Reviews - The Star and Eagle Hotel


High Street, Goudhurst, TN17 1AL

Price From 253.93 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (11)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • c walker

  • September 2015

The Star and Eagle Hotel

excellent all around

  • Mair L

  • July 2015

A beautiful friendly place to stay

A great hotel excellent staff.

Great food with good choice and very well prepared and presented. Lovely quirky room a must to visit. Good value

  • A Cooper

  • April 2015


Had a very enjoyable stay friendly staff and very nice room would stay again

  • S Kirby

  • April 2015

Excellent hotel

A lovely hotel with attentive, friendly staff and excellent food in a great location

  • Christine B

  • March 2015

Weekend break

We were extremely pleased with the accommodation and restaurant at The Star & Eagle.

We had a very comfortable room with fabulous views over the surrounding countryside. It was very quiet. The meal we had in the restaurant was delicious with good sized portions. Definitely recommend.

  • A Flavin-Lees

  • January 2015

Great place to stay

We stayed for 1 night heading across the moors.

The room was comfortable, and the Pub was amazing, Good food and lovely welcome from all the staff and pub regulars. Would definitely call in again when passing, even if just for a drink and a chat.

  • Amy M

  • December 2014

Good old English inn

Very attractive traditional country inn with a fine location and view.

Friendly proprietor and staff and comfortable accommodation. Not cheap, but value for money.

  • Hannah S

  • August 2014

Great hotel

My husband and I were having a rare night away to celebrate our anniversary and we weren't disappointed with this hotel.

The staff were helpful and the room beautiful, if a little low-ceiling ex for my 6'2" husband!. We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious.

  • George S

  • July 2014

a very comfortable hotel

we stayed at the Eagle and Star for 4 nights in July, we had a very enjoyable stay, our room was a fair size with views over the weald of Kent, the standards of cleanliness were for the most part very high, although the bathroom did need a bit of attention around the bath fixures and the shower head constantly slipped down the pole making showering a bit of a trial, but on the plus side the towels were changed each day and the complimentry tea coffee and biscuits were replenished each day, we did have a problem at times when we opened the window, as the room was situated right above the patio area where smokers gathered especially during the evening, and cigarette smoke often drifted into our room which could be unpleasant at times.

The food in both the restaurant and bar was superb and we happily ate there for the duration of our stay. there is plenty of parking at the back of the hotel though it can be a bit confusing finding just how to get to it. Goudhurst village is a bit limited for any sightseeing as it mainly consists of a long street divided by a very busy road, so we did need to drive out every day but that said a lot of Kentish attractions are within a 10 mile radius including the pretty town of Tenterden and the beautiful NT gardens of Sissinghurst. all in all we had a very enjoyable stay

  • Peter C

  • March 2014

Charming hotel in a pretty village

This is a very charming traditional inn in a very beautiful hilltop village.

I found the rooms very comfortable. Though the main road runs past the front of the building, the double glazing kept out the noise very well - and the road was quiet at night. I enjoyed my one night stay very much.