No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Falstaff in Canterbury

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
8-12 ST. DUNSTANS STREET , CANTERBURY, CT2 8AF
Located just a few steps away from the Westgate Towers, the Falstaff in Canterbury is within easy walking distance of Canterbury City centre and all that it has to offer, including the world-famous Norman Cathedral, (designated a World Heritage site) castle, museums, shops and a choice of over 200 restaurants.

There are forty-six en suite bedrooms and a beamed lounge which offers guests a place to relax after a busy day's sightseeing. The bar opens out onto a pretty outdoor terrace where guests can enjoy a drink in the summer months. The hotel offers a cooked full English breakfast, but no lunch or dinner service, however, there are numerous excellent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

There is a private car park within the grounds which accommodates 35 cars and is free for guests' use.
Picture of The Falstaff in Canterbury, CANTERBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy weekend
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurants they recommended were very good

Reviewed by
jean s

From Addlestone, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was large, the bed was really comfortable, the breakfast is very good and the location is right at Westgate, all in all, excellent.

Reviewed by
S Supanya

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely historical inn
Lovely stay , comfortable room with a fantastic buffet breakfast

Reviewed by
MARIA FRY

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend away
Great location for Canterbury centre. Just 2 minutes stroll from the shops, restaurants and cathedral.
Has it's own free car park which is handy but does get very busy and I don't think there are enough spaces for every room in the hotel. Very good buffet style breakfast and really nice that it is served until 11am at the weekend. I asked for different pillows and bedding as I have allergy problems with feathers and it was done with no fuss or problem. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Christine B

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation and service

Reviewed by
M McLeod

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant hotel. Very helpful and friendly staff. Couldn't have done more to make our stay more pleasant. Great room. Spacious and comfortable. Quiet although close to centre of town.

Reviewed by
Liz Stephen

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely stay in character hotel
We were in the rooms away from the main hotel. We had the attic room that was very spacious and lovely big comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent and all staff very good and friendly. Check in was a little chaotic but it was exceptionally busy as a wedding party arrived. Really recommend doing the Ghost Tour of Canterbury

Reviewed by
jenny johnson

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable room
We had a very spacious room but only minor complaint was next to the road so a bit noisy at night! Otherwise the staff were very friendly and cheerful which is most important. Very helpful indeed and breakfast was lovely.
Brilliant location at the bottom of the main high street so central to everything in the town.

Reviewed by
John G

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenience and Hospitality
We did not expect such a good experience given the very reasonable price.Very impressed with, the helpful and friendly staff,comfortable and spacious room and a really good breakfast.Very close to City centre.Certainly will return.Many thanks to The Falstaff.

Reviewed by
Graham T

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel and location
A lovely hotel in an amazing location. The shops are on the doorstep and the catherdral is a ten minute walk away. It reminded me of being in York. Great staff on welcoming and the breakfast was just what you needed on a morning.

Reviewed by
V Annis

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next