No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Buckerell Lodge Hotel in Exeter

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Topsham Road , Exeter, EX2 4SQ
This relaxing and comfortable 4 star hotel has all the charms of a country house setting just 1 mile from Exeter city centre. Set within four acres of mature tree lined gardens and grounds shielding visitors fom the outside world, the Buckerell Lodge is an elegant building that provides a personal and professional service, with the benefit of FREE Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi. The 54 en-suite bedrooms are suitably decorated to an excellent standard in a contemporary style with warmth, comfort and rest being a priority. All bedrooms are well equipped with wall mounted flat-screen TVs, laptop safes, wi-fi access, comfortable bed linen and immaculate en-suite bathrooms, with chrome fittings and high-polished granite tops. A delicious range of food & drink is served all day in the garden, bar, lounge and restaurant, in addition to 24-hour room service. The lounge bar is a favourite spot for many visitors to the hotel, flooded with natural daylight and views of the gardens, and equipped with a 42" flat-screen TV showing the latest national and international news. This hotel boasts a broad and eclectic base of loyal customers who enjoy returning for business and for pleasure. Stay at the Buckerell Lodge Hotel for your summer break and visit the nearby coastline, National Trust properties, city summer festivals and more.
Picture of Buckerell Lodge Hotel in Exeter, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 134 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very nice experience
In general a very nice experience.
We went to the hotel to get away from the general area of london, work and all associated pressures.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was very nice. We were mainly left alone and there were none of the disturbances that I would expect with most hotels which was nice. The cleaning staff were also not trying to get into the room at 10AM, which was refreshing and helpful and enabled us to lay in! We even got a complimentary Margaret Thatcher memorial newspaper!
We spent a little extra and went for an executive room, which was very nice and worthwhile. It was a bright airy duel aspect room within the old part of the property. The fittings were all A1 and the decor was nice, so all very impressive.
The breakfast was great, no complaints there and the staff were even polite to some fellow travellers who arrived 2 minutes before meal closing time, which i might not have been in their position.
The bar was also nice in the evenings and I felt that they stocked a good variety of refreshment.
The only recommendations / ways that this could have been improved:
Some kind of way to cool down the room a fan or some such perhaps, I can see that the rooms might get a bit hot in the summer / mornings.
Additionally the only other very slight niggle was some confetti under the bed noticed when it got moved slightly, obviously from a previous visitor...(the missus mentioned this) but hey we are all human and other than these 2 very minor bits i'd say this was a great break away. Would go back again.

Reviewed by
Peter H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom and heating
We had problems with the cistern and radiator and slept very little the first night. However, the reception staff were very helpful and got these fixed for the second night.

Reviewed by
Steve M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money hotel
Ample off road parking, clean and pleasant rooms with an excellent restaurant and attentive staff

Reviewed by
Howard Scott

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

evening food wasn't very good
Check in OK, good parking. Room cleanish (Bath panels needed good scrub) but rest was comfortable and OK. Very noisy room next door at 2am!. Discovered in the morning the bath didn't drain away as the knob to lift plug hole stopper didn't appear to be connected.
Food.
Chose the 2 course and a glass of wine for £17 evening meal deal. Served slightly stale bread and oils whilst choosing, starter was poached pear on a sald which was ok . From there on it went downhill.
Main course was goats cheese and caramalised betroot in a filo pastry with chips and side salad.
Chips were like fish fingers, which was the best part. The goats cheese and beetroot had solidified in the bottom of the pastry and when you hacked down to it it came out in one congealed lump. Salad was pretty tasteless.
Breakfast for £10 was reasonable, tasteless watery poached eggs but mini chips and bacon were ok.

Final comment 2% charge for credit cards which is a first for me.......
I would stay there again (as I'm on business expenses) but not eat there.

Reviewed by
s ward

From Kingswinford, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Evening meal was poor and sent back, to which we heard kitchen staff saying they would spit on our breakfast, a point we raised with restaurant manager who only apologised after being prompted

Reviewed by
Iain S

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
This is an ok place to stay if you don't mind a tired room with no features. There was only 1 television channel available, the wifi only worked 20% of the time, the curtains were hanging off the rail and the heating was stuck up high so we had to have the window open all the time - not great when its wet and windy outside. Got woken up by rowdy guests running around the corridors at 2:30am. It wasn't all bad, the parking was good. One thing to note, it's quite a walk to the centre of Exeter but there are good bus links available.

Reviewed by
S Johnston

From York, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Stay
This is a really nice hotel. Very pleasant staff and a good location. Room was a decent size and nice and quiet. Wine and Dine deal for dinner was good value at £39 for two of us, which included two courses and a bottle of wine.

Reviewed by
David C

From Bellshill, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant location and good value
The hotel room was attractively decorated and met all our needs. Breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
Christine J

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Continued good service
Having stayed in this hotel once before I was surprised to find no wardrobe in this room and only 2 hangers on hooks on the wall. I asked for 2 more but none materialised. However as i was visiting family I borrowed from them instead. I dont see this as a serious issue as the room was at a bargain price for my stay. Apart from that - having a 4 foot bed for me, as single traveller, was a luxury I look forward to again when there is a bargain room going. Thanks

Reviewed by
Karen N

From Sidcup, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was noisy due to being on the front of the hotel and very hot. Breakfast was OK but took a little too long to arrive and was not as hot as it could have been.
Staff were friendly and generally efficient, parking was free, unlike other hotels nearby.

Reviewed by
D Quinn

From CONGLETON, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.