Reviews - Clarion Collection Buckerell Lodge


Topsham Road, Exeter, EX2 4SQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (93)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Lasse S

  • July 2015

Staff will go out of their way to help you

  • S Elias

  • July 2015

Nice, quiet hotel near city centre

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

It's nicely appointed, with comfortable rooms and very friendly, helpful staff. The breakfast was done to order and very tasty. The cost of the room was less than most motorway chain hotels. We'd definitely come back here again!

  • Julia F

  • July 2015

Clarion Collection Buckerell Lodge

Unfortunately our stay was tarnished by damage to our car whilst parked in the hotel car park.

Another guest has scraped our car as they reversed from the space adjacent to ours and had then driven off without reporting the incident to Reception. When my husband went in to Reception to report the incident he was told that several guests had already checked out and it could have been any one of them but there was nothing the hotel could do.


  • June 2015

Buckerell Lodge Review

I left some comments in the room, and noted it was better that than leaving a review on Trip Advisor, but no-one has responded.

The position is good and although on a main road, it is quiet and has a large car park. It worked well for our forays into the town and country on our bikes. The receptionist was helpful but better local maps would have been good. Our 'Superior' room was small but fine,

but not 4*

The robes were nice and the bathroom a good size. The toiletries were SLS and Paraben free, which was pleasing

Although clean, it needed a make over with battered bath panels. The lamination at the bottom of the door was peeling away. The electric towel rail gurgled all night

The nearby room doors when opening and closing sound very close,

so sound proofing would be suggestion. The breakfast could be improved by a greater range of self service items. The tea and coffee were both undrinkable. The coffee was weak and stale, the tea was like dishwater. If only the Twinning teabags had been used as offered in the room which made a good cup. We asked for a second (catering) teabag to go in the small teapot

but all that arrived was a larger teapot with 2 teabags in, which was just as weak.

  • Richard P

  • May 2015

Very helpful receptionist

The receptionist who checked us in on arrival was very friendly and helpful.

  • bea s

  • May 2015

Clarion Collection Buckerell Lodge

Very beautifully laid out and comfortable.

The breakfast was poor, could be improved with quality food.

  • john f

  • May 2015


The castors on the beds need locks, the bed moved very freely if an elderley customer tried to sit on the bed it would have moved causing the customer to fall.

If i sat up in bed and leant against the headboard the bed moved. This cannot be safe

  • Suzy C

  • May 2015

Good value for money

Clean and comfy room.

My only comment would be that my toast was burnt, but the waitress did apologise. Best would be just not to serve it. Otherwise all was fine. Would stay again.

  • Amanda Waldron

  • May 2015

Clarion Collection Buckerell Lodge

Great accommodation, but mattress uncomfortable and bed kept sliding out from wall.

Woke in the night with pillows lost down the back of the bed. Restaurant food and service was excellent

  • Paul Stanton

  • April 2015

Clarion Collection Buckerell Lodge

Service staff very good.