Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Exeter Hotels > Clarion Collection Buckerell Lodge
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clarion Collection Buckerell Lodge

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Topsham Road , Exeter, EX2 4SQ
This relaxing and comfortable 4 star hotel has all the charms of a country house setting just 1 mile from Exeter city centre. Set within four acres of mature tree lined gardens and grounds shielding visitors fom the outside world, the Buckerell Lodge is an elegant building that provides a personal and professional service, with the benefit of FREE Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi. The 54 en-suite bedrooms are suitably decorated to an excellent standard in a contemporary style with warmth, comfort and rest being a priority. All bedrooms are well equipped with wall mounted flat-screen TVs, laptop safes, wi-fi access, comfortable bed linen and immaculate en-suite bathrooms, with chrome fittings and high-polished granite tops. A delicious range of food & drink is served all day in the garden, bar, lounge and restaurant, in addition to 24-hour room service. The lounge bar is a favourite spot for many visitors to the hotel, flooded with natural daylight and views of the gardens, and equipped with a 42" flat-screen TV showing the latest national and international news. This hotel boasts a broad and eclectic base of loyal customers who enjoy returning for business and for pleasure. Stay at the Buckerell Lodge Hotel for your summer break and visit the nearby coastline, National Trust properties, city summer festivals and more.
Picture of Clarion Collection Buckerell Lodge, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 128 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip Exeter
The hotel was clean and comfortable, the food was of a good standard mobile connection is limited and was very costly to use hotel phone, so strongly recommend that you do not use the hotel phone facilities.

Reviewed by
Elaine Gibson

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A truly beautiful hotel
We loved our stay at the Buckerell lodge. You would never know you are in Exeter. The grounds are like a park. So close to walking the canal.
From the moment we arrived we were treated like friends.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
We stayed with my working canine partner and he was accepted without hesitation.
The rooms are well designed and comfortable.
The beds are some of the best I have stayed in in hotels.
We shall return.

Reviewed by
G Hilling

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't change a thing doll face

Reviewed by
Chris B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room I had was small and had a generator outside the window so you couldn't open the window for fresh air. There was air conditioning in the room. The room was clean but there was no wardrobe or coat hangers just two hooks on the wall so I couldn't hang my suit. The toilet flush was very noisy and the pipes were noisy for ages after. The food when it came was good but the service was very slow for dinner and breakfast, they appeared to be understaffed. I would stay again as it was close to my place of business but would not choose to stay for a city break.

Reviewed by
Hilary E

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Buckerell Lodge...mixed feelings
I left a comment card at the hotel....I quote...one of the shower taps kept falling off..one of the lights on the wall in the bathroom didn't work......the tea/coffee/kettle was put under a shelf which I kept banging my head on and under the shelf it was very dark so trouble seeing what you were doing. No fridge in room, the bed could have been softer and maybe another pillow or two. Apart from that, it was quiet, warm, all the linen was clean, the staff were very helpful and the food was really good. Breakfast was included in the price so I suppose £55 per night was a good price, pity about they didn't keep up to speed with the repairs.

Reviewed by
Valerie Kitchen

From East Cowes, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Good value for money, all staff very curtious and helpful. Check in and out swift. Only once suggestion for improvement - provide coat hangers in the room

Reviewed by
S Symon

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
I have stayed he twice in two months and would recommend it to others.

Reviewed by
simon saunders

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming hotel
An ideal location for the city centre, with the character of a country hotel. Clean comfortable and friendly service, but room too hot and very creaky floorboards, endless small flights of stairs.

Reviewed by
Christine W

From Torpoint, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single rooms
Single rooms are always the worst in any hotel, this one at the back was noisy with hotel heating etc.
but it had a good bathroom and accommodation was adequate
I would however praise the meal and room service, an excellent salad served politely and well.

Reviewed by
M Goodlock

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing bad to say
Very pleasant hotel in decent surroundings. good value, clean and freindly. Walls made of brick and relatively soundproof

Reviewed by
Harvey C

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next