Reviews - Red Lion

Red Lion Lodge Hotel, Kings Walden Road, Hitchin, SG5 3DZ

Price From 91.68 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Stead

  • February 2016

Very good value for money

Service very good food home made and excellent 10/10

  • Frank N

  • December 2015

'What it says on the tin'

No nonsense budget accomadation.

Bathroom being upstairs is a bit of a pain for those who 'don't make it through the night', but bed comfortable and shower adequate. The pub food in the evening was good value and gluton free pudding a nice surprise. Note that breakfast is a bowl of cereal in the room.

  • S Ali

  • December 2015

Lovely hotel friendly staff Will definitely stay again and recommend friends and family

Very nice and friendly staff

Room was extra value for money

Hope they upgrade twin beds to double

Will def stay again soon

And recommend it :)

  • Paul R

  • July 2015

Stayed A Night

Cons: The room was with 2 singles instead of a double bed; the bathroom was reasonable, a bit like a student flat but clean; deco a bit dated but they're essentially rooms in a 2-storey building behind the pub, a bit like an elderly people's block, whose doors all open out onto a communal pathway or balcony.

Pros: The people are ordinary & friendly who both work in & frequent the pub. Great price, push your keys through the letterbox, so no stress about leaving time. Great beer, though get there before 9 if you want to eat. We just needed a room the evening before getting a flight from Luton (very handy as you don't need to cross town).

  • R Kirk

  • April 2015

Hitchin overnight

We were looking for a comfortable overnight stay after a wedding and the Red Lion fitted our needs adequately.

Being separated from the public bar there was no noise distraction during the night.

  • R Williams

  • February 2015

Friendly atmosphere

A nice welcome.

Good food, friendly welcoming pub.

  • P Burnett

  • January 2015

WIFI

My stay in the Red Lion was very comfortable.

Room was clean with plenty of tea and coffee etc. Was a little noisy as walls very thin. Could do with Wifi in the rooms too. Could only work in the pub.

  • martin h

  • January 2015

Nice find, Proper pub

Proper pub, with real food and nice selection of real ale.

Room more than adequate, clean & comfortable. Food in the pub was excellent (only problem too much choice). Nice friendly service especially from the landlady and the lady with blue hair (sorry didn't get names). We will definitely be back when it's a bit warmer to explore the area. Thank you

Response from hotel

Thank you very much for your nice comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

  • Phil S

  • December 2014

Two night stay for purpose of Funeral

We found the staff at The Red Lion friendly & helpful.

The food we found was very good & well presented. The only problem we had was we found the beds uncomfortable although we cant put our finger on why

  • R Munsey

  • October 2014

Lovely bb and great views over the country side.

Just one request, I would of preferred fresh milk rather than UHT. Great bonus with having the fridge in the room