No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Beacon Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
THE BEACON , EXMOUTH, EX8 2AF
The Royal Beacon Hotel in Exmouth, Devon, is situated in a quiet, elevated position on Exmouth's finest Regency Terrace - once the home to Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. Visitors to this Exmouth hotel are provided with breathtaking views over well-tended gardens and the Devon coastline, from the River Exe to Lyme Bay and the red cliffs of Orcombe Point.

For over two centuries, our elegant hotel has offered guests a tradition of genuine hospitality - a tradition that has continued in its present role as Exmouth's finest hotel. Whether you are looking for a hotel in Devon for business travel, a wedding party or just for pleasure, with its range of excellent bedrooms, apartments and conference and wedding facilities, the Royal Beacon Hotel will meet and exceed all your expectations.

Picture of Royal Beacon Hotel, EXMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent

Reviewed by
m belchamber

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value but noisy
Room very comfortable and a good size, only issue was being disturbed by loud music on the Saturday night.

Reviewed by
R Burge

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unbeatable views
My dughter and I had a great mini break at the Royal Beacon. We had a large, comfortable room with a fabulous view of the sea and estuary. The food was excellent, very generous servings especially breakfast.
I would have preferred if the outside neon sign was turned off earlier as it made the room a little bright during the night, but worth it to wake up to those views.
A stones throw from the lovely sandy Exmouth beach too.

Reviewed by
Nadine M

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect value
A lovely courtyard room, left to ourselves, just what we wanted.
Will definitely be back.
Thank you Royal Beacon.

Reviewed by
Anthony L

From Hungerford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very comfy bed! quiet & comfortable.difficult parking

Reviewed by
Denise C

From Shaftesbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spacious, clean and comfortable
Room was spacious, standard of the bathroom was a very pleasant surprise, good shower. Great to have a selection of beverages and biscuits in the room, not just the usual tea and coffee. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very good value for money.

Reviewed by
K Chard

From Pontypool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay at the Royal Beacon Hotel
A very nice hotel, with good clean rooms,
Staff helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was just right :)

Reviewed by
g Meek

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Seagulls
Apart from the noise of the gulls, a very nice stay
Thankyou

Reviewed by
Pete B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and welcoming, with a touch of old-fashioned style
Loved this hotel - such a change to be greeted with real warmth by the staff on reception. The interior was relaxed but stylish and my courtyard room was a a good size. I didn't have an evening meal there but the breakfast was lovely, with the hot choice served to the table by a courteous and attentive maitre d'. A gem of a hotel which gave every appearance of being well-loved by its owners. The car park isn't massive but there is plenty of road parking right outside. Oh, and the hotel has excellent free wifi, with no need to register - top marks.

Reviewed by
Alison T

From Newton le Willows, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Beacon Hotel Review
The room was a little dirty, with the net curtains having a stain on, the walls having a few marks, the tea cups weren't completely clean and there were a few cobwebs on the ceiling. However, the bedsheets and towels were fresh and clean.
The en suite was really nice, with modern, clean and new-looking sink, shower unit and toilet, and a lovely tiled floor. The only problem was the shower head holder was broken, so the shower head didn't rise above 5 foot 4(?). I am only 5"3 so this didn't bother me, but my partner, is 5"9, and this caused slight annoyance when showering.
The staff were really friendly and the night porter was particularly helpful when our swipe card wasn't working at past midnight on a Friday night.
Overall, this was a good hotel, but could use a bit more attention to detail when cleaning the rooms.

Reviewed by
Jessica P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next