No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Jesmond Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
34 OSBORNE ROAD , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE2 2AJ
Welcome to Jesmond Hotel, a small hotel near Newcastle Upon with a personal touch.

Whether for business or pleasure, our central location with its welcoming and relaxed atmosphere is perfect for visitors to Newcastle & Gateshead as well as the wider region. We pride ourselves on excellent customer care, giving individual attention to all of our guests and ensuring a very high standard of service throughout the hotel.

Limited Free Parking is available on first come first serve basis (Permits given on arrival). The hotel accepts no responsibility for parking fines. It is the guest responsibility to display the permit or alternatively to park elsewhere when permits are not available.

Picture of Jesmond Hotel, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel
We booked this hotel for one night to break up our journey to Edinburgh. For value it was very good, the rooms were very nice. However there were a few things that were not expected. First off when they said free they basically meant first come first served on parking permits so we had to park elsewhere. Secondly, the bald man I was greeted by at the desk was not very informative at all: there was no mention of facilities like the bar, didn't ask whether we had stayed with them before and when describing where to park it was unsettling to find that it was what looked like a parking permit space, so we were worried we would get a ticket. Other than those minor details, that I hope this hotel will improve on, it was a pleasant stay and the location in Newcastle was wonderful.

Reviewed by
Ben Holness

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Miserable night's sleep
Poor parking facilities (I was given misleading information on this when I rang to enquire). Unfriendly receptionist upon arrival. The room had grubby walls, which made me question the hygeine of the rest of the room. The WIFi does not work at all. The windows might as well not have any glass, since the noise from the main road at the front was intolerable. The walls are pretty thin - I could hear every detail of the couple in the next room's late night antics. DIdn't stick around for the £7 breakfast. Would never stay here again!

Reviewed by
G Riseborough

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall thoughts
Pleased there was free on road parking via a parking permit from the hotel. The room was clean and tidy with a good size on- suite bathroom. Walls on the thin side though - noise from other rooms was a problem. Would have liked to sample the Persian food in the restaurant but it appeared very full soon after our arrival at 7.30pm so suggest reserving a table when booking the room- may need to telephone. Full breakfast was not disappointing and set us up for the day.

Reviewed by
Sue S

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, room (& bed) small
Close to the centre of Jesmond and only a £3.40 taxi ride from Newcastle City Centre. Comfortable but not spacious.

Reviewed by
Bob May

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Jesmond Hotel
When me and my friend arrived at the Jesmond hotel the people were lovely and polite. We was offered a cooked breakfast and we didn't have breakfast but wish I had as the food smelt and look lovely. the room wasn't what I was expecting its was lovely decorated and was really clean. Overall I was really impressed and pleased with our stay and we will defiantly be staying at the Jesmond again.

Reviewed by
e bunter

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice clean friendly hotel in a pleasant suburb of Newcastle.
I came to visit my son in Newcastle and found this a very clean, friendly hotel. The staff were very helpful. I did not have breakfast there so cannot comment on the food. There is a Persian restaurant there which seemed very popular. I will definitely use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
A Moore

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Great location for Jesmond and Newcastle, parking was easy and direct travel can be arranged for travel into Newcastle.

Reviewed by
K Smith

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Jesmond Hotel
Staff attentive, great breakfast, but room did not seem as if it had been used in a while - it was clean but needed a good airing.

Reviewed by
Tilly S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but comfortable room
No lifts so stairs could be challenging
No parking which is a real issue as resident parking in the Jesmond area
Excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
Stuart W

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor staff need training in actual customer care not just lip service to it
Shower only had adjustments of cold, reported it on first day nothing done. Notification of requirement of parking permits required hidden behind a wall, after getting a parking ticket £35 i asked to see the manager to be told I would have to phone him on Tuesday and that there where only six permits for sixteen rooms. I felt let down by the quality of service all round and the not bothered attitude of the staff. The stay was also marred by a three am alarm call from other drunken residents that only ceased when a call to security resulted in him telling the parties which room had complained. Top add insult to injury my blood pressure tablets vanished from the room leaving me to source more. All in all a very expensive experience that i think others should be aware of. i wont hold my breath for a response as i feel sure this is not the only complaint you will have received!

Reviewed by
G Scott

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next