No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Continental Hotel

Damrak40-41 , Amsterdam, 1012 LK
We are conveniently situated in the heart of Amsterdam’s historical city center at a 5 minutes walking distance to the Central Station.

The location is an ideal starting point for exploring Amsterdam’s versatile attractions right on your doorstep: The Dam Square, the Royal Palace,Madame Tussauds the Red Light District is 3-5 minutes walk away, and the 'Jordaan' area with numerous cafés, art galleries, local boutiques, hip clubs and trendy cocktails bars are only 10-15 minutes walk away.

Take a boat tour opposite the hotel , 'Anne Frank Huis' is 10 minutes by walk ,Heineken Experience, Rijksmuseum, Stedeliijk Museum and the Van Gogh Museum are arround 15-20 minutes walk away. Tram 1-2-4-5-9-16-24-25 stops near by the hotel.

The hotel has single, double, triple and quad rooms available with either shared facilities or a private bathroom. All have a colour TV and telephone.
Picture of Continental Hotel, Amsterdam at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fiance Birthday
I booked a few days away in Amsterdam last minute for my fiances birthday. I booked Continental Hotel mainly for its location which was actually the best thing about this hotel. Mario and the rest of the staff here were very polite, helpful and a credit to the hotel. When we initially checked in and saw the hotel room we were somewhat disappointed; the size of the room with its low ceiling left a lot to be desired and felt claustrophobic. The lack of a lift and lots of steep stairs made the journey to and from our room 212 a bit strenuous. You could also hear the room next door quite easily which made you feel like you could probably be heard too. My fiance and I were dreading the worse but the cleanliness of the service (beds/sheets/towels etc) were a plus point as was the great customer service combined with the location it was a good experience after initially possibly dreading the worst. If I'm being honest I wouldn't stay here again with my fiance but if your a group of guys looking for somewhere cheap and ideally located then this is not a bad option and was only a 5 minute walk to Amsterdam Central station.

Reviewed by
S Vurdu

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location!
We needed something cheap but in the city. Compared to everywhere else this place was an amazing price! The room was a decent level of cleanliness and the shower/bathroom was good. The staff were really good with us. Especially Mario who works on reception and gave us advice on where to go etc. It's not the nicest hotel but we were never planning on spending much time there as we wanted to explore and it was the perfect place for that. It's much cheaper than anywhere else in the area, especially central, right by the station too and surprisingly quiet considering! We would definitely stay there again for another short break! It is basic so there's no hair dryer or kettle but I wouldn't expect that for such a good price in the center of Amsterdam!
Pros:
Cheap
Friendly
Good location
Not too loud at night
Always someone on reception
Relaxed atmosphere
Cons:
Stairs difficult for those with walking issues
Very basic (bring a hairdryer!)

Reviewed by
Jessica S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, it's was clean. The staff were friendly and helpfull. The room was very small, bathroom was nice. The best bit about this hotel is the location. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Matthew N

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Really helpful staff. Really friendly atmosphere. Rooms are basic and a bit tatty but clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
R Cooper

From Longfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, clean - just what you want in Amsterdam!
When we arrived it was early in the morning so we had to wait to check in - we went out and did our thing, and when we got back they had taken our luggage upstairs for us! So nice.
This hotel is in an amazing location, its very clean, we had our own bathroom which was modern and really nice! The staff were very friendly, we had more than enough room for both of us in the room, and let's face it - when you're in Amsterdam you don't spend much time in your room!
The only downside - which was NOT the fault of the hotel - was that it was quite noisy at night. But staying on Damask on a weekend won't exactly be quiet, so it's to be expected!
Overall we had a great time and I wouldn't hesitate to book here again.

Reviewed by
Nicola M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not too bad
hotel was basic and what we paid for really. rooms were slightly cramped but for what we used it for it was perfect.

Reviewed by
J Rankin

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
Friendly staff keen to assist. Stairs are steep and endless as we were on the fourth floor, not suitable for the elderly. Centrally situated and easy access to all major attractions within the city.

Reviewed by
Marcus W

From England
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay
This hotel was in the perfect location for everything. The staff we really friendly and helpful. The walls were paper thin and I could hear our neighbours word for word. Apart from that we did have a lovely stay here.

Reviewed by
V Neil

From Glasgow, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel room was small, but as we only used it 2 sleep in, it wasn't a problem, stairs were steep as no lift, hotel was just in the right spot, could get anywhere we needed 2 go within minute, would stay again deffo

Reviewed by
k bradley

From Deeside, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Hotel With Value For Money
We were greeted with friendly and smiling front desk staff as soon as we entered the hotel. This was our first trip to Amsterdam and we were impressed with their genuine assistance to help us around. Great location, although the room may be too small but it was nice and tidy. We will certainly recommend others to stay at your hotel.

Reviewed by
S Abdul

From Petaling Jaya Selangor, Malaysia
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next