Reviews - Holiday Inn Express COLCHESTER


Birchwood Road, Off Ipswich Road,A12 (Southbound Shell Garage), Colchester, CO7 6HS

Price From 145.85 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (55)

85% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • alison c

  • August 2015

Comfortable hotel

Clean, comfortable, better than I expected

  • H Jaswal

  • May 2015

An amazing stay for a low price

Definitely worth the money, staff were very polite and were able to accommodate all of our needs promptly.


  • May 2015

Excellent room but no loo roll

Very clean and comfortable room.

Immaculate. Petty there wasn't enough loo roll to last the stay, but my emergency back up roll I keep with me did the trick.

  • A Lindsay

  • April 2015

Good Hotel

Chloe (the receptionist) was a real joy to deal with, happy, efficient and friendly.

  • Catherine O

  • April 2015

A good hotel

Booked through late rooms and had a good value stay.

  • M Wheeler

  • March 2015

Nice room shame about the food

Nice room and very clean hotel, all mod cons.

The breakfast was a bit disappointing, you have all the usual stuff like cereals, fresh fruit and pastries, but the hot food was cold, like the sausages, scrambled egg and the beans, that's the only choice you have, which looked like it had been there for at least a couple of hours, at least you don't have to wait to get served, you just serve yourself. The cutlery needs to be sharpened as well. There doesn't seem to be enough tables and chairs to sit down and eat properly, there were a few tables that were too high or too low to eat. But apart from that, it is a very nice place to stay.

  • P Broadbent

  • March 2015

To visit family

We found this Holiday Inn express excellent modern and with bathroom and shower.

Staff were fantastic, helpful and polite. A real good deal especially with breakfast included. Please cut out the sloppy scrambled egg or use real eggs or substitute bacon or tomatoes. That was the only fault.

  • Phillip L

  • February 2015

Holiday Inn Express Colchester

Nice room crap service

  • P Ridler

  • February 2015


The staff at this otl were very friendly and coudnt do enough for us.

The evening menu is limited but the staff will phone for takeaways to be delivered if requested. The hotel is in a quiet area which is great for relaxing and the rooms are very comfortable with perfectly working aircon system. Really enjoyed our stay there and will do it again soon.

  • joanne f

  • February 2015

bed and breakfast

room absolutely spotless and with good fittings and fixtures.

Breakfast included which was a bonus but was a little sparce. Dining area could have been kept a bit tidier.