No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Buckerell Lodge Hotel in Exeter

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Topsham Road , Exeter, EX2 4SQ
This relaxing and comfortable 4 star hotel has all the charms of a country house setting just 1 mile from Exeter city centre. Set within four acres of mature tree lined gardens and grounds shielding visitors fom the outside world, the Buckerell Lodge is an elegant building that provides a personal and professional service, with the benefit of FREE Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi. The 54 en-suite bedrooms are suitably decorated to an excellent standard in a contemporary style with warmth, comfort and rest being a priority. All bedrooms are well equipped with wall mounted flat-screen TVs, laptop safes, wi-fi access, comfortable bed linen and immaculate en-suite bathrooms, with chrome fittings and high-polished granite tops. A delicious range of food & drink is served all day in the garden, bar, lounge and restaurant, in addition to 24-hour room service. The lounge bar is a favourite spot for many visitors to the hotel, flooded with natural daylight and views of the gardens, and equipped with a 42" flat-screen TV showing the latest national and international news. This hotel boasts a broad and eclectic base of loyal customers who enjoy returning for business and for pleasure. Stay at the Buckerell Lodge Hotel for your summer break and visit the nearby coastline, National Trust properties, city summer festivals and more.
Picture of Buckerell Lodge Hotel in Exeter, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 127 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
I stayed at the hotel alone having taken my husband to the RD&E hospital for a small operation. It was a little strange being alone in a double room as we are always together, however, the staff were all extremely helpful. I was asked if I could manage the stairs and did I need help with my small suitcase. Apart from the fire alarm practice I had a very good nights sleep and a thoroughly good breakfast. My husband is convalescing now, but I have promised to take him there one day. Well done and thank you to all the staff.

Reviewed by
W March

From Budleigh Salterton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Stay
A comfortable stay in pleasant surroundings, Room extremely hot on arrival but eventually adjusted to a comfortable temperature.

Reviewed by
J Morison

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice would use again
Nice only downfall were costs of drink

Reviewed by
kim n

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good quiet hotel perfect for a visit to Exeter with good transport to the rugby and city
As title

Reviewed by
Ashley M

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place . Good service . Very helpful. Breakfast excellent.
Customer service so helpful and pleasant .beautiful scenery from room. Breakfast so much to choose from and cooked breakfast hot. Cleanliness good. Staff very friendly and any request no problem Qquality of room could do with a lick of paint and beware of wheels on bed bit dangerous when not expecting bed to move when sit on it.!!!

Reviewed by
L REDMAN

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

convenient location friendly staff
afternoon tea/cream teas are a very good price and very filling.
breakfast was average - the same as many hotel mass offerings

Reviewed by
j papper

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

older single lady traveling alone
Traveling to Exeter from USA in January, to visit elderly relative in hospital, I spent six nights at this hotel. The most important feature for me was that I felt safe. The staff were pleasant and helpful, the rooms were clean and food was available all day and night. It was also extremely easy to get into Exeter city centre on the buses which ran frequently.

Reviewed by
A Taylor

From Peachtree City, USA
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
The reason for my stay was to attend a family funeral nearby, so I was looking for a peaceful and quiet stay afterwards. I'd booked a superior room which was very good and was given a choice on type of room and part of the hotel I'd prefer to be in. Reception had also, very helpfully, arranged taxis for me, when I phoned them a few hours earlier to request that. I had a room service meal which was good quality food and service, and the breakfast was very good, including freshly cooked.
The hotel seemed to be quite busy (mainly business, I think), but it has a good ambience, and I'd like to stay again for a short break. Only comments - room seemed quite hot, but I could adjust the radiator and open the window. Maybe some biscuits with the tea tray?

Reviewed by
Frances M

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking of a hotel room in Exeter
On arrival the Hotel looked very inviting and the ample parking was welcomed. The check in process was fairly long winded as my booking had been made online earlier in the day and the "fax" had not arrived at the reception desk. Once the receptionist went to the "office" to collect it everything went smoothly. The allocated room was number 24. Having read a review on Trip Advisor before booking the room I could not believe that I had the same room referred to in the review I read. Namely it had a light on the ceiling that flashed all night and the bathroom looked as though it had been subject to a flood at some stage and the remedial work had not been carried out. Apart from that and being told that there was not a corkscrew in the hotel and hadn't been for 5 years since the policy was changed to screw top wine bottles (can't imagine what the Wine List in the Restaurant is like!) my stay was fine. Be warned that the Restaurant closes at 8.45pm and we were not made aware of this so had to order from the Lounge Menu (they stop serving that at 9.00pm) which was actually the same as most of the Restaurant menu - all very odd. A cork screw was found in the end - although the story was it had come out of a Christmas Cracker!! I would be interested to know which brand of cracker as it was a very sturdy implement and the cracker must have been huge!!

Reviewed by
Paula L

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Uninspired and poor food
I was really disappointed with the evening meal. The soup seemed to be nothing than 'blitzed' left over vegetables and was tepid and tasteless. The duck was chewy and the noodles too greasy.

Reviewed by
John C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next