No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Birdsong Cottage

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Brownieside, Alnwick, NE67 5HW
Birdsong Cottage is situated in rural Northumberland, just outside the market town of Alnwick. It boasts access to the A1, allowing the more intrepid to explore some of Northumberland’s finest hidden gems.

There are two very comfortable rooms. "Swallows Rest" has a kingsize bed, & Rijo coffee machine - Uhm Yum,and its own private bathroom with a large Jacuzi bath.

"Haven" is detailed for complete sumptuousness & comes with its own private deck & Hot tub.

Complimentary breakfast is served to your room with a choice of Traditional Northumbrian Stottie stuffed with bacon or you may prefer a selection on warm pastries & preserves.
Picture of Birdsong Cottage, Alnwick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quaint little cottage for a short break
A great location for the main tourist locations of Northumbria.

Reviewed by
Richard E

From Faversham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent b&b
Just spent the weekend at this lovely cottage, the hosts
Gary and Amanda are fantastic everything you need is
In your room and the bathroom which has lovely body lotions
And bath salts, breakfast is a lovely bacon stottie and granola,
already trying to book again we enjoyed it that much

Reviewed by
diane wilson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little get away
I booked a night here as a surprise for my boyfriend and we both loved it. It's in a great location - quiet and out of the way but a quick 15min drive to places like Alnwick and Alnmouth. The staff are lovely and make you feel right at home. The room was very homely and the spa bath was great. Will definitely return in the future.

Reviewed by
A Park

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful haven with fantastic hosts!
We arrived at this gorgeous country cottage after a long drive, to receive the warmest of welcomes, and were made to feel immediately at home. Our room was tastefully presented and immaculately clean, coupled with countless personal touches that provided a real sense of luxury / indulgence. We could've spent days in the amazing bathroom and spa bath, which was adorned with candles, the widest selection of pampering products either of us had ever seen, and a display of spiritual, decorative items. After a good sleep in the very comfortable bed (with an optional electric blanket), our breakfast was personally delivered to the room, laid out beautifully on large tray. Blissful!

Reviewed by
John K

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What an amazing place
We stayed in the ground floor room with our own private jacuzzi , we were very impressed with the thought that had gone into everything. The bed was so comfortable and I had the best two nights sleep ever. The breakfast in bed was a really nice touch and it was all delicious. The owners were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us, we were even driven to the nearest restaurant and picked up later so we could both have a drink. We would recommend this accommodation for a romantic getaway, we will certainly visit again.

Reviewed by
Barbara N

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What an amazing place!
This is a lovely B&B. Amanda is a very welcoming host and the cottage reflects her personality. It is full of an eclectic mix of beautiful and quirky things. Our room (Swallow's Rest) was small but had everything we needed and more. I wasn't sure about our bathroom not being en suite but it was just a short way down the corridor and it was no problem as we felt as comfortable as if we had been at home.

Reviewed by
Helen B

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceeded all expectations

Reviewed by
Paul Reece Davison

From Bedlington, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at Birdsong Cottage
This is a beautiful little place - our stay was short but most enjoyable - comfortable, warm and calming. We met Amanda on our arrival and she is so down to earth, happy and helpful. Breakfast was served by her partner (sorry, never got his name) in the morning and it was lovely. I would highly recommend this gorgeous little cottage for any type of stay, but particularly if you want some peace and tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of daily life. Thank you for a most enjoyable and welcoming stay.

Reviewed by
g mcdonald

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Northumberland indulgence
Enjoyed a lovely night in a cottage.... Privacy,,,,, jacuzzi bath..... Great breakfast...... Coffee ...... Northumberland ...... Peace and quiet ..... We couldn't have asked for more.... Thank you !!!

Reviewed by
Christine S

From Wallsend, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

gorgeous relaxing bnb with amazing hot tub!
fantastic stay in a lovely bnb. host are extremely friendly and go out of their way to accommodate and make you feel welcome for a relaxing stay.
so many little touches to add to the experience the best of all being the hot tub, but also breakfast in bed, takeaway coffee
highly recommend

Reviewed by
Stephen L

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next