No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Beech Arms Crown Carvery, Andover Road, Clerken Green, Oakley, Basingstoke, RG23 7EP
"Secreted away in the quiet village of Oakley, this handsome Hampshire lodge provides some of the most welcoming budget accommodation in Basingstoke.

It’s just off the M3, and a few minutes from town – but feels like it’s a world away, with picturesque countryside on the doorstep and attractive thatched houses nestling around a duck pond in the centre of the village.

There’s a wealth of conference venues nearby, such as Oakley Hall and the Ark Centre, which makes the 22-bedroom lodge a comfy and convenient base for business as well as pleasure. Either way, you can round off your stay with a tasty roast dinner and a tipple or two at the Crown Carvery next door.

As for things to see and do in the local area, you’ll be spoilt for choice. If you love country walks head down to award-winning Eastrop Park, which is full of scenic trails. Or you could explore the remains of Basing House, once the largest private residence in England. Plus you might like to catch a show at The Anvil Concert Hall or simply take a relaxing stroll down Basingstoke Canal. The lodge is four miles from the new Bombay Sapphire distillery in Laverstoke
"
Picture of Innkeeper's Lodge Basingstoke, Basingstoke at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
51% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Nice big towels

Reviewed by
Jillian H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms OK if available at low price, Food dreadful.
Booked two rooms for a Saturday evening stayover. Arrived around 8pm. No-one on reception so had to ask at bar to check in.
Rooms were very sparse and dated, but clean. The bed had obviously been changed from kingsize to a standard small double as there was about a 12-18" gap to the bedside cabinets on either side ... looks daft and to me showed a lack of care (surely it would have been simple to move the cabinets when the new small beds were installed?)
Worst point of all was the food. The restaurant was empty, but had been busy earlier as there very several tables with dirty plates etc on them, but not cleared away form some time. Food was a carvery, but this was looking somewhat dried up and not appealing. The main issues was the large number of flies .. they were everywhere and landing on the food, dirty plates etc.
We were the only customers in the bar too ..
In summary ... Rooms are OK if available at a very cheap price, but eat elsewhere unless you happy to pick a busy hour.

Reviewed by
julian m

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but shabby
This is a run down innkeepers lodge that is dated and colourless. The room was clean but shabby which describes the whole hotel. You need to go through to the bar to check in, however there is no sign to tell you that there is a door leading to this, and you end up leaving the hotel and walking round to the front of the pub. Breakfast is in the pub but having eaten there the night before, we were not impressed with the cleanliness of the pub, the glasses smelt of glass cleaner and there were lots of flies around the food so we avoided anything that wasn't in a sealed packet. Overall this place is only good value if you pay less than £50 for the room.

Reviewed by
Heather R

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy bed, quiet room, good night's sleep. Bathroom bin not emptied from previous occupant ugh. Bar service excellent, food poor, carvery meats & veg had been left out to long & dried up, possibly why it was so inexpensive!

Reviewed by
Phil P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor breakfast
Lovely spacious room. Carvery lunch excellent value for money. Continental breakfast very poor considering you can purchase breakfast for next to nothing in the bar. £80 is a lot to pay for a very poor breakfast.

Reviewed by
C Nolan

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel in good location
The hotel was in a country location but directly on the main bus route to Basingstoke; the bus stop being right outside the hotel making it ideal for people travelling by public transport.
Our room was spacious with a genorous sized bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is attached to a carvery where we took our meals. A continental breakfast is provided on a help yourself to as much as you want basis, and there was lots of choice. There was a cooked breakfast which you could buy if you preferred. The meals we bought at night were good and reasonably priced. All in all we were very pleased with the hotel and our stay there.

Reviewed by
I Miller

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst innkeepers we have stayed at!!
run like faulty towers. No check in staff, towels left in corridors,furnishings old and tired looking, information forwarded regarding meal deals - zero carvery - plently of food with no taste! Breakfast - coffee spilt all over serving table, no milk, no muffins, ........and so on

Reviewed by
clare b

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good size room, quite recently updated, ideal accommodation at a reasonable price.

Reviewed by
G Bootman

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grubby
Very dirty room, cutlery at dinner table still had previous meal still on it. Poorly stored beer. Staff unable to understand English

Reviewed by
N K

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Dated accommodation, thin walls (I couldn't sleep because my neighbour snored loudly), toilet and bath not really clean and door handle nearly falling off. On the other hand, the staff was friendly and the room was spacious, tv clear and free wifi easy to set up once you realised that you didnt have to go through the BT wifi website. (continental) breakfast with lots of choice, but for dinner I would recommend to go elsewhere (just rank)

Reviewed by
mieke b

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next