a problem with the heating which was fixed as soon as reported. We would visit this hotel again if in the area.

Reviewed by
V Jacobs

From Great Yarmouth, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit to Herts
Overall good value for two nights stay

Reviewed by
ALAN M

From Indio, USA
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what it seems
I booked the Green Man because the location was good for the job I had to do.
I was disappointed to find that the old pub/ hotel front facade was just that. The rooms are in a three storey block at the rear of the main building.
Soul less and just like a big travel lodge, noisy and uninteresting.
Room was clean and comfortable, food was basic pub grub and breakfast rather average.

Reviewed by
B Hatton

From Broughton in Furness, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

simply the best
We have stayed here quiet a few times and have never had a complaint it really is good value for money and the staff are always polite and very helpfull

Reviewed by
alan kerrison

From New Milton, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable nice stay
Good comfortable room with everything that required. Friendly and good service. Nice bar and restaurant.

Reviewed by
Sue M

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel value I have ever found
The Green Man is a brilliant hotel! The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are top level and it is perfectly located for access to everywhere I work around London. It is set in a peaceful village and is a quiet haven from all that hectic work..........what more can I say?

Reviewed by
John Bell

From Birmingham, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great weekend, comfortable room friendly staff good food

Reviewed by
V Jacobs

From Great Yarmouth, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good relation price quality. Well located to yeah standsted airport but... Needed a navi to find it
Confortable and silent rooms. Good breakfast except coffee really not italian : indeed very very light. But this is the only regret. Quick check in and out.

Reviewed by
François D

From France
Who stayed in November 2012

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel with friendly staff. The room was clean but very basic but suited our needs whilst visiting family and friends. The breakfast was good and served hot and served quickly. Would stay again but request a lower floor as there are no lifts

Reviewed by
L Diggle

From Withernsea, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value but could do better
The character of the old pub just about manages to shine through the unsympathetic alterations, the rooms are in a dull separate block; mine was comfortable enough and quiet, though the decor was consistent with the dull theme which also extended to the continental breakfast, the staff were pleasant enough but seemed held back by the pervading dullness. The chef had been overridden (the menu was uninspiring) and the brewer sacked (no local beer), having said that at the price I paid the hotel offered good value against the Premier / Travelodge offerings but I was left feeling that something better is trying to break through.

Reviewed by
Charles H

From Stoke on Trent, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next