No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Jamaica Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
BOLVENTOR , LAUNCESTON, PL15 7TS

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Jamaica Inn hotel, Cornwall's legendary coaching house, immortalised in Daphne du Maurier's novel of the same name, has stood high on Bodmin Moor for over four centuries. We're still referred to by historians as Cornwall's most famous smuggling inn. These days we do welcome the more salubrious guest ... and the odd ghost!

On the A30 between Launceston and Bodmin, The Jamaica Inn is full of character with beamed ceilings, open fires and real ales. Some of the traditional rooms are in the original inn and some are in the modern annex. You will find 16 well appointed bedrooms, all en - suite, with a number of romantic four poster bedrooms.

From breakfast until late evening, you can enjoy an extensive range of home cooked food, with museum, gift shop and two bars on site.

We are a family friendly hotel and inn and offer a children's play area and beautiful gardens that overlook Bodmin Moor.
The Jamaica Inn has easy access to the Eden Project and Falmouth's National Maritime Museum.

Free WIFI and Parking are available onsite, no reservation needed.
Picture of The Jamaica Inn, LAUNCESTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 305 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

October 2014
Enjoyable stay , Staff very helpful

Reviewed by
Stuart M

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
After many years stopping at Jamaica inn on route to Cornwall. It was wonderful to stay the night.

Reviewed by
Alfred Leslie

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
we were looking forward to our stay in the inn but because my husband had a migraine he had to retire early. Unfortunately the room we had (Jem) suffered from a droning noise all night long from the kitchen air vents. The room itself and the shower room was absolutely fine. Just the noise was annoying. The receptionist did apologise for this and explained that the kitchen was due to be moved in the near future. Wow you have a big project on your hands, hope it all goes well. Would like to have seen a ghost or two but not this time sadly.

Reviewed by
M Bradshaw

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love this place, will definitely come back!
Really enjoyed our stay - staff were fantastic, rooms were lovely, bright and clean. It has a great atmosphere with loads of ambience from its amazing history. Very relaxing place to have a cosy stay with good food and great accommodation.

Reviewed by
david m

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Place for either overnight stay or as a base
Stayed overnight and found everything about the place first class. Whilst room may be a little small for some it was ideal for us, especially the 32" T.V. with Sky. Evening meal was really good and reasonably priced. whilst breakfast choice was plentiful and well delivered.

Reviewed by
Stephen Briscoe

From Ross on Wye, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Jamaica inn October 2014
I think 4pm is a late check in for an inn of this size especially as you have to check out at 10am the room wasn’t ready when we arrived and we were shown to our room at 4.20. that is where the problems ended. We were shown to our room by friendly staff served at the bar and had dinner in the restaurant, all provided by staff who were there to make our stay a memorable one. We stayed in a four poster bed in the old part of the inn and were supplied with the atmosphere you would expect of an inn of this age right down to howling winds and rain at night. Would I recommend Jamaica Inn to my friends yes, would I stay again yes Thank you all the staff at Jamaica Inn

Reviewed by
l powell

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel very nice
Cant fault the hotel this is the 6th time i have stayed here , under new management an a lot of positive things being put into place , however the staff an service needs a guiding hand to come up to a good standard.

Reviewed by
Duncan Farningham

From Broadstone, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

From a child I had always wanted to stay at The Jamaica Inn. When my business appointment was for a mid morning start only a short drive from Bodmin. I decided to drive down the night before. As I didn't book it till late i naturally logged on to LateRooms. It took only minutes to get fixed up and at a good value price. From walking in the door at the Hotel I found the staff very pleasant and helpful. I had a nice evening meal and then retired for the night in a very well appointed room. Breakfast was plentiful and wholesome. Certainly will use again for my next business visit and certainly for our next Cornish Holiday.

Reviewed by
John Montague

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't recommend enough!
We visted the Jamaica Inn as part of a touring holiday where we traveled around somerset, devon and cornwall. During the trip we stayed in a variety of hotels, (including some of the higher quality 'chain' hotels) on completion of our trip and arival home both my partner and I agreed the Jamaica Inn was the best all round accomadion of the trip, and hence the inspiration for this our 1st review. - On our arrival and we were shown to our room and given a brief tour of the building. We stayed in room 19, which looked to have been very recently refurbished. The bedroom whilst fairly compact had everything we needed and was very well decorated and furnished. There was a fair sized bathroom again fully fitted to a high standard and did include a bath with a quality multi head snower over. The sky sports/movies/high speed Internet was a bonus for us, which we made use of during our stay, the TV was of a decent size and wall mounted for easy watching fro the bed. Breakfast was included and again was very good ...The bar/resturant area was more tradionally styled, but very warm and welcoming with a large fireplace lit. We did have an evening meal also and the food was served quickly,was to a high quality and was reasonably priced. we will visit again in the future.

Reviewed by
G Anderson

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Good Experience
You must bear in mind this is a tourist attraction so it can be busy and is well used. For the full experience get a room in the old part of the inn, eat in the pub and have a few drinks sat by the fireplace. Then wait until a ghost appears, or not.

Reviewed by
mark j

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next