No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cromwell House

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
23 Cavendish Place, , , Eastbourne, BN21 3EJ
Eastbourne came into it's own as a Victorian seaside resort and Cromwell House was built as a Victorian town house about 160 years ago. It has been taking guest's for 90 years so the property has seen a great many changes in that time. We arrived here in July 2007 and have been decorating ever since, we hope you like what we have done so far. All our rooms have a shower en-suite with tea/coffee making facilities, flatscreen TV and radio alarm clock. We are open for bed and breakfast all year except for Christmas & New Year. In 2011 we won the Eastbourne in Bloom award for the under 21 bedroom category. Look out for our fabulous window boxes and hanging baskets from June to September. There's a great deal on offer in Eastbourne and here are just a few:- Award winning beaches with the south downs and Beachy Head as a back drop, three theatres, museums and the new Towner Art Gallery. Many good restaurants and fine pubs. The Victorian Pier, band stand and carpet gardens are well worth a look, and you can hire a beach hut for the day. Through the summer there are many events including Airbourne with the Red Arrows, International Tennis Week, Eastbourne Extreme, Speed Days, a Beer Festival even a Marathon. With an average 34.6 hours of sun a week Eastbourne has been named the sunniest place in the UK.
Picture of Cromwell House, Eastbourne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay
Very clean and tidy , very welcoming, attention to detail excellent nothing was too much trouble .
The hotel was very close to the sea front and the shopping area.
Would go back again

Reviewed by
Christine Talbot

From Sevenoaks, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice place.
pleasant place to stay in Eastbourne. clean room, very sociable hosts .

Reviewed by
Kevin Smith

From Hayes, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Sue is very helpful and welcoming.
I had a single room which was clean and comfortable but the ensuite bathroom was very compact. Fortunately I am not a large person - if you are well built it would have been a real struggle to use the bathroom so would be worth a mention when booking- there may be other rooms available
Breakfast was fairly standard full english with cheap sausage but nicely prepared . Other options were available. Sue accomodated an early breakfast as several guests needed early starts.
I was very fortunate with parking and managed to find a space just around the corner but could see this may be an issue. Sue has visitor permits for £1 per day but within a specific zone. You may end up having to park some distance away.

Reviewed by
Nigel R

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
Warm welcome, helpful and friendly service. Good breakfast to start the day.
Convenient for shops and sea front. Recommend

Reviewed by
Dave W

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

SUPERB ACCOMMODATION AND VERY FRIENDLY SERVICE
I stayed in the Cromwell House when attending a conference in Eastbourne last weekend. This lovely Bed & Breakfast was centrally located only 100 yards from the beach.
The single ensuite was very comfortable with a tv and tea & coffee making facilities, The ensuite toilet & shower, although slightly small is all you can expect from a single ensuite.
The main thing though is the friendliness of Neil and Sue, and it for that reason I will return next November. The breakfast was absolutely superb, lovely bacon and sausages. These are only small things, but which b&b offer you extra hot water and an extra tea bag with your pot of tea. If you are in Eastbourne and looking for a Bed & Breakfast, good value for money, friendly service and superb breakfast - try Cromwell House - I will again!

Reviewed by
G Torbet

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My First positive review on Laterooms! Excellent service, great value in comfortable surroundings.
To often I admit I am one of the first to complain. On this occasion I feel compelled to write a positive one. Great service from the second I stepped through the door. Really welcoming, homely feel with the proprietors ensuring my every need was looked after. I'm not a fussy guest but it's nice to be looked after by people who obviously care about what they do.
If your in Eastbourne and you want looking after....Stay here!

Reviewed by
W Knight

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

questionable 4*
Customer service was good with a good breakfast available, however was disappointed in the standard/cleanliness of shower room. Mould and mildew in shower especially on ceiling, very poor water spray from shower, certainly wouldn't want to be washing long hair. Window sills dusty/dirty. Just not what you'd expect for 4* standards

Reviewed by
Steven G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place and nice people!! Well worth a trip!!

Reviewed by
STACEY D

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Airbourne break
We enjoyed our stay at Cromwell House, very quiet from 10pm. close to town centre and very short walk to seafront.

Reviewed by
D DAVIS

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

neil&sue were very helpfull they could not do enough for you

Reviewed by
victor butler

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next