Reviews - Clarion Collection Buckerell Lodge


Topsham Road, Exeter, EX2 4SQ

Price From 93.82 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (93)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • caroline a

  • December 2014

Very Good Value for Money

Smart and commfortable accommodation, excellent location and food.


  • December 2014


A superb room, most comfortable bed ever, great facilities, food at an affordable price.

  • A Rawlinson

  • December 2014

Shakey start but o.k. in the end!

At check in although an A4 notice was on the counter our attention was not drawn to it.

An office xmas doo for 100 + disco till midnight - we were right next door. Reception apologised & offered to move us but was already 10pm. We went to work half dead the next morning, as recompense we were offered breakfast in bed and a late check after our 2nd night which we found very satisfactory, the staff member who dealt with this was outstanding.

  • H King

  • December 2014

What I'd expect for the price

Nice room, helpful staff on front desk.

Kept awake by an intermittent tapping noise - possibly central heating pipes.

  • Kay N

  • December 2014

Perfect position short walk or bus ride to Exeter city centre with excellent parking.

Staff were very helpful and friendly. Thoroughly enjoyable stay. Would stay again if in Exeter.

  • M Perry-Smith

  • December 2014

Great location for SHOPPING

Pleasant friendly staff, clean comfortable room though kingsize bed was 2 singles put together and didn't feel like the superior room we had booked & good food & service

Great day in a good location for the town with easy busy route & a stop right outside the hotel

  • S boyce

  • December 2014

Staff very lovely.

Will come and stay again in new year

  • Bev Francis

  • December 2014

Nice people, nice place, shame about the price of food and drink

Really nice friendly staff who made us feel very welcome.

The location is great and not far from the city centre and a taxi costs £7:00 to get you there.the gardens are well kept and looked really nice. The room was clean and tidy (except for the mould around the bath) and was lovely and warm. The bed was comfortable, but on casters, so when we both sat up in bed it rolled away front the wall!!. On the first night we opted to eat at the hotel, to start I had deep fried Brie, it came to the table cold, and the middle was ice cold. For the main course I had breast of chicken (it came with a bone in it, unusual for breast ) and it came on a square of partner had Duck as the main course and was cooked beautifully and tasted lovely. However we had to share a very small bowl of veg, it came out at £47:00, overpriced for what we had. We then went to the bar and had a pint of cider and a large glass of Pinot Grigio for £10:50. Needless to say the next night we took a taxi to the Mill on the Exe pub, had a meal, three drinks and a taxi back for the same amount we spent in the hotel, and did not go to bed hungry. In short, stay at the lodge, but eat and drink elsewhere.

  • Graham Hudson

  • November 2014

Huddy's Points.

Spot on for what I wanted.

Very expensive for 1 rep, 1 night,£103 with breakfast. £75 is the normal asking price. Staff very helpful .

  • Natasha H

  • November 2014

Nice enough, not 4* though

Easy to find, easy to park.

Check in & out was swift and easy. Staff were all very polite and helpful. A credit. Room very clean except for the walls, they just appeared grubby with marks & splashes, this was not just in my room. In the corridors to the rooms also. Bed very comfy and was warm once the heating had been switched on. Towels were large and soft which is always a big bonus. Evening meal was ok but choices were limited to either fried or had cheese on them. Breakfast coffee was superb, toast burnt and the sausage I would have to say was the worst I have ever had. Clearly the sausage was not a cheap one but it was for me not at all nice. Seemed to be like a perfumed small sausgae. Wifi was free and could connect to several devices, just a shame it would constantly drop in and out. Overall the hotel did exactly what I needed for the night, may stay again if was for work but would not pay for the breakfast and go out for my evening meal.