No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Playden Oast

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Rye Road, Playden, Rye, TN31 7UL
The Playden Oasts is a three star English Tourist Board Inn full of charm and character just one mile from the historic Cinque Port of Rye. The building is an old converted oast house previously used for drying hops. Here you can relax with a quiet drink in our roundel coast bar warmed by the homely log fires. In fine weather enjoy the invigorating countryside air in our spacious beer garden.

We have 2 delightful restaurants within our establishment offering a wide range of locally sourced dishes, along with traditional Sunday roasts, we are sure to cater for all your culinary desires. We also offer an extensive Bar Menu. We are open all day, every day and our food is served at Lunch (12 - 3pm) and Evenings (6 - 9pm).

We offer eight fully en-suite bedrooms in our country hotel. If you are looking for a weekend break or just an overnight stay during the week this is the perfect home from home experience.
Picture of Playden Oast, Rye at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff are really wonderful
Amazing staff. Really very helpful and friendly. Bit of a walk into town but its actually quite pleasant in the evenings.

Reviewed by
Jon B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place, bit tired decor but lovely breakfast!
Enjoyed the stay... Room was a little tired (bed a little hard as we both ended the stay with sore backs) but pleasant staff and really lovely breakfasts.
Good walk to Rye, not too far, but definitely not central. This wasn't a problem for us, but maybe a bit far for others.

Reviewed by
Jenny D

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok to stay in seems a bit dated.
We stayed one night at playden oasts and thought the experience was a bit average and a little overpriced. We stayed in room 6 a £100 room per night and the feel of the room was dated. Very old carpet on the floor, matched the breakfast area carpet. The room had views of the garden as well as the back entrance and access to the kitchen. We could every comment that was said in the kitchen. At night the all night security light could not be masked by the very thin curtains. But i do like sleeping in a very dark room. Breakfast was on the small size, mushrooms not available as they guy delivering themhad not turned. When quizzed the chef with a ear ring in his nose, stated that he had hoped that he had got away with it. If i was to overrall mark it out of 5 i would give 2 1/2. We did find a b and b in rye, 5 stars with a cheapest room of £75 a night which i now wished we had stayed in.

Reviewed by
simon ewbank

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Well what can i say , absolutely brillant place, staff so friendly couldnt do enough for u, great little bar so relaxing , we regret not having dinner there it looked great , although we had breakfast a proper " full english"! We are going back very soon , a proper gem !

Reviewed by
M Brennan

From Essex, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired hotel but great location
A beautiful location but the hotel is tired and needs updating to make it comfortable and attractive. A very basic room - the bed was hard and we didn't sleep well. The curtains were thin and an outside light kept us awake, however, they did turn off the light the next night after we told them the problem.
The full English breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
G Gutsell

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The most friendly hotel I have ever had the pleasure to stay at. The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you to make your stay enjoyable. The food was outstanding in size and quality.

Reviewed by
Colin Bassett

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent small hotel
Helpful telephone assistance with booking, very warm welcome on arrival. Everything clean and acceptable with the 2 budget rooms I had booked, they were warm, quiet, and cosy. Dinner was first class, bar good and real ale in excellent condition. Breakfast was good, but service could have been better, as we were on business we would have appreciated a little more speed and civility. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone, and would stay again myself, but would make alternative arrangements for breakfast.

Reviewed by
D Caley

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oast room
A warm welcome and friendly helpful staff. We had superior room in the Oast tower. Very roomy and clean with a few cobwebs giving added character to the room ( well it is a very old building ).
Small menu for evening meal but with good fresh food, breakfast will keep you going all day

Reviewed by
Richard M

From Lewes, England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent. Warm reception, pleasant room with everything necessary, very good breakfast.

Reviewed by
Philip L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely oast house
Wanted to stay in a round room in an oast house so have achieved that ambition! Room and the hotel really clean. Lovely round bed. Bottled water replaced every day. All staff were very friendly and helpful. A delightful place!

Reviewed by
Jenny Ellwood

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next