Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Essex > Dedham Hotels > Holiday Inn Express Colchester
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Colchester

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Birchwood Road, Off Ipswich Road,A12 (Southbound Shell Garage), Essex, CO7 6HS
Choose the Holiday Inn Express Colchester hotel for a peaceful village location in the Essex countryside. Stay in the Stour Valley countryside that inspired famous artists at the new-generation Holiday Inn Express Colchester. You'll be next to the pretty village of Dedham, where John Constable once lived. Central Colchester is 5 miles away and we benefit from good road links, being just off the A12 with complimentary parking. London-Stansted Airport is a 45-minute drive. Holiday Inn Express Colchester's convenient location puts you 2 miles from Severalls Industrial Park , and a short drive from the local military barracks and the Ministry of Defence. The nearby A12 links you to Colchester and Suffolk, and you can bring clients to our 3 fully-equipped meeting rooms . FREE WIFI available throughout the hotel. Enjoy our rural setting by hiking in the Stour Valley, or heading out for fish and chips at nearby seaside resorts such as Clacton-on-Sea, a 20-minute drive from the hotel. Under-18s stay for free on the sofabeds in our Family rooms. Our all inclusive hot breakfast buffet will fuel you for the day in our bright Great Room, and you can relax with newspapers in our bar. Ask our friendly Front Desk staff to help you with directions for your day out. There's time for a stroll in the surrounding countryside before returning to the bar for a nightcap.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Colchester, Essex at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 97 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Freindliness
The staff at this otl were very friendly and coudnt do enough for us. The evening menu is limited but the staff will phone for takeaways to be delivered if requested. The hotel is in a quiet area which is great for relaxing and the rooms are very comfortable with perfectly working aircon system. Really enjoyed our stay there and will do it again soon.

Reviewed by
P Ridler

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bed and breakfast
room absolutely spotless and with good fittings and fixtures.
Breakfast included which was a bonus but was a little sparce. Dining area could have been kept a bit tidier.

Reviewed by
joanne f

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Nice room crap service

Reviewed by
Phillip L

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, basic accommodation at a fair price
Booked as a bolthole for visiting our daughter and gave everything we needed for such a short stay.
The signage to find the hotel is poor and it was only by luck and sharp eyesight that I spotted it. Then had to cross the dual carriageway coming from Colchester and luck was on our side there as we did not see a single sign pointing the way. We drove off at the first turn off into an unlit small country road. Did find sign for returning to Colchester so took that, despite the lack of anything for the hotel. It did indeed take us under the road and back to the hotel.
The hotel is very close to the dual carriageway but the double glazing is good so we didn't hear the road once we settled for the night.
The 'bar' feels like a hallway and the draught from the entrance was not welcome. Bar prices are steep, I thought or I'd have given a higher 'value for money' score.
Mostly the fittings and furniture are very good, if not excellent, and it looks like the shower was fitted fairly recently and was up to date and clean. The bedding was fine, though the duvet not thick enough for the weather at the time.
Small things could be better in the rooms, but nothing unusually for these changes of hotels. Could do with a towel rail for a hand towel by the sink and maybe hooks on the back of the bathroom door. Spare blankets weren't provided, but the extra bed was made up so we used the duvet from that as it suddenly had turned cold.
It's away from anything of interest, so you can't walk to anything except the petrol station and perhaps across the fields, so all trips mean getting straight into the car. If you like a stroll before breakfast this might not be for you.
Breakfast was varied and help yourself. Not a lot of cooked dishes and fewer for vegetarians, but adequate and lots of choice with pastries, yogurts and cereal. I didn't ask about gluten free toast, but they might provide it on request.
All in all it's not a bad place and excellent value for what we paid. I'd go back possibly as we're often in the area for short periods. There are other hotels nearer to Colchester though that are a decent price, so by no means certain.

Reviewed by
Jackie L

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place for a friday night
Stayed here on a Friday night, clean quiet, well appointed. Breakfast was fine. I would stop here again. Its worth noting that we heard very little of the A12 noise.

Reviewed by
David E

From Bradford on Avon, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A satisfactory experience for an overnight stop
The Hotel was modern and clean and the staff efficient and friendly.
The room was fine although my only concern was that the mattress was too soft and not great if you have back problems. We mentioned this to Reception on our departure.
Breakfast was supposed to be continental self service but there were some cooked options available which was a bonus.
Internet access was available in our room despite it being advertised as available in the common areas only.
For the cost it was very good value.

Reviewed by
D Owen

From Alton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed with a newish hotel
I booked this hotel through Late rooms as it had smoking rooms. On arrival was told this had been stopped, hotel now totally non smoking. The bed a 4ft 6 inch model which is unheard of these days in hotels was like a bouncy castle, every time one of us turned over, it woke the other person up. We were cold, the thermostat was stuck on 19C, we informed reception who adjusted it but it never rose beyond 20C. The bathroom was freezing because of this. The evening food menu was very limited, we had to go out to Table Table.
I can't find fault with how clean it was and the cereal, coffee and toast I had for breakfast was good but that is all I can say in favour. I won't be staying here again.

Reviewed by
Val M

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have stayed at this hotel before and really like the rooms there . Really good value for money and the rooms are really moden and comfy.

Reviewed by
michael white

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Bed was to springy and when in bed felt that you were rolling down a dip to middle so tried sofa bed that felt as tho you were laying on a cheese greater nice large shower pitty the shower head was not good as water very slow no power would not use again.

ManagementResponse

Dear C Mead, Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry to hear that our bedding and bathroom amenities did not live up to your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve. Sincerely, Lera, IHG Care

Reviewed by
C Mead

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service, very clean good location
excellent

Reviewed by
Steve Harris

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next