No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Coach House

4AA Assessed Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
39 NORTHGATE STREET , CHESTER, CH1 2HQ
The Coach House Hotel is a beautifully refurbished nineteenth century coaching inn in the heart of Chester city centre, next to the architecturally acclaimed Town Hall and fascinating cathedral. The Coach House Hotel Chester has nine en-suite bedrooms, as well as a restaurant and bar serving delicious, traditional British cuisine using the finest local ingredients.

The theme throughout this popular Chester hotel and restaurant is tradition brought up to date, with the combination of classic and contemporary seen in both the decor and the menu. With an emphasis on quality service, food and presentation, you’ll find The Coach House will suit many diverse occasions. Contact us now to see how we can help you to plan your event. Whether you want to celebrate a special occasion, have a quick business lunch or just relax by the fire with the newspaper and a pint of local ale, we are sure you will agree The Coach House is the perfect location.
Picture of The Coach House, CHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 103 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again
Very well situated in the centre. Our only negative comment was the fact that we had to leave the two large windows open over night as the temperature was very high, consequently the noise of the Friday night revellers did keep us awake. Other than that it was ideal..........it was so nice to have a served breakfast as opposed to the all too common buffet style served now in most hotels

Reviewed by
Lyn B

From Brough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel,would highly recommend it.
This was our first time to stay in this hotel and wont be our last. Everything about this hotel is just brilliant. Staff are very helpful and nothing is a bother.The tea and coffee being free when you are a guest is brilliant and the first hotel we have stayed in to offer this.We would highly recommend it and will stay here next time we are in Chester.

Reviewed by
DAVID G

From Banbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Coach House Chester. Perfect accomodation with quality and outstanding customer service.
Probably one of the best hotels we have stopped in. Accomodation in the luxuriously appointed bedrooms was superb. Huge airy room, enormous bed and tastefull modern decor. Cuisine in the restaurant was excellent and nice little touches for residents included free coffees, of any type, from the bar, at any time. Staff were excellent being both very friendly and attentive at at all times. Couldn't find any faults during our two night stay. Deserves a 10/10. Perfect.

Reviewed by
Graham Cottrell

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent All Round!
We were given a warm welcome by friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us. The evening meal was superb, and served by lovely staff. Leanne was very helpful in advising us re sightseeing. The room was bright, roomy and comfortable, and breakfast the following morning was quality and fit for a king! We would certainly visit again, and hope to do so before the end of the year.

Reviewed by
June Jonigk

From Hereford, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect for weekend shopping trip
Just perfect for a weekend shopping trip to chester. The location could not have been better. Right in the middle of town. Very convenient parking close by. Lovely hotel/pub. Room was great. Spacious, with a lovely large en suite with bath and shower. We had room 4. The staff were so very friendly and helpful. Bar man helped me to find wifi in my tablet. Complimentary tea and coffee in the bar throughout the day. I could not recommend this place enough. Just brilliant. We have already booked our room for our Christmas shopping trip.

Reviewed by
Maureen R

From bewdley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Coach House - Lovely stay
Pleasant and very helpful staff, gorgeous homely food and a great location.

Reviewed by
s hughes

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent short break
Location could not be bettered. Staff very efficient, helpful & friendly. Would recommend this to everyone.

Reviewed by
Brenda F

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff very helpful and lovely clean accommodation in a fantastic spot in the city

Reviewed by
r lye

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
We searched and searched for a reasonably priced hotel on race day and this came up. We hoped it would be ok but in fact it was lovely. Good quality accommodation, bar and the breakfast was lovely. Definitely would return.

Reviewed by
caroline b

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

30th Wedding Anniversary trip to Chester
I booked The Coach House having read excellent reviews, one of the things we were worried about was parking, which was stated as being behind the hotel. On arrival we were not able to legally park by the reception door but found that Market Street car park was literally just behind the hotel & we simply had to obtain a ticket was pay on departure. We managed to park very near the pedestrian exit which took as straight out to the bus station (behind the Coach House), so we only had to trundle our cases a very short distance, (we arrived after 3pm and found parking was then free until the next morning. and when we paid for parking at 10/11ish a.m. after leaving the car in the car park for two nights it cost £13.40 which was ok. When we next stay we might even catch a bus to Liverpool to save the worry of travelling to a new city.
When we rang the reception bell no one came to answer, so we had to bring our cases through the front bar, we were beginning to wonder if we had made a mistake as we hadn't clicked that The Coach House is a bar/restaurant with rooms rather than a hotel. However, immediately a lovely young lady came to help only to discover our room that we had especially asked for blankets and sheets had already been given to another couple with a similar name! Well I consider that it is not the problem but how it is dealt with, we were immediately offered a room upgrade and free drinks of our choice whilst we waited for it to be prepared. We sat in the bar sipping on our wine and pint of beer and began to admire the high spec décor & it was obvious it was a popular venue for couples, groups & families.
We were given room 5, which is at the top of the building at the front, we are fit so we didn't mind carrying our cases up the narrow staircases & corridors and it was worth it when we got there. Room 5 is huge and I would recommend it to anyone, if I had to a constructive criticism I would suggest perhaps, (as my husband is a light sleeper), a black out blind at the window where the Town Hall security light shines in all night & perhaps the water temperature could be a bit higher.
Anyway, the Coach House is perfectly placed for the Cathedral & all the sights & shops, we didn't get chance to eat there but the food looked lovely and good value.
The gorgeous young lady who served our delicious breakfast, on realising we were celebrating a special anniversary, personally arranged for our bed to be decorated with hearts and chocolates - how absolutely lovely!
Well I have gone on a bit but I always find these reviews so useful so all I can say is BOOK BOOK BOOK The Coach House Chester!

Reviewed by
Carol W

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next