No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Castle House Hotel

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
28 Castle Street, , , Canterbury, CT1 2PT
The Castle House is an architectural gem, built in the 1730s yet incorporating part of the Norman city walls, the Roman Worthgate and the only remaining section of the original town moat. Here, surrounded by Georgian opulence and decoration of the highest standard, you are just a few minutes short walk from the whole of the medieval city: the magnificent Cathedral; the maze of winding streets and the romantic ruins of the Castle and city walls… Book your room at the Castle and history and convenience will combine to make your stay both memorable and enjoyable. When you step inside the Castle House, you will be enraptured and ensnared by the relaxing and homely ambience. The rooms are generously proportioned, with high ceilings and large Georgian windows bathing you in light, many offering spectacular views of the Castle and the Great Cathedral itself. There is plenty of space to unwind… Most rooms are ensuite and all are decorated to the highest standards. Each provides for your every need including tea/coffee making equipment, tv. You will want for nothing to make your stay peaceful and trouble free. As well as the magnificence of your rooms, our comfortable residents lounge offers you a wonderful place to plan your day or unwind after a day’s sightseeing. Outside, our secluded private walled garden, containing the only remaining original section of the city’s once great moat, provides you with a pleasant place to reflect upon your day. Sleeping in Eighteenth Century rooms, astride a medieval wall, and with views over one of England’s most precious cities, you are staying in a special place. In the morning, your home-cooked breakfast is served in surely one of the grandest dining rooms in Kent. This is the Castle House experience you will remember again and again.
Picture of Castle House Hotel, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little tired
Although basically fine the hotel could be improved-
a choice for breakfast other than full English eg smoked salmon, cheese or omelet. An imaginative bit to tempt the palate
proper butter not spreadable - sorry I have a thing for real butter
new mattress on bed
modern decoration and soft furnishings.
That said the location was great, the people were lovely, the wifi was good and we enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
D Robertson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
An excellent, intimate hotel, within easy walking distance of Canterbury centre. Comfortable bed in a quaint bedroom, large en suite bathroom with bath and shower, robes and toiletries all of a high standard. Friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. We hope to stay again on our next visit to family and the city

Reviewed by
Gail A

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Very welcoming polite and helpful, lovely room lovely food! Very pleased

Reviewed by
Bradley Benorthan

From Maldon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel for weekend break.
Lovely hotel in an excellent position just a short walk from the city centre , the staff are friendly , the room is comfortable and clean however the room was opposite the breakfast room and was noisy on the Saturday morning with staff getting breakfast ready early could this not be done the night before ?on the plus side the breakfast was very good . Would definitely recommend to others.

Reviewed by
Sally D

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value and location

Reviewed by
A Murphy

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Nights Stay - Bank Holiday Weekend
This was a really lovely hotel. The staff were friendly and our room was gorgeous. The only downside was, as we were downstairs everytime the guests moved around upstairs we could hear everything. The food was delicious and the hotel was walking distance from the town (a few minutes)

Reviewed by
Carol C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good choice
Only there for one night so review is limited in terms of time. But the hotel was excellently located at the edge of the city walls, only 5 minutes walk from the cathedral and other city attractions, as well as the shops and restaurants. Our room was very comfortable, with a very good size en suite, and our cooked breakfast was extremely good. All the staff we encountered were very extremely courteous, efficient and friendly.

Reviewed by
Jane Chapman

From London, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

newly refurb rooms etc
good sty superb romm ...cleanliness could not be bettered...ate in the bistro ...reasonably good /breakfast excellent and a lot of choice
a little way out of whitstable but well worth it !

Reviewed by
L HOPS

From ALICANTE, Spain
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was very easy to find and had parking. The staff were friendly and helpful and our room and bathroom were both a good size. The hotel was well located by the castle wall and it was a short walk into Canterbury. I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Reviewed by
M Walker

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

convenient location and comfortable
Lovely comfortable hotel, near shops, restaurants
and attractions. Bonus to have parking but a
short walk from Canterbury East station. Beautiful city!
Friendly efficient service. Stayed in four bedroomed
annexe room.

Reviewed by
penelope h

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next