No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Red Lion

Not Classified  Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
Red Lion Lodge Hotel, Kings Walden Road , Hitchin, SG5 3DZ
Welcome to the Red Lion, Offley
The Red Lion is a traditional village pub in Great Offley, Hertfordshire providing quality Bed but no cooked breakfast,(cereal, tea/coffee and orange juice provided in each room). A traditional restaurant, cosy atmosphere, a fine selection of real ales, garden overlooking beautiful countryside and above all a warm and friendly welcome. As well as a fantastic pub and restaurant, we provide good value accommodation within easy reach of Luton airport.

Bed
near to Luton Airport and the Chilterns...
If you are looking for excellent value bed and breakfast accommodation within easy reach of Luton International Airport and walking in the Chilterns, you need look no further than the Red Lion at Offley.

All rooms have been recently decorated. Photos to change shortly. (26/10/10)

Picture of Red Lion, Hitchin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

WIFI
My stay in the Red Lion was very comfortable. Room was clean with plenty of tea and coffee etc. Was a little noisy as walls very thin. Could do with Wifi in the rooms too. Could only work in the pub.

Reviewed by
P Burnett

From Tiverton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly atmosphere
A nice welcome. Good food, friendly welcoming pub.

Reviewed by
R Williams

From Penicuik, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice find, Proper pub
Proper pub, with real food and nice selection of real ale. Room more than adequate, clean & comfortable. Food in the pub was excellent (only problem too much choice). Nice friendly service especially from the landlady and the lady with blue hair (sorry didn't get names). We will definitely be back when it's a bit warmer to explore the area. Thank you

ManagementResponse

Thank you very much for your nice comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed by
martin h

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay for purpose of Funeral
We found the staff at The Red Lion friendly & helpful. The food we found was very good & well presented. The only problem we had was we found the beds uncomfortable although we cant put our finger on why

Reviewed by
Phil S

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely bb and great views over the country side. Just one request, I would of preferred fresh milk rather than UHT. Great bonus with having the fridge in the room

Reviewed by
R Munsey

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

convenient
Room adequate for price and our requirements. Staff conversation was limited to 'name? I'l show you your room' ....not unpleasant just not communicative.
Basic , small but reasonably clean though the shower could have been cleaner.

Reviewed by
ian rourke

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money
Small cozy flat like rooms with upstairs bathroom. Only fault was the curtains needed a wash. Staff were friendly and we were not disturbed in our stay. Horse fields next to the property really makes this place unique, view is amazing. Facilities are a nice touch to a private stay. Would definatly reccomend and we will be coming back. Can't comment on food here because we didn't eat here but will next time.

Reviewed by
J Day

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnighter

Clean warm room did what it said on the tin so very happy, staff very helpful and friendly

Reviewed by
Donald Northwood

From Garve, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for! Very basic to say the least.
Very basic accommodation in need a lot of TLC. No hot water as the immersion was switched off before our arrival and was not pointed out to us on arrival. Bed and bedding needed throwing away and starting again. The towels provided were probably at there best ten years ago. could go on and on but you get the picture!

Reviewed by
R MCDONALD

From Eye, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient for staying in area
Staying with son and his girlfriend in 2 double rooms for a family wedding. Nice rooms at the rear of this fairly isolated pub with all facilities. We were able to let ourselves in late . Rooms could have been a bit cleaner and my sink didn't have a plug. Toiletries were provided. The breakfast was help yourself in your room and could have been better - consisted of 3 mini cereal packets and some UHT milk and orange juice but we didn't feel like eating much anyway.! Good value for a short stay.

Reviewed by
E Briggs

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next