Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
75% would recommend it to a friend
we booked for only one night the location is great you are in center of chester
the room was clean and a good size the staff and the owner were frendly and the breakfast in the morning was great would definatly stay again
We stayed in "Keats" room.
Amazing. Bathroom was something else very clean and well presented. Bed very comfortable.
Staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful.
There really is a DJ till 3am!.
In all would stay again
Response from hotel
Thank you for taking time to write a review.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your comments onto the staff.
We hope to see you again soon,
Enjoyable, quirky city centre hotel
We stayed in the Byron suite, needing two separate rooms, for one night.
Although the bar and public rooms were closed for refurbishment, the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly - even ringing me the day before to make sure I understood how the closure would affect us and meeting us from the car park so we could get in without getting lost. The place is definitely a pub/club with a few rooms - don't expect all the expensive bells and whistles that go with a big hotel - but the suite was lovely, spacious, comfortable and homely. Really well set up for us and a fantastic bathroom. For a simple, comfortable overnight (or longer), it is much more than adequate. Highly recommended - I will be back. Thank you to all working there, especially Rebecca the Manager.
vibrant and lively
This place has a great feel to it - the room was very impressive and free entertainment in the form of DJs or live bands was an added bonus.
Not the place to stay for a 'quiet get away' but we loved it. Staff very friendly and nothing too much trouble.
In the heart of the city
Room was beautiful and spacious.
Staff were welcoming and in an ideal location. We were advised in advance about the disco until 3.00 am, we slept right above it base box rocked us to sleep. Had a wonderful nights sleep, the disco did not bother me at all. Disappointed that we were unable to get food on the Saturday night as they closed the kitchen early as the bar was too busy.
Superb Hotel with style!
We stayed in the Byron, it was beautifully decorated & the bathroom was to die for.
It was a lovely peaceful stay, yet the place made you feel quite alive. The hotel was like no other that we have stayed in before, the decor throughout was amazing & quirky, the staff were very friendly & welcoming. The bar areas, the breakfast room & even the stair well had a wow factor for all of us. The food was scrumptious & even the background music was superb. Overall we loved our stay there & would highly recommend it.
Guest experience at The Commercial Hotel
Once we had checked in at the bar, and negotiated our way the very busy bar we were taken to our room.
The member of staff tried to explain a bit about the room, but as it was located over the DJ dance area on the ground floor and as there were crowds outside, his voice in the room, standing only two feet away was hardly audible. However the room was clean and tastefully decorated and well presented.
As far as the staff was concerned, apart from Jack( who was leaving the hotels employ that night,) who also checked us in, the others had very care less attitude because when we wanted to check out the following morning it was not explained to us that breakfast was served until 10am. We were informed the following evening that it was served until 11am on check in. So when we asked for breakfast at 10.55 am there was some confusion and told that breakfast was no longer available and after having already paid for breakfast, and the chef still being present in the kitchen ( as it was admitted by the member of staff) we were informed that we had to pay again for breakfast!. A continental breakfast was not even offered although cereal packets were on view!!. It would have been a nice gesture if they had offered just orange juice coffee and toast, as the staff were not busy at that time and were complaining of being tired and wanting to go back to bed. The carpets downstairs were soiled and damp with alcohol from the previous evening and smelt stale. We were also not informed that the glitter ball was plugged into a standard 13amp socket in the room, and consequently as we were using the room it was unplugged by us in order to charge our phones ( not knowing what the supply was for ) and subsequently plunging the DJ and room into darkness . It is suggested that the electricity supply for the glitter ball be out of guests rooms, and placed in an area that is only available to staff, for health and safety purposes and to prevent playing blind man's buff with the DJ downstairs.
Response from hotel
Dear Miss Jones,
Thank you for taking time to write your review regarding your stay.
Following your reservation made on Thursday 25th September I personally left a message on your mobile the following day and explained about the DJ's we had on that weekend because of the Chester Races. It was the last race day of the season and Chester race course had 30,000 people attend. We have always been a popular bar for race goers and this was reflected upon check in.
Unfortunately Jack, who checked you in should have explained about the plug in your room and that breakfast is only served until 10am. As you rightly said, he left last weekend and is no longer in my employ so I cannot verify your comments.
I have taken note of the Sunday breakfast staffs attitude and will be speaking with them regarding your review.
I have taken your experience very seriously and will be making changes immediately.
Thank you once again and kind regards,
Could do better with a few changes
My partner and I stayed during the week as a last minute break.
The staff were fine and helpful though as they are also running a pub they were also focusing on that too so you could feel like you were an interruption. The room itself was good, clean and nicely decorated. The only thing I think needs attention is the bathroom...the sealant and grout around the shower was discoloured (black) and although the shower itself was fab you did feel a little reluctant to get into it. The air con unit worked fine but like other reviewers it was not pointed out to us and I only knew there was one as I'd read previous reviews. Please let guests know it's there. There was some noise on the first morning with a brewery delivery at 7.30am but it's a working pub and this is to be expected. The location is superb, right in the heart of Chester so everything is on your doorstep. We too found it a little hard to find by car...don't know how this could be improved on though. Breakfast was part of the stay...this was ok but if a small menu was provided it would look more professional. The food itself was okay, though the boiled eggs on day two were very underdone. All in all an okay stay, but not impressed enough to stay again when next in Chester.
The Commercial Hotel Chester
Excellent 2 nights in Chester.
Very good hotel, rooms were spacious and clean, staff were very helpful and friendly an give us directions and advice on how to get to places etc.
On arrival we were shown to our room by a young man who was very polite and helpful, we suffered from the extreme heat in the room on the first night of our stay only to find out in the morning as we spoke to the cleaner that our room had air conditioning .
We could have been spared a sleepless night had we been shown the air on unit. We were warned prior to our stay that it would be noisy due to a disco we were not disappointed it was more like a rave. We enjoy our stay on the whole and the staff were extremly polite and helpful