Reviews - Red Lion

Red Lion Lodge Hotel, Kings Walden Road, Hitchin, SG5 3DZ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

79% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Paul R

  • July 2015

Stayed A Night

Cons: The room was with 2 singles instead of a double bed; the bathroom was reasonable, a bit like a student flat but clean; deco a bit dated but they're essentially rooms in a 2-storey building behind the pub, a bit like an elderly people's block, whose doors all open out onto a communal pathway or balcony.

Pros: The people are ordinary & friendly who both work in & frequent the pub. Great price, push your keys through the letterbox, so no stress about leaving time. Great beer, though get there before 9 if you want to eat. We just needed a room the evening before getting a flight from Luton (very handy as you don't need to cross town).

  • R Kirk

  • April 2015

Hitchin overnight

We were looking for a comfortable overnight stay after a wedding and the Red Lion fitted our needs adequately.

Being separated from the public bar there was no noise distraction during the night.

  • R Williams

  • February 2015

Friendly atmosphere

A nice welcome.

Good food, friendly welcoming pub.

  • P Burnett

  • January 2015


My stay in the Red Lion was very comfortable.

Room was clean with plenty of tea and coffee etc. Was a little noisy as walls very thin. Could do with Wifi in the rooms too. Could only work in the pub.

  • martin h

  • January 2015

Nice find, Proper pub

Proper pub, with real food and nice selection of real ale.

Room more than adequate, clean & comfortable. Food in the pub was excellent (only problem too much choice). Nice friendly service especially from the landlady and the lady with blue hair (sorry didn't get names). We will definitely be back when it's a bit warmer to explore the area. Thank you

  • Phil S

  • December 2014

Two night stay for purpose of Funeral

We found the staff at The Red Lion friendly & helpful.

The food we found was very good & well presented. The only problem we had was we found the beds uncomfortable although we cant put our finger on why

  • R Munsey

  • October 2014

Lovely bb and great views over the country side.

Just one request, I would of preferred fresh milk rather than UHT. Great bonus with having the fridge in the room

  • ian rourke

  • October 2014


Room adequate for price and our requirements.

Staff conversation was limited to 'name. I'l show you your room' ....not unpleasant just not communicative. Basic , small but reasonably clean though the shower could have been cleaner.

  • J Day

  • October 2014

excellent value for money

Small cozy flat like rooms with upstairs bathroom.

Only fault was the curtains needed a wash. Staff were friendly and we were not disturbed in our stay. Horse fields next to the property really makes this place unique, view is amazing. Facilities are a nice touch to a private stay. Would definatly reccomend and we will be coming back. Can't comment on food here because we didn't eat here but will next time.

  • Donald Northwood

  • October 2014


Clean warm room did what it said on the tin so very happy, staff very helpful and friendly