Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Exeter Hotels > Clarion Collection Buckerell Lodge
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clarion Collection Buckerell Lodge

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Topsham Road , Exeter, EX2 4SQ
This relaxing and comfortable 4 star hotel has all the charms of a country house setting just 1 mile from Exeter city centre. Set within four acres of mature tree lined gardens and grounds shielding visitors fom the outside world, the Buckerell Lodge is an elegant building that provides a personal and professional service, with the benefit of FREE Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi. The 54 en-suite bedrooms are suitably decorated to an excellent standard in a contemporary style with warmth, comfort and rest being a priority. All bedrooms are well equipped with wall mounted flat-screen TVs, laptop safes, wi-fi access, comfortable bed linen and immaculate en-suite bathrooms, with chrome fittings and high-polished granite tops. A delicious range of food & drink is served all day in the garden, bar, lounge and restaurant, in addition to 24-hour room service. The lounge bar is a favourite spot for many visitors to the hotel, flooded with natural daylight and views of the gardens, and equipped with a 42" flat-screen TV showing the latest national and international news. This hotel boasts a broad and eclectic base of loyal customers who enjoy returning for business and for pleasure. Stay at the Buckerell Lodge Hotel for your summer break and visit the nearby coastline, National Trust properties, city summer festivals and more.
Picture of Clarion Collection Buckerell Lodge, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 120 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What I needed for a quick overnight stop, but 3 star only
I booked for 1 night, single room. The bed was comfortable, and slept well, but the room itself was very small (not even enough space for a cupboard). The bathroom needs a very deep clean (mould on tiles and soapscum too), plus looks a bit tired.
Wifi worked fine on my iPhone and laptop, but kept dropping out on my iPad.
The communal areas are a shocking pink colour, and look a little dated. Doors are scuffed, marks on walls etc.
Breakfast service was good, with a great range of breakfast options.
Overall what I needed for a 1 night business trip. There are worse hotels around, and this one just needs a bit of love from the housekeeping and decorating teams.

Reviewed by
Liam T

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good, not far as you thought
easy to find, easy to get to city center. nice service.

Reviewed by
LONG ZHANG

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My wife and I made a hurried last minute visit to a relative in Exeter. We enjoyed our short stay at Buckerel Lodge, which is quietly positioned in good grounds off the Topsham Rd

Reviewed by
s rudman

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service Best Feature
No complaints at all about service both at reception and for breakfast. We also left something behind that the staff looked after for us until we could collect - thanks again for that! Good size room and clean. oBut it's an older building with all that entails. We were upstairs with no lift, windows were not double-glazed and our room backed on to some sort of plant that hummed all the time, including all night. Not terribly loud, but audible. With windows shut we could use the air con, but this hummed louder than the other. Quite a decent breakfast menu but quality was variable.

Reviewed by
L Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Buckerell Lodge Stay
Greeted by very friendly and helpful receptionists. Clean and pleasant room.
Only negative. Ground floor rooms joist due to very squeaky floorboards upstairs

Reviewed by
R Duncan

From Milford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Size of room was very good for a standard double.

Reviewed by
Martin M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, however we were disappointed that on the Saturday evening a private party had booked the restaurant (for the whole evening) and the only place to eat was the bar area, this would have been ok but a wedding party was also present using the bar, I felt like a goldfish in a bowl whilst eating my meal with everyone mingling around us. Some prior notice would have been welcome so that we could have eaten elsewhere in Exeter. We would stay again, but we would check the hotels engagements beforehand. Food and service at mealtimes was very good.
We really enjoyed our very powerful shower (the best in any hotel that we have stayed in before)

Reviewed by
H McMahon

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average hotel experience
Lumpy duvets. Poor shower. Rotting bath panel. Too busy breakfast due to coach parties though breakfast good. A it functional .

Reviewed by
John H

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Usual High Standard
Travelling alone can mean being in a small room in a badly placed part of a hotel, BUT NOT HERE! That's why I always stay at Buckerell Lodge, comfortable beds, good food, good service, etc.

Reviewed by
K Nicholls

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

exeter hotel
Well situated
good rooms
pleasant Garden surroundings
easy parking
Staff pleasant and helpful only negative , wedding party noise below room , abated at 12 and hotel compensated with breakfast. A good , satisfactory base for exploring the area

Reviewed by
Peter Earle

From Brackley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next