Reviews - Clarion Collection Buckerell Lodge


Topsham Road, Exeter, EX2 4SQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (93)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Barbara W

  • February 2014

Friday night stay before study day

A warm and efficient welcome in reception .

Small single room perfectly acceptable for the price.

  • W March

  • February 2014

Overnight Stay

I stayed at the hotel alone having taken my husband to the RD&E hospital for a small operation.

It was a little strange being alone in a double room as we are always together, however, the staff were all extremely helpful. I was asked if I could manage the stairs and did I need help with my small suitcase. Apart from the fire alarm practice I had a very good nights sleep and a thoroughly good breakfast. My husband is convalescing now, but I have promised to take him there one day. Well done and thank you to all the staff.

  • kim n

  • February 2014

Very nice would use again

Nice only downfall were costs of drink

  • J Morison

  • February 2014

One Night Stay

A comfortable stay in pleasant surroundings, Room extremely hot on arrival but eventually adjusted to a comfortable temperature.

  • Ashley M

  • February 2014

Really good quiet hotel perfect for a visit to Exeter with good transport to the rugby and city

As title


  • February 2014

Lovely place . Good service . Very helpful. Breakfast excellent.

Customer service so helpful and pleasant .beautiful scenery from room.

Breakfast so much to choose from and cooked breakfast hot. Cleanliness good. Staff very friendly and any request no problem Qquality of room could do with a lick of paint and beware of wheels on bed bit dangerous when not expecting bed to move when sit on it.!!!

  • j papper

  • February 2014

convenient location friendly staff

afternoon tea/cream teas are a very good price and very filling.

breakfast was average - the same as many hotel mass offerings

  • A Taylor

  • January 2014

older single lady traveling alone

Traveling to Exeter from USA in January, to visit elderly relative in hospital, I spent six nights at this hotel.

The most important feature for me was that I felt safe. The staff were pleasant and helpful, the rooms were clean and food was available all day and night. It was also extremely easy to get into Exeter city centre on the buses which ran frequently.

  • Frances M

  • January 2014

One night stay

The reason for my stay was to attend a family funeral nearby, so I was looking for a peaceful and quiet stay afterwards.

I'd booked a superior room which was very good and was given a choice on type of room and part of the hotel I'd prefer to be in. Reception had also, very helpfully, arranged taxis for me, when I phoned them a few hours earlier to request that. I had a room service meal which was good quality food and service, and the breakfast was very good, including freshly cooked. The hotel seemed to be quite busy (mainly business, I think), but it has a good ambience, and I'd like to stay again for a short break. Only comments - room seemed quite hot, but I could adjust the radiator and open the window. Maybe some biscuits with the tea tray?

  • Paula L

  • January 2014

Last minute booking of a hotel room in Exeter

On arrival the Hotel looked very inviting and the ample parking was welcomed.

The check in process was fairly long winded as my booking had been made online earlier in the day and the "fax" had not arrived at the reception desk. Once the receptionist went to the "office" to collect it everything went smoothly. The allocated room was number 24. Having read a review on Trip Advisor before booking the room I could not believe that I had the same room referred to in the review I read. Namely it had a light on the ceiling that flashed all night and the bathroom looked as though it had been subject to a flood at some stage and the remedial work had not been carried out. Apart from that and being told that there was not a corkscrew in the hotel and hadn't been for 5 years since the policy was changed to screw top wine bottles (can't imagine what the Wine List in the Restaurant is like!) my stay was fine. Be warned that the Restaurant closes at 8.45pm and we were not made aware of this so had to order from the Lounge Menu (they stop serving that at 9.00pm) which was actually the same as most of the Restaurant menu - all very odd. A cork screw was found in the end - although the story was it had come out of a Christmas Cracker!. I would be interested to know which brand of cracker as it was a very sturdy implement and the cracker must have been huge!.