No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Jesmond Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
34 OSBORNE ROAD , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE2 2AJ
Welcome to Jesmond Hotel, a small hotel near Newcastle Upon with a personal touch. Whether for business or pleasure, our central location with its welcoming and relaxed atmosphere is perfect for visitors to Newcastle & Gateshead as well as the wider region. We pride ourselves on excellent customer care, giving individual attention to all of our guests and ensuring a very high standard of service throughout the hotel. Limited parking is available on a first come first serve basis. Free WiFi is available in our hotel.

Picture of Jesmond Hotel, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel For Price
Went for a weekend break with friends Hotel served its purpose Had a good nights sleep after a good night on the Toon.

Reviewed by
Shahid V

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff,excellent hotel,would stay again.

Reviewed by
alan j

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel for a weekend break

Reviewed by
Catherine C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Was very happy with the Jesmond overall. Friendly staff, basic but clean rooms. They do need updating, especially the bathrooms, but they were comfortable and private. Incredible Persian restaurant downstairs which shoukd not be missed! Hotel lacked some kind of communal area was a downside. Well located along busy Osbourne Road and close to everything you might need. Just a short drive away from the city centre too!

Reviewed by
Justine Fava

From Gibraltar
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel for Business or Pleasure
The hotel staff were helpful and efficient. The room was nice and the food was good. Location to bars and reseraunts was great. Overall great value for money.

Reviewed by
James C

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Jesmond hotel review
The room was very cramped and smelt musty.

Reviewed by
J Wilson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newcastle stay
Stayed for one night while visiting my daughter. My room was clean and bathroom was equiped with all I needed. Staff were friendly and helpful. I paid extra for a continental breakfast and I was pleased with the selection on offer and toast and coffee were brought to my table. An overall positive experience for a budget stay, I would stay again .

Reviewed by
Rachel M

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great weekend
great value for money would reccomend it ,staff friendly and helpful
.with in easy reach off city centre

Reviewed by
christine b

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Hotel
Hotel great - Late Rooms rubbish

Reviewed by
S Hudson

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid!
A perfectly pleasant hotel, clean, comfortable rooms but a bit pricey for the type of accommodation. However, although the hotel clearly states that it does not take hen & stag parties, we left to go for a meal at around 4.30pm and asked the receptionist to check on the guy who was semi-conscious in the doorway to his room; another (or perhaps the same) guy slept in the corridor outside my daughter's room, and from 4am onwards a group of guys constantly wandered between their rooms keeping everyone awake. The manager actually said it was a stag party - I was offered £15 total compensation which was insulting considering the night we'd had.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mrs Williams, I’m sorry to hear about the disappointment you experienced during your recent stay with us. The rate of £90 bed and breakfast is a very good value rate for Saturday night bookings. We do offer really lower rates when booking in advance and for our different room categories, or when opting for a room only rate. The group of guys booked the rooms separately and checked in separately according to their convenience. I apologise if this caused you an inconvenience. We do have a 24-hour reception team so there is always someone on hand to help should it be required. And I checked the staff that was doing night shift on the particular night and he did not mention that you complain about anything on that particular night. If you could let us know on that time then he could check on immediate basis and deal the problem. I’m confident that if you would have raised such an issue, we would have been quick to rectify the problem or offer another available nearby room. Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope despite you feelings that you will consider Jesmond Hotel the next time you are in the area. Yours sincerely, Nitesh, Management

Reviewed by
Susan Williams

From Galashiels, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next