No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Coach House

4AA Assessed Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
39 NORTHGATE STREET , CHESTER, CH1 2HQ
The Coach House Hotel is a beautifully refurbished nineteenth century coaching inn in the heart of Chester city centre, next to the architecturally acclaimed Town Hall and fascinating cathedral. The Coach House Hotel Chester has nine en-suite bedrooms, as well as a restaurant and bar serving delicious, traditional British cuisine using the finest local ingredients.

The theme throughout this popular Chester hotel and restaurant is tradition brought up to date, with the combination of classic and contemporary seen in both the decor and the menu. With an emphasis on quality service, food and presentation, you’ll find The Coach House will suit many diverse occasions. Contact us now to see how we can help you to plan your event. Whether you want to celebrate a special occasion, have a quick business lunch or just relax by the fire with the newspaper and a pint of local ale, we are sure you will agree The Coach House is the perfect location.
Picture of The Coach House, CHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 110 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay at The Coach House
We stayed here for one night for my 30th and were not disappointed. Upon arrival we ate lunch in the bar and this was lovely. The bar looks great and has a good atmosphere.
Our room was ready early and the service was friendly when we checked in. The room was really spacious and had a nice modern decor. The bathroom was lovely, had a brilliant double shower and looked like it was quite new.
We were at the back of the hotel so had a view of the bus station and were right next to the police station. This was a little noisy in the day but what do you expect in the town centre. This did not bother us in the slightest, as the location and convenience of the hotel was great.
There were a few options for breakfast, we opted for the full English which was tasty. The dining room was light and airy.
There was a side door to the hotel for quests only which was really handy, as you didn't have to keep walking through the bar, and it gave you 24 hour access if you were having a late night out.
All in all, we had a great stay and would recommend The Coach House.

Reviewed by
Carly T

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Staff - Very Friendly - Excellent Food - Room Could be Cleaner
I stayed here for 2 nights with my partner for our anniversary, and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was incredible. Not only did they allow us to eat our 3 course dinner in our room, at no extra room service cost; they also gave us free jugs of ice when our room was too hot.
The food was incredible and I would certainly recommend the steak and ale pie!! The food could not be faulted in the slightest, it was hearty, warm and definitely filling.
There was plenty of toilet roll, towels, hand soap, shower gel and shampoo in the bathroom. Plenty of tea bags, coffee, sugar and biscuits on the tea-tray. 2 Glasses and a jug in the room that the staff were more than happy to fill with ice water for us.
The bed was huge, as was the room, we were in Room 4. It was incredibly comfortable and there was plenty of lighting to suit the mood.
My only tiny little qualm is that the fan that was provided in the room was very dirty, and had not been cleaned at all. So when we moved it and turned it on, we were covered in dust. However, the hotel has been nice enough to supply a fan so that was of course a bonus during the very warm nights, and the rest of the room was spotless.

Reviewed by
K Jackson

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

coach house chester
Wonderful place, felt like home from home..stayed for 3 nights bed and breakfast but felt so relaxed and comfortable we chose to have our evening meals here too..atmosphere very relaxing and nothing seemed to much trouble for the staff...Most relaxing break I've had in a long long time and will definitely be going back..

Reviewed by
debbie byland

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, friendly service, gorgeous English breakfast, great location. Definitely recommend to couples

Reviewed by
Christopher L

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab holiday!!!!
Myself and my teenage daughter had a fab city break staying 5 days at this hotel!! Fab staff nothing was too much trouble! Lovely food great location clean rooms just loved staying here!! Will return.

Reviewed by
D Edge

From Brierley Hill, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab accommodation central location would highly recommend.
Lovely friendly staff

Reviewed by
Jacqui M

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous stay at The Coach House
Excellent place to stay, right in the heart of the city. Ideal for sightseeing, relaxing. We chose a superior room so the street noise was a little less, but the you are in the middle of a city, so that didn't really bother us. All the staff were fab, especially Keely & Sammy, can't wait to return.

Reviewed by
S PARTON

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay at The Coach House, Chester
having checked the reviews before booking the Coach House i can heartily agree with the excellent reviews. The room was very big (more than i expected), very clean, lovely big fluffy towels. It was the added extras, such as free tea and coffee in the bar for residents, that made the difference. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough. Breakfast was superb, lots of choice. The location was excellent with parking close by. i would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
ELIZABETH WHELAN

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We went for a short weekend break and really liked every aspect of the hotel. We ate at the pub on the first evening and the food and service was very good all round. The hotel would have been perfect apart from the room being very hot as it was the middle of summer (warmer inside that out). That said a fan was provided but air con is really needed. We would not let this detract from this being one of the best hotels my wife and I have stayed in.

Reviewed by
j mitchell

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again
Very well situated in the centre. Our only negative comment was the fact that we had to leave the two large windows open over night as the temperature was very high, consequently the noise of the Friday night revellers did keep us awake. Other than that it was ideal..........it was so nice to have a served breakfast as opposed to the all too common buffet style served now in most hotels

Reviewed by
Lyn B

From Brough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next