Reviews - Clarion Collection Buckerell Lodge


Topsham Road, Exeter, EX2 4SQ

Price From 118.96 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (97)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Frances M

  • January 2014

One night stay

The reason for my stay was to attend a family funeral nearby, so I was looking for a peaceful and quiet stay afterwards.

I'd booked a superior room which was very good and was given a choice on type of room and part of the hotel I'd prefer to be in. Reception had also, very helpfully, arranged taxis for me, when I phoned them a few hours earlier to request that. I had a room service meal which was good quality food and service, and the breakfast was very good, including freshly cooked. The hotel seemed to be quite busy (mainly business, I think), but it has a good ambience, and I'd like to stay again for a short break. Only comments - room seemed quite hot, but I could adjust the radiator and open the window. Maybe some biscuits with the tea tray?

  • Paula L

  • January 2014

Last minute booking of a hotel room in Exeter

On arrival the Hotel looked very inviting and the ample parking was welcomed.

The check in process was fairly long winded as my booking had been made online earlier in the day and the "fax" had not arrived at the reception desk. Once the receptionist went to the "office" to collect it everything went smoothly. The allocated room was number 24. Having read a review on Trip Advisor before booking the room I could not believe that I had the same room referred to in the review I read. Namely it had a light on the ceiling that flashed all night and the bathroom looked as though it had been subject to a flood at some stage and the remedial work had not been carried out. Apart from that and being told that there was not a corkscrew in the hotel and hadn't been for 5 years since the policy was changed to screw top wine bottles (can't imagine what the Wine List in the Restaurant is like!) my stay was fine. Be warned that the Restaurant closes at 8.45pm and we were not made aware of this so had to order from the Lounge Menu (they stop serving that at 9.00pm) which was actually the same as most of the Restaurant menu - all very odd. A cork screw was found in the end - although the story was it had come out of a Christmas Cracker!. I would be interested to know which brand of cracker as it was a very sturdy implement and the cracker must have been huge!.

  • John C

  • December 2013

Uninspired and poor food

I was really disappointed with the evening meal.

The soup seemed to be nothing than 'blitzed' left over vegetables and was tepid and tasteless. The duck was chewy and the noodles too greasy.

  • Tim Smith

  • December 2013

Honest review of the Buckerell Lodge Hotel in Exeter

Very warm welcome on arrival and check in was quick and easy.

The bar seemed a bit sparse in its surroundings but was clean and OK for what I wanted. Seating was not the most comfortable but again OK. Bar meal was fine and staff very pleasant. I did ask if possible to get a shirt ironed or to have an iron in room and was tld it had been left outside my room, was not there and ironing board anyway so was not of any help. No phone from room to contact reception if required. Single room was quite small but for a single night was not an issue. Bed was comfortable and I got a good nights sleep. Would use again if went back to area.


  • December 2013

Christmas Fun at the Buckerell

I booked the Buckerell for a group of friends to join the Buckerell Festive Party Night.

We had an excellent time. The “Private Function” room we were given was spacious, very well laid out and looked great. The waiters and waitresses attended to our every need and they were brilliant. Also the Gentleman who over saw the whole evening (not sure what you would call that role and I have forgotten his name) was marvellous. He explained to me everything that was going on and was always around to make sure everything was okay with us. I have been to some hotels were the staff are "overly attentive" and it becomes annoying but hte staff at the Buckerell were superb. We had the full Christmas meal (choice of the 3 options each for starters, main course and dessert). There was loads of food for everyone and the it was of an excellent standard. You certainly would not come away feeling hungry after having that meal. As you can tell I really rate this place.

  • Susan Coombe

  • November 2013

Beautiful hotel, rooms excellect, wide variety of food for breakfast and piping hot.

  • Karen T

  • November 2013

Perfect for visiting St Lukes uni students

Visiting son who is studying at St Lukes Campus and staying at Rowancroft.

Ideal hotel as only 4 min drive from his accomm and this hotel has a FREE car park which is great and so difficult to find. Arrived late (after 9 p.m.) and left by 10.30 a.m. so wasn't there for very long but great value, room clean, good clean shower. In fact, I booked a single but was upgraded to a twin. Staff were very friendly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Neil M

  • November 2013

Lodge Luxury

As good an hotel as I have stayed at and, at the weekend rates, I could almost say 'a bargain'.

The web images are very accurate and the car parking and grounds are impressive. Far enough out of the City centre to be comfortable and near enough to be convenient. All the staff were top notch and every hotel could take a leaf out The Buckerell's book. Friendly, professional, helpful, informative. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay here. The room was brilliant and a bit quirky with the bathroom up some steps. The restaurant is well planned and serves good food. The bar area is large but cosy. The keyword here though is customer service and is as high a standard as I have encountered.

  • wendy e

  • November 2013

weekend in Exeter

really comfortable

  • Christine H

  • November 2013

Buckerell Lodge Hotel in Exeter

The room was well equipped but the bathroom needed de cobwebbing and the grouting needed a clean up.

Bit short on shelving too. We complained about a door being banged below us, very early in the morning and we were promptly offered another room (upgrade). Very friendly staff. Good position for Exeter - walkable.