No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Whyte Harte Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
11-21, High St, , Bletchingley, RH1 4PB
Since the reign of Richard II, the Whyte Harte has offered fine foods, real ales and comfort to travellers. Situated in the beautiful historic village of Bletchingley, the Whyte Harte is one of the few surviving Medieval Inns in Britain today, and is steeped in history. Said to date back to 1388, it possesses wooden beams, which are believed to be from ships of the time. Bletchingly, was mentioned in the Dooms Day book and therefore evidence of it’s existence can be traced back to Saxon times. St. Mary’s church opposite the Whyte Harte dates back to 1100. Many of the original features of the pub can be seen today. The original fire grate dates back to 1613, and there is even a bakers oven in a recess. The site has also had more practical uses, in the 18th century it was used for what was called at the time as ‘rotten’ parliamentary elections and it’s hard to believe that Bletchingley returned two members of parliament while the somewhat larger city of Manchester returned none! In the 1950s the landlord of the time was well known for serving Jugged Hare, Mulled wine and clay pipes from the main fireplace. Today these fireplaces are still working. There are 3 in total, with the main one being the focal point in the bar. Nowadays you can sit and relax on our sofas and wile away the hours while we look after you. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Picture of The Whyte Harte Hotel, Bletchingley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not too impressed with housekeeping or maintenance efforts
Beautiful very old pub serving delicious food. All good at this place until you go upstairs to the bedrooms. Sadly they don't seem to be able to clean properly. Cobwebs and a shower so mouldy, I was fairly astonished. Plug sockets wobbly and not working... Not ideal either.
Would I stay here again, probably not until they spend some money on those unloved rooms upstairs.

Reviewed by
J Pink

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful place to stay
I would stay in this hotel again.
The hotel had beautiful featured typical of an old country English house.
Very good customer service and very tasty food.

Reviewed by
Silvia S

From Beckenham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Characterful hotel, excellent value for money
A friendly, small hotel located in a village on the A25. An old building, full of character, so if you prefer modern, homogenised, pasteurised chain hotels, this may not be for you. Good facilities in the room (tea making, flat screen TV, hair dryer), well equipped modern bathroom. No WiFi in the rooms, but freely available in the bar, which has an excellent restaurant - both popular with locals and visitors as well as residents. And all at a very good price, too.

Reviewed by
Chris Miller

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice break
Very friendly staff and more than willing help with any requests.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended. An extremely pleasant stay indeed.
This hotel was wonderful. The rooms are not large, but they are clean and the beds comfortable and although the bathroom had no bath - shower only, it was clean and functional.
This hotel excels is in two main areas -the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and the quality of the food served (both the included breakfast and the evening meal we ate). The breakfast was the best breakfast I have had at a hotel for a very long time and the evening meal delicious and good value for money.
Me and my partner stayed here for a particular purpose (we were meeting relatives) but I would not be a bit surprised if we returned for a weekend away simply for the pleasure of it.

Reviewed by
Steve S

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good but needing a bit of TLC
Comfortable and clean and very good dinner and breakfast but a lot of worn out and scuffed paint. Room light not working.

Reviewed by
W Logie

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor hotel!!!
The hotel fell far short of the mark
The room was very scabby and was well past it's best.
The television didn't even have BBC channels!!! When I asked down stairs, having waited 10 minutes to get the duty managers attention. He reluctantly came upstairs and prodded a few buttons on the remote. Shrug his shoulders and said that he couldn't fix it. His breath stank of alcohol and I felt he may have been slightly drunk.
The wifi didn't work either.
So all in all a very poor hotel.
Wouldn't recommend it to anyone wanting to stop in the area.

Reviewed by
Richard M

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place, great atmosphere.
Great little pub B'n'B, cute characterful and clean rooms. Fantastic breakfast, but I'd maybe price it nearer £75 night with breakfast.

Reviewed by
Helen M

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel - clean and very comfortable. Staff great
Nice hotel - clean and very comfortable. Staff great

Reviewed by
D Reader

From Ludlow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whyte Harte

Reviewed by
Kathleen G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next