No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Green Man Hotel by Good Night Inns

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Mulberry Green , Old Harlow, CM17 0ET
A delightful whitewashed, ivy clad building in the heart of historic Old Harlow. The Green Man is a 14th century former coaching station, surrounded by attractive streets and listed buildings in peaceful Mulberry Green.

With free on-site parking and close proximity to the M11 and M25, The Green Man Hotel is ideally situated for business travellers and last minute short breaks. For business meetings with colleagues in a picturesque location, the hotel has a well equipped meeting and function room.
Just 12 miles from Stansted Airport, the hotel has 55 rooms with en-suite bathrooms located in a quiet annexe to the main building. All rooms have flat-screen digital TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and unlimited free Wi-Fi. Guests are also welcome in the on-site Chef & Brewer restaurant serving delicious country pub food.

The Green Man Hotel is perfectly situated for trips to nearby Paradise Wildlife Park, historic Bishop’s Stortford and Bluewater and Lakeside Shopping Centres. The hotel is located just 10 minutes from junction 7 on the M11 in Old Harlow.
Picture of Green Man Hotel by Good Night Inns, Old Harlow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 92 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable experience.
We both enjoyed the warmth and comfortable surroundings the Green Man gave us.
And the evening meal was excellent..
Well done to all concerned.

Reviewed by
T Golding

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attractive, ancient coaching inn with additional annexe for accommodation in a pretty location of historical interest. All the usual facilities that one associates with higher priced multiples. One or two very minor niggles of little consequence ( soap dispenser poorly secured and light bulb that needed replacing ) for this one night stay.

Reviewed by
David P

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good enough
evening meal lacked a bit of substance. Booking at the Green Man I thought I'd be in an old inn. The accomodation building was just that. Very slightly disappointing but up to standard.

Reviewed by
gordon hobley

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed 22/3/14
Really pleased with room and facilities, good nights sleep, thought it a great idea that an iron and board was already in room along with hairdryer. My only negative comment was that there could have been more T bags/coffee sachets/milk in room as there was only 2 of each and if you get access to a room at around 2pm and leave at 12 next day then you may like more than one cup of tea and coffee each.

Reviewed by
Stephen Shillingford

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice rooms, shame about the food
We stayed here on a Saturday night, on the way to Dover. The rooms are nice and comfortable, hoever the problem we had was the service and food quality were bad. The pub was very busy, being a Saturday evening, and it took some time to get served. When the food arrived - steak, it was as tough as an old boot, and when we complained it was just ignored. Pity, as the hotel itself is a nice place, just bring your own food!

Reviewed by
Tim H

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Week End Break
We stayed at the Green Man Hotel while visiting in the area.
Check in was welcoming and efficient and we booked a table for dinner in the restaurant for some 45 minutes later.
The rooms are in a more modern 3 storey block at the back of the Inn and away from the road. These are nicely decorated, very clean and have been updated in recent times with our room featuring a king sized bed and flat screen TV.
The restaurant is in one half of the original Inn and separate from the public bar area offering a quiet, relaxing atmosphere with the quaint features of low beams and uneven floors to be expected in a building of this age!. There was a good food selection (the slow cooked beef pie is really something different), all at a reasonable price. Although the restaurant got busy later on, the staff maintained a good service at the tables.
We were on a B&B arrangement and breakfast was again taken in the restaurant area offering a wide selection with the combination of a help yourself buffet and a good full engish cooked to order.
Overall a very comfortable stay at a reasonable price. Would definitely look to stay at The Green Man again if we are in the area.

Reviewed by
Howard D

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms furniture out dated like 1900 lights not working TV not in room poorly decorated site good

Reviewed by
Robert H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Country Pub
Tucked away in sleepy Old Harlow , the Green Man is an excellent choice for the weary traveller to chill out , enjoy the excellent food in the pub or restaurant , or have a gentle stroll up into the village for a visit to other local , quaint pubs.

Reviewed by
steve evans

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is how a hotel should be
I stay in over 100 hotels a year on business trips throughout the UK. I normally get allocated to the usual chain hotels. On this occasion the usual hotels were unavailable and I had a flight from Stanstead in the Morning and stayed in this hotel. I didn't expect much because of the low price. The room was exceptionally good. Large, nicely designed, clean and modern. Check-in was swift and professional. I can't rate this hotel highly enough. Extremely pleased.

Reviewed by
t wood

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay have stayed several times and always good rooms

Reviewed by
Daniel H

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next