No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Whyte Harte Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
11-21, High St, , Bletchingley, RH1 4PB
Since the reign of Richard II, the Whyte Harte has offered fine foods, real ales and comfort to travellers. Situated in the beautiful historic village of Bletchingley, the Whyte Harte is one of the few surviving Medieval Inns in Britain today, and is steeped in history. Said to date back to 1388, it possesses wooden beams, which are believed to be from ships of the time. Bletchingly, was mentioned in the Dooms Day book and therefore evidence of it’s existence can be traced back to Saxon times. St. Mary’s church opposite the Whyte Harte dates back to 1100. Many of the original features of the pub can be seen today. The original fire grate dates back to 1613, and there is even a bakers oven in a recess. The site has also had more practical uses, in the 18th century it was used for what was called at the time as ‘rotten’ parliamentary elections and it’s hard to believe that Bletchingley returned two members of parliament while the somewhat larger city of Manchester returned none! In the 1950s the landlord of the time was well known for serving Jugged Hare, Mulled wine and clay pipes from the main fireplace. Today these fireplaces are still working. There are 3 in total, with the main one being the focal point in the bar. Nowadays you can sit and relax on our sofas and wile away the hours while we look after you. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Picture of The Whyte Harte Hotel, Bletchingley at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stay
Although I arrived during a funeral wake the staff could not have been more welcoming. Good food. Good luck to the new management team, you deserve to succeed.

Reviewed by
Luke L

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant hotel

Reviewed by
Brendan B

From Burford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very helpful & friendly staff. Nothing too much trouble
Only 3 little niggles: radiator on full blast in bathroom with no means to turn it off
Dust all over the kettle
unnecessary mirror on a stand on an already cramped bedside table.

Reviewed by
Susan Lyons

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great break
Lovely hotel nice village wish could of stayed longer

Reviewed by
Bill W

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

White Harte - excellent experience
Room was the heritage room and was a nice size and periodically decorated, the massive toll top bath was gorgeous and perfect for the room.
The manager and staff were friendly and the service was some of the best I've received.
The good was expensive but worth every penny with the use of good quality ingredients well cooked.
Overall I would definitely stay in the heritage room again and would recommend to my friends without a shadow of a doubt.

Reviewed by
Steve C

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying in Bletchingly
The hotel was a little run down, could not close our room window. Light over bed not working and the room could do with decorating and cleaning.
On the positive side, the manager was delightful and the food was great. Been told that the hotel was under new management only since last week so hopefully it will be decorated shortly and then it could be really nice.

Reviewed by
Anne M

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very comfortable stay!
A nice place to stay for one night, very good food and the room was comfortable.

Reviewed by
A Clark

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint Hotel in Modern Times
Food was very good, staff very attentive, room 3 that I was in was very small and compact, shower very small and had to bend knees to get washed under shower head

Reviewed by
Martin S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The food and local ale was excellent !
Staff were friendly, helpful and very efficient.
Lovely room and comfy bed.
If I was to be picky the bathroom in our accommodation was in need of a little TLC!

Reviewed by
D Oliver

From Crediton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Breakfast Small Room Wrong Bil . No Tv Remotel
Room was small - and you had to squeeze past foot of one bed to get to the next . pointed out no Tv remote but didn't offer to find us one . The water system ran in pulses so the shower in the morning was ok one sec , cold the next and then boiling .Staff seamed to accept this as the norm . When we went to pay they wanted to charge us £10 to much . The Harte Breakfast was however superb - decent mushrooms Very good. And relaxing in the bar in the evening , didn't have dinner cos we had already eaten , was most enjoyable .

Reviewed by
Colin P

From Cowbridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next