No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Red Lion

Not Classified  Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
Red Lion Lodge Hotel, Kings Walden Road , Hitchin, SG5 3DZ
Welcome to the Red Lion, Offley
The Red Lion is a traditional village pub in Great Offley, Hertfordshire providing quality Bed but no cooked breakfast,(cereal, tea/coffee and orange juice provided in each room). A traditional restaurant, cosy atmosphere, a fine selection of real ales, garden overlooking beautiful countryside and above all a warm and friendly welcome. As well as a fantastic pub and restaurant, we provide good value accommodation within easy reach of Luton airport.

Bed
near to Luton Airport and the Chilterns...
If you are looking for excellent value bed and breakfast accommodation within easy reach of Luton International Airport and walking in the Chilterns, you need look no further than the Red Lion at Offley.

All rooms have been recently decorated. Photos to change shortly. (26/10/10)

Picture of Red Lion, Hitchin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room very comfortable only complaint the ajoining rooms not very sound proof

Reviewed by
michael m

From Westbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money

Reviewed by
Michael

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value For Money Stay.
This is a real country pub well used by the local drinking fraternity. The staff were very friendly and helpful as were the locals. The room we had was one of four in a converted out-building - ground floor with a partial view over fields. It was away from the pub so there was no problem with noise. It was basic, a bit tired, but warm enough and clean. The twin beds were comfortable and the shower room was adequate, but a bit moldy in places. The plumbing was eccentric. Breakfast was provided in the room - cereal, fruit juice and plenty of milk, tea and coffee. We took extra fruit to supplement what was provided. We stayed just one night (a Sunday) and I would use it again for a short stay as it was very good value for money. Unfortunately they stopped serving food at 17:00 on a Sunday so we had to eat out and found a great pub serving food - The Green Man - in the village.

Reviewed by
Robert T

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

peaceful
The room has a lovely outlook over fields and is tucked away at the back of the pub; so peaceful.
The water in the bathroom sink is very hot - too hot, we felt, and needs adjusting for safety reasons.
Wednesday night is steak night so that was a bonus for us; the waitress was also serving behind the bar and clearing tables so kept busy. Reasonably priced menu and a good choice of dishes.

Reviewed by
A Pitts

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Stay
Clean comfortable room and friendly staff. Excellent pub food available in the pub in the evenings. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
M Groves

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we stayed for two nights, the people were very friendly and help full. The room was small but functional with two single beds, TV, tea making facilities, the bathroom was quite large however there was some mould in the shower cubical. The restaurant served excellent home cooked food at reasonable prices.
We will almost certainly return to the red lion next year.

Reviewed by
charlie maher

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Red Lion
Over all a nice place to stay. I used it has a stop over, but the possibilities where there. lovely country side absolutely amazing place in the country.

Reviewed by
Peter Kendall

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for the money but...
For the price it is difficult to be overly critical, however the room had a damp/musty odour. Also you can hear people in the adjacent rooms, luckily the place was not full and our neighbours were not noisy but I can imagine this would be a real headache if the place were full.

Reviewed by
Mark A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

visiting my sister
Great weekend at Red Lion Great Offley good food good wine and great entertainment on the friday night ,We will be back again Joe.Gill&Debby Hennessy.LIVERPOOL&THILL respectiveley.

Reviewed by
joseph david hennessy

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is the second time we have stayed and have booked to return in July, we found everyone to be very friendly. Accommodation was excellent.

Reviewed by
caroline s

From clacton on sea, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next