Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Essex > Dedham Hotels > Holiday Inn Express Colchester
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Colchester

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Birchwood Road, Off Ipswich Road,A12 (Southbound Shell Garage), Essex, CO7 6HS
Choose the Holiday Inn Express Colchester hotel for a peaceful village location in the Essex countryside. Stay in the Stour Valley countryside that inspired famous artists at the new-generation Holiday Inn Express Colchester. You'll be next to the pretty village of Dedham, where John Constable once lived.

Central Colchester is 5 miles away and we benefit from good road links, being just off the A12 with complimentary parking. London-Stansted Airport is a 45-minute drive. Holiday Inn Express Colchester's convenient location puts you 2 miles from Severalls Industrial Park , and a short drive from the local military barracks and the Ministry of Defence. The nearby A12 links you to Colchester and Suffolk, and you can bring clients to our 3 fully-equipped meeting rooms.

Complimentary wireless internet is available in the lounge area and high speed wired internet is available in our bedrooms. Enjoy our rural setting by hiking in the Stour Valley, or heading out for fish and chips at nearby seaside resorts such as Clacton-on-Sea, a 20-minute drive from the hotel. Under-18s stay for free on the sofabeds in our Family rooms. Our complimentary continental breakfast will fuel you for the day in our bright Great Room, and you can relax with newspapers in our bar. Ask our friendly Front Desk staff to help you with directions for your day out. There's time for a stroll in the surrounding countryside before returning to the bar for a nightcap.

Colchester Zoo which is 14 mins drive from the hotel is now one of the finest Zoos in Europe due to a constant programme of development and has won ‘’Visitor Attraction of the Year” Award . With over 260 species to see, set in 60 acres of beautiful parkland and lakes, Colchester Zoo is well worth a visit.

The Colchester United Weston Homes Community Stadium is 5 minutes away from the hotel has quickly become the leading venue in the region for various events as well is a home for Colchester United team.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Colchester, Essex at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sofa bed
Sleeping on the sofa bed was a very unpleasant experience for my daughter. The mattress was very thin and the springs very obvious. I spoke to the duty manager about this,and was told they were aware of the problem but that was the spec of the model. I really think they need to address this and at the very least provide a thick mattress topper. Not great.

Reviewed by
robert hand

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing stay
my stay at the hotel was relaxing i had the best nights sleep in ages. i only stayed for one night but will defiantly stay again in the future.

Reviewed by
mark bamberry

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic!
Value for money! Great stay, comfortable bed!

Reviewed by
T Mannan

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally good
The room was very clean and presentable. Enough room for a couple and a young child. We were placed on the ground floor which was helpful. I was a little disappointed with the quality of the sausages and the breakfast in general was limited with only scrambled eggs, baked beans and sausages available in the hot food stand.

ManagementResponse

Dear L Diaz, Thank you for leaving us a feedback. We are delighted to know you were well satisfied with your room accommodations, as we are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. On the other hand, it seems that we failed to provide an exemplary performance with regard to breakfast options. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced. Please be assured that all feedback will be acted upon as we rely on you, our valued guests, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Tracy, IHG Care

Reviewed by
L Diaz

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

holiday inn express
Bed provided no support, very soft. Did not havd a good nights sleep. Breakfast was a bit chaotic and very disorganised. Cooked breakfast was very basic and not very nice

ManagementResponse

Dear D McDonald, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to read you were not satisfied with your stay, and that the bed quality and breakfast options were a letdown. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned that we have fallen short of your expectations. We will look into these concerns and I can assure you that your feedback will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. Regards, Tracy, IHG Care

Reviewed by
D McDonald

From Lee on the Solent, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid the breakfast
Cheerful indifference from reception, although my wife isn't convinced it was particularly cheerful. Room quite well equipped and adequate and clean. Breakfast was chaotic. No trays, no plates and then no food, no milk. When food was eventually made available it was poor quality - probably better off to find a better place to eat.

ManagementResponse

Dear A Richfield, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you found our rooms well equipped and apologize for the inconvenience the service you received from our breakfast bar may have caused. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Krysllin, IHG Care

Reviewed by
A Richfield

From Tiverton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Modern design of room. Very impressive looking bathroom. Wifi signal very poor in our room. Food fine. Looks modern and clean, staff polite and helpful. Would stay again definitely

Reviewed by
Quinci F

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food awful
The place is very clean, the staff go without notice, polite etc. Reasonably quiet too considering its proximity to the A12 main road. Just enough parking spaces. Food is awful. Both the choice and quality, supper and breakfast. If staying there I should advise to plan to eat elsewhere although there's nowhere within walking distance apart the shop in the Shell garage. That's a big no no for me as if I'm marooned in the middle of nowhere at least I expect a decent quality of food. There is a bar which helps dull the senses. In all I should stay there again as it was clean and comfortable but the lack of on site resources a severe drawback. I should always try elsewhere if I could.

ManagementResponse

Dear P Cresswell, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret the food served during your stay did not live up to your expectations. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer. Regards, Joel, IHG Care

Reviewed by
P CRESSWELL

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First experience staying in a Holiday Express Inn
We were given a warm and friendly welcome and were very impressed with our room. The extras in the room were much appreciated. It was a good breakfast although we did miss the bacon!

Reviewed by
Brian C

From Felixstowe, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend

Reviewed by
c s

From East Grinstead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next