No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Red Lion

Not Classified  Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
Red Lion Lodge Hotel, Kings Walden Road , Hitchin, SG5 3DZ
Welcome to the Red Lion, Offley
The Red Lion is a traditional village pub in Great Offley, Hertfordshire providing quality Bed but no cooked breakfast,(cereal, tea/coffee and orange juice provided in each room). A traditional restaurant, cosy atmosphere, a fine selection of real ales, garden overlooking beautiful countryside and above all a warm and friendly welcome. As well as a fantastic pub and restaurant, we provide good value accommodation within easy reach of Luton airport.

Bed
near to Luton Airport and the Chilterns...
If you are looking for excellent value bed and breakfast accommodation within easy reach of Luton International Airport and walking in the Chilterns, you need look no further than the Red Lion at Offley.

All rooms have been recently decorated. Photos to change shortly. (26/10/10)

Picture of Red Lion, Hitchin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little place very friendly

Reviewed by
Joe l

From Wigton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice and quiet little pub

Reviewed by
B Adlam

From Pontypool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will be back if in area
having read a few bad reviews i nearly never booked here but im so glad i to a chance its great the landlord is great i was welcomed and the bar staff were great to

Reviewed by
Pete Curtis

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good news
Service was good

Reviewed by
Tony B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great local pub near Luton airport
Country pub with great food and real ale available, staff and locals very welcoming.
Accommodation to the rear of the pub in a converted building.

Reviewed by
NEIL B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do better even for the price paid
The female staff member (bar staff) who showed me to my room gets full marks from me and a real credit to the pub. Breakfast in the room was more than adequate and the locals in the pub a very friendly bunch. The bed was warm and comfortable. However in other aspects the accommodation however left a lot to be desired for the following reasons: 1) It appeared the electrical earth wire from the bathroom electrically heated towel rail had been disconnected - it may be it was earthed elsewhere but disconcerting nonetheless. 2) The sink top had two strange beads of sealant strewn across each end. I quickly found out this was to prevent the cold tab water running onto the floor - wondered why they did not fix the tap instead. 3) The sink had hairline cracks. 4) The fridge (in the room) motor kept me awake during the night. 4) The shower head holder was broken 5) Late rooms website indicates the pub is in Hitchin - it is not anywhere near Hitchin and cost me a fair chunk of taxi fare to get there and of course back to Hitchin the next morning. To be fair I would like to stay again but only if I had my car with me due to the remoteness and the room defects were rectified.

ManagementResponse

Thanks for your review, a plumber has already been contacted about the sink to get a replacement and to fix the shower. I will check the earthing and get rectified if needed. Thank you for your nice comments about our staff and customers as we always try and make everyone feel welcome. I will also check the laterooms website, our village of Great Offley does come under Hitchin even though 3 miles outside. Thanks for your feedback and custom.

Reviewed by
R Randerson

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation was very tired worn and neglected
The location was very peaceful and nice, however the room was cold and draughty. The bathroom had black mould in the shower! Everything about the place was tired and neglected. Sack the cleaner.
Also the front of the a lodge had masses of cigarette ends.
Worst place I have ever stayed in.

ManagementResponse

Amazing how people say absolutely nothing to you then write a review like this. Worst place you've ever stayed in, fine, everyone is entitled to their opinion but if I was one of our very long term guests and read that I would take it as an insult that I keep coming back. Loads of fag butts on the floor, the front of the pub gets swept a couple of times a day, so if that's the case must mean this awful pub is strangely very busy! due to work taking place getting the pub ready for the warmer months it may not look as tidy at the moment but strangely we have had 3 months of constant rain making everywhere look less tidy than normal. I wouldn't normally respond to a pathetic review like this but really, if you have an issue don't be nice and polite to people and then go and post something like this, speak to people first.

Reviewed by
Audrey P

From Bagni Di Lucca, Italy
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but cute room,cold - had to wait for heating. The room had everything - TV ,refrigerator,ironing,kettle,coffee
Clean bathroom
Possibly more appealing in summer time

Reviewed by
Manuela B

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely service, room for improvement
Service was good, lovely people and customers. The room in the whole was satisfactory, but the bathroom let it down.

Reviewed by
G Crawford

From Chatham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Good budget accommodation for an overnight stop. Pub friendly, food good. Rooms are pretty basic but you get what you pay for. The only complaint we would have is that the water in the room is piping hot. Very difficult to get the shower at a comfortable temperature (room 1) - the owners should look into this as a health and safety concern.

Reviewed by
Wendy B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next