No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Buckerell Lodge Hotel in Exeter

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Topsham Road , Exeter, EX2 4SQ
This relaxing and comfortable 4 star hotel has all the charms of a country house setting just 1 mile from Exeter city centre. Set within four acres of mature tree lined gardens and grounds shielding visitors fom the outside world, the Buckerell Lodge is an elegant building that provides a personal and professional service, with the benefit of FREE Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi. The 54 en-suite bedrooms are suitably decorated to an excellent standard in a contemporary style with warmth, comfort and rest being a priority. All bedrooms are well equipped with wall mounted flat-screen TVs, laptop safes, wi-fi access, comfortable bed linen and immaculate en-suite bathrooms, with chrome fittings and high-polished granite tops. A delicious range of food & drink is served all day in the garden, bar, lounge and restaurant, in addition to 24-hour room service. The lounge bar is a favourite spot for many visitors to the hotel, flooded with natural daylight and views of the gardens, and equipped with a 42" flat-screen TV showing the latest national and international news. This hotel boasts a broad and eclectic base of loyal customers who enjoy returning for business and for pleasure. Stay at the Buckerell Lodge Hotel for your summer break and visit the nearby coastline, National Trust properties, city summer festivals and more.
Picture of Buckerell Lodge Hotel in Exeter, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 127 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 Night Business Trip
The customer service and food were excellent. The room was a little damp as window was left open before I arrived, but the room was clean and the facilities were great.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future. Kind regards, John McKitterick, General Manager

Reviewed by
Matthew B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our break of journey from Solihull toSt. Ives

Reviewed by
R Canin

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite what was expected
certainly better than a premier Inn. But, First impressions, receptionist should STOP biting her nails as she is the 'face' of the hotel. Room carpet had not been hoovered. Bath panel and the ceiling were damp from a leak of some sort. breakfast was not good, coffee was weak. But the woman serving us was fabulous.
3 funeral wakes were being held in the afternoon of our stay and as such the staff could not cope with serving our lunches. All were wrong and the bar staff did not speak English....

Reviewed by
Emma Brooker

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not up to 4**** as advertised
Room a good size but lacked little refinements such as tissues and biscuits. TV not user friendly and not fully updated for Freeview. Confusion over room service breakfast which did not arrive until we phoned reception and then wasn't quite right. Also wedding party took over hotel on second night - ok, but a warning would have been appreciated. Staff pleasant and helpful but seemed overworked and at times overwhelmed. All above comments passed on yo hotel on leaving.

Reviewed by
Michael L

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lodge Luxury
As good an hotel as I have stayed at and, at the weekend rates, I could almost say 'a bargain'. The web images are very accurate and the car parking and grounds are impressive. Far enough out of the City centre to be comfortable and near enough to be convenient. All the staff were top notch and every hotel could take a leaf out The Buckerell's book. Friendly, professional, helpful, informative. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay here. The room was brilliant and a bit quirky with the bathroom up some steps. The restaurant is well planned and serves good food. The bar area is large but cosy. The keyword here though is customer service and is as high a standard as I have encountered.

Reviewed by
Neil M

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expensive for what you got
Staff were very pleasant, but the cost for just a room no breakfast was quite expensive. Flashing light in room all night from what source I am not sure but was very irritating.

Reviewed by
Julie C

From Bruton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A single night stay
Very pleasant overnight stay. Provided late night sandwich despite kitchen being closed. Good breakfast. Very comfy bed. I would certainly recommend the Buckley Lodge.

Reviewed by
K Taylor

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
We have recently stayed overnight at Buckerell Lodge and found the room to be clean and spacious. The shower wasn't very powerful but was adequate. There was a good selection on offer for breakfast.

Reviewed by
C Valentine

From Basingstoke, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What I needed for a quick overnight stop, but 3 star only
I booked for 1 night, single room. The bed was comfortable, and slept well, but the room itself was very small (not even enough space for a cupboard). The bathroom needs a very deep clean (mould on tiles and soapscum too), plus looks a bit tired.
Wifi worked fine on my iPhone and laptop, but kept dropping out on my iPad.
The communal areas are a shocking pink colour, and look a little dated. Doors are scuffed, marks on walls etc.
Breakfast service was good, with a great range of breakfast options.
Overall what I needed for a 1 night business trip. There are worse hotels around, and this one just needs a bit of love from the housekeeping and decorating teams.

Reviewed by
Liam T

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good, not far as you thought
easy to find, easy to get to city center. nice service.

Reviewed by
LONG ZHANG

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next