Reviews - Holiday Inn Express COLCHESTER

3

Birchwood Road, Off Ipswich Road,A12 (Southbound Shell Garage), Colchester, CO7 6HS

Price From 125.48 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (72)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • H Jaswal

  • May 2015

An amazing stay for a low price

Definitely worth the money, staff were very polite and were able to accommodate all of our needs promptly.

  • M WHEELER

  • May 2015

Excellent room but no loo roll

Very clean and comfortable room.

Immaculate. Petty there wasn't enough loo roll to last the stay, but my emergency back up roll I keep with me did the trick.

  • A Lindsay

  • April 2015

Good Hotel

Chloe (the receptionist) was a real joy to deal with, happy, efficient and friendly.

  • Catherine O

  • April 2015

A good hotel

Booked through late rooms and had a good value stay.

  • M Wheeler

  • March 2015

Nice room shame about the food

Nice room and very clean hotel, all mod cons.

The breakfast was a bit disappointing, you have all the usual stuff like cereals, fresh fruit and pastries, but the hot food was cold, like the sausages, scrambled egg and the beans, that's the only choice you have, which looked like it had been there for at least a couple of hours, at least you don't have to wait to get served, you just serve yourself. The cutlery needs to be sharpened as well. There doesn't seem to be enough tables and chairs to sit down and eat properly, there were a few tables that were too high or too low to eat. But apart from that, it is a very nice place to stay.

  • P Broadbent

  • March 2015

To visit family

We found this Holiday Inn express excellent modern and with bathroom and shower.

Staff were fantastic, helpful and polite. A real good deal especially with breakfast included. Please cut out the sloppy scrambled egg or use real eggs or substitute bacon or tomatoes. That was the only fault.

  • Phillip L

  • February 2015

Holiday Inn Express Colchester

Nice room crap service

  • P Ridler

  • February 2015

Freindliness

The staff at this otl were very friendly and coudnt do enough for us.

The evening menu is limited but the staff will phone for takeaways to be delivered if requested. The hotel is in a quiet area which is great for relaxing and the rooms are very comfortable with perfectly working aircon system. Really enjoyed our stay there and will do it again soon.

  • joanne f

  • February 2015

bed and breakfast

room absolutely spotless and with good fittings and fixtures.

Breakfast included which was a bonus but was a little sparce. Dining area could have been kept a bit tidier.

  • Jackie L

  • February 2015

Good, basic accommodation at a fair price

Booked as a bolthole for visiting our daughter and gave everything we needed for such a short stay.

The signage to find the hotel is poor and it was only by luck and sharp eyesight that I spotted it. Then had to cross the dual carriageway coming from Colchester and luck was on our side there as we did not see a single sign pointing the way. We drove off at the first turn off into an unlit small country road. Did find sign for returning to Colchester so took that, despite the lack of anything for the hotel. It did indeed take us under the road and back to the hotel. The hotel is very close to the dual carriageway but the double glazing is good so we didn't hear the road once we settled for the night. The 'bar' feels like a hallway and the draught from the entrance was not welcome. Bar prices are steep, I thought or I'd have given a higher 'value for money' score. Mostly the fittings and furniture are very good, if not excellent, and it looks like the shower was fitted fairly recently and was up to date and clean. The bedding was fine, though the duvet not thick enough for the weather at the time. Small things could be better in the rooms, but nothing unusually for these changes of hotels. Could do with a towel rail for a hand towel by the sink and maybe hooks on the back of the bathroom door. Spare blankets weren't provided, but the extra bed was made up so we used the duvet from that as it suddenly had turned cold. It's away from anything of interest, so you can't walk to anything except the petrol station and perhaps across the fields, so all trips mean getting straight into the car. If you like a stroll before breakfast this might not be for you. Breakfast was varied and help yourself. Not a lot of cooked dishes and fewer for vegetarians, but adequate and lots of choice with pastries, yogurts and cereal. I didn't ask about gluten free toast, but they might provide it on request. All in all it's not a bad place and excellent value for what we paid. I'd go back possibly as we're often in the area for short periods. There are other hotels nearer to Colchester though that are a decent price, so by no means certain.