No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Buckerell Lodge Hotel in Exeter

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Topsham Road , Exeter, EX2 4SQ
This relaxing and comfortable 4 star hotel has all the charms of a country house setting just 1 mile from Exeter city centre. Set within four acres of mature tree lined gardens and grounds shielding visitors fom the outside world, the Buckerell Lodge is an elegant building that provides a personal and professional service, with the benefit of FREE Car Parking and FREE Wi-Fi. The 54 en-suite bedrooms are suitably decorated to an excellent standard in a contemporary style with warmth, comfort and rest being a priority. All bedrooms are well equipped with wall mounted flat-screen TVs, laptop safes, wi-fi access, comfortable bed linen and immaculate en-suite bathrooms, with chrome fittings and high-polished granite tops. A delicious range of food & drink is served all day in the garden, bar, lounge and restaurant, in addition to 24-hour room service. The lounge bar is a favourite spot for many visitors to the hotel, flooded with natural daylight and views of the gardens, and equipped with a 42" flat-screen TV showing the latest national and international news. This hotel boasts a broad and eclectic base of loyal customers who enjoy returning for business and for pleasure. Stay at the Buckerell Lodge Hotel for your summer break and visit the nearby coastline, National Trust properties, city summer festivals and more.
Picture of Buckerell Lodge Hotel in Exeter, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 131 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room required a call to House Manager who very promptly adjusted the fault...with a huge smile...Thank you...Food good as always, big thank you.Very friendly attentive staff and the versitle guests made for a good evening in the bar..

Reviewed by
Cliff R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended
Quiet room, free wifi, lovely outlook over mature gardens, helpful staff - bonus offer of 1 night free

Reviewed by
Sally C

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good clean spacious room and comfy bed., poltite and friendly staff

Reviewed by
annie c

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Break
Very convenient for Exeter city centre and surrounding countryside. Primarily a corporate hotel but quite suitable for the leisure traveller. Room only so cannot comment on food.

Reviewed by
Matthew C

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good quality hotel if a little expensive

Reviewed by
D Kelleher

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Going solo
Very pleased with my room, booked a single at the flexible rate / best available and got a double.
Comfy bed and quiet location made for a good nights sleep
Attractive gardens
This hotel has a nice friendly feel and as. Solo female traveller I found it very welcoming

Reviewed by
katherine B

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Stay was good, staff just lack attention and a bit of snap

Reviewed by
Michael T

From Tiverton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Buckerell Lodge
Nice people, dated hotel, with half decent food - if travelling on business not bad value for money but if for leisure I am sure there are cheaper and better places to eat/stay.

Reviewed by
JEREMY P

From WELWYN GARDEN CITY, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip Exeter
The hotel was clean and comfortable, the food was of a good standard mobile connection is limited and was very costly to use hotel phone, so strongly recommend that you do not use the hotel phone facilities.

Reviewed by
Elaine Gibson

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A truly beautiful hotel
We loved our stay at the Buckerell lodge. You would never know you are in Exeter. The grounds are like a park. So close to walking the canal.
From the moment we arrived we were treated like friends.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
We stayed with my working canine partner and he was accepted without hesitation.
The rooms are well designed and comfortable.
The beds are some of the best I have stayed in in hotels.
We shall return.

Reviewed by
G Hilling

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next