No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Porth Lodge Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Porthbean Road, Porth, , Newquay, TR7 3LT
Porth Lodge is a lovely 'olde worlde' hotel and apartments in a quiet country lane, only a short walk to the family friendly beach of Porth Bay. Its sheltered position makes for a very pleasant holiday at any time of year. The 17th century Inn with its low ceilings, cosy nooks and 'olde worlde' charm, is popular with both holidaymakers and locals. Porth beach is a favourite for young families and couples, away from the more hectic bustle of this exciting holiday resort, yet close enough for you to enjoy all of its facilities when you wish. For those holidaying by coach or train the main station is Newquay and the airport a short ten to fifteen minutes drive away. The bus stop for Newquay airport is 100 yards from Porth Lodge. There is free parking at Porth Lodge for residents. Porth, is within walking distance of Newquay and is an ideal base for most activity holidays including surfing, walking and golfing (there are several local courses) and also for exploring the exhilarating coastline. Only a ten mintues drive from the main A30 route making the location ideally placed to explore this beautiful county and main atractions. Porth Lodge has a bar and tenpin bowling available from 11am and a traditional bar open from 7pm each evening and serving real ales. During colder weather the bar has a cosy open fire. We are situated down a very quiet, peaceful lane leading to the beach at Porth (approx 200 meters). Home cooked food and pub fayre is available every day. Dogs are welcome at Porth Lodge if we are notified in advance and a small additional charge of £10 per stay applies. There are many enjoyable walks suitable for dogs in the vicinity of Porth Lodge although the local beach does not allow dogs from Easter to October. Porth Lodge has a four lane computerised tenpin bowling alley on site and offers free bowling to our hotel and self catering guests before midday.
Picture of Porth Lodge Hotel, Newquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful staff. Room clean, bed comfortable. Breakfast good and plentiful. Bar meals good choice, good quality and good value. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
John M

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay on a short business trip, quiet location close to a stunning beach...

Reviewed by
gary g

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic village pub with Skittle Alley
This Pub had seen better times .
The pub is in need of a lot of investment to lift it up to current standards.
The bathroom needed a lot of work , loose taps on both the basin and the bath.
Very old shower curtain and shower difficult to control temperature.

Reviewed by
Alan T

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newquay break
Clean and friendly hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Newquay but within walking distance. A good centre to explore Cornwall from.

Reviewed by
Leslie Woolford

From Ferndown, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel had everything you needed, the staff were really friendly and helpful, the location was perfect and the room was better than we originally thought will definitely be recommended and used again by us in the future.

Reviewed by
Charlotte Howes

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely short break
When we first arrived we were a little concerned as the hotel seems a little run down but the owners couldn't have been more welcoming or accommodating. The original room we were given was close to the main stairs door so we asked for an alternative if available we were offered a choice of 2 other rooms and stayed in a lovely sea view mini suite at no extra cost...now that's customer care!
The bar is lovely, breakfast was great and it's a good location for the beach and Newquay town
If you want a base to explore, Porth Lodge is perfect

Reviewed by
catherine collins

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
This is the second time we have stayed at the Porth Lodge and once again we enjoyed our stay. Excellent food with top quality ingredients - especially breakfast. Comfortable room, warm and cosy. We were only booked in for 2 nights but decided to stay for 3. Pet friendly so our little Westie dog was made very welcome.

Reviewed by
Susan T

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just adequate for a 1 night stay

Reviewed by
John Greentree

From Merriott, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location and friendly environment

Reviewed by
Kate T

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Porth Lodge is a Pub with a busy bowling alley. General hotel is tired and worn but the rooms were better, comfortable beds, clean and working bathroom. Good and plentiful breakfast. Quite noisy outside so kids struggled to get to sleep but no complaints after a good nights sleep and they loved having a go on the bowling alley.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next