Reviews - Red Lion

Red Lion Lodge Hotel, Kings Walden Road, Hitchin, SG5 3DZ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

79% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality



  • August 2014

You get what you pay for! Very basic to say the least.

Very basic accommodation in need a lot of TLC.

No hot water as the immersion was switched off before our arrival and was not pointed out to us on arrival. Bed and bedding needed throwing away and starting again. The towels provided were probably at there best ten years ago. could go on and on but you get the picture!

  • E Briggs

  • August 2014

Convenient for staying in area

Staying with son and his girlfriend in 2 double rooms for a family wedding.

Nice rooms at the rear of this fairly isolated pub with all facilities. We were able to let ourselves in late . Rooms could have been a bit cleaner and my sink didn't have a plug. Toiletries were provided. The breakfast was help yourself in your room and could have been better - consisted of 3 mini cereal packets and some UHT milk and orange juice but we didn't feel like eating much anyway.. Good value for a short stay.

  • G Hailes

  • July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights .....

Great little place, basic but does the job and the staff were great ... Room 5 where we were had a lovely view onto a field with horses. Lovely little peaceful village.

  • Joe l

  • July 2014

Great little place very friendly

  • B Adlam

  • July 2014

nice and quiet little pub

  • Pete Curtis

  • June 2014

Will be back if in area

having read a few bad reviews i nearly never booked here but im so glad i to a chance its great the landlord is great i was welcomed and the bar staff were great to

  • Tony B

  • June 2014

Good news

Service was good

  • NEIL B

  • May 2014

Great local pub near Luton airport

Country pub with great food and real ale available, staff and locals very welcoming.

Accommodation to the rear of the pub in a converted building.

  • R Randerson

  • May 2014

Could do better even for the price paid

The female staff member (bar staff) who showed me to my room gets full marks from me and a real credit to the pub.

Breakfast in the room was more than adequate and the locals in the pub a very friendly bunch. The bed was warm and comfortable. However in other aspects the accommodation however left a lot to be desired for the following reasons: 1) It appeared the electrical earth wire from the bathroom electrically heated towel rail had been disconnected - it may be it was earthed elsewhere but disconcerting nonetheless. 2) The sink top had two strange beads of sealant strewn across each end. I quickly found out this was to prevent the cold tab water running onto the floor - wondered why they did not fix the tap instead. 3) The sink had hairline cracks. 4) The fridge (in the room) motor kept me awake during the night. 4) The shower head holder was broken 5) Late rooms website indicates the pub is in Hitchin - it is not anywhere near Hitchin and cost me a fair chunk of taxi fare to get there and of course back to Hitchin the next morning. To be fair I would like to stay again but only if I had my car with me due to the remoteness and the room defects were rectified.

  • Audrey P

  • March 2014

The accommodation was very tired worn and neglected

The location was very peaceful and nice, however the room was cold and draughty.

The bathroom had black mould in the shower. Everything about the place was tired and neglected. Sack the cleaner. Also the front of the a lodge had masses of cigarette ends.

Worst place I have ever stayed in.