Reviews - The Whyte Harte Hotel


High Street, ,, Bletchingley, RH1 4PB

Price From 145.95 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (37)

76% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • j latham

  • November 2015

The Whyte Harte Hotel

Very good recommend it.

  • Sharon A

  • October 2015

Website does not include pictures of bedrooms-I wonder why?

The website pictures-quite faithfully-a very attractive inn.

Unfortunately, the bedrooms are less attractive.lots of chipped walls, old tissues behind the bed on both sides, a kettle that didn't work and a towel with black stains. All of these discovered very late evening, too late to complain or relocate. A great shame, as staff so pleasant & breakfast very good quality(once the omissions were added to our plate....)

Very sorry to be so negative, but apart from the need for a repaint, most of the other issues were avoidable if due attention had been paid. It should be impossible to miss big black stains on a white towel.

  • Sue P

  • July 2015

Ideal stop-over

We booked this as a stopover on our way down to our son's graduation.

The room was small, but had everything you could want. It was clean and the breakfast was nice. Very good value at the price (70 pounds).

  • C Barnes

  • June 2015

Tired room but clean (avoid room one !)

Room was disappointing very tired, however it was clean.

radio from the kitchen below kept me awake as did the banging of the pans being washed until 11pm. Smoke coming into the room from the customers in the garden. Ok for one night but would not recommend any longer. The breakfast however was the best i've had. This Inn excels in food but sadly not for us the accommodation. Would not book again.

  • Miles R

  • June 2015

The Whyte Harte Hotel

One does not expect a 14th Century hotel to look like a modern hotel.

Yes, a lick of paint here and there would not go amiss but the, ambiance of the place, the friendly and very helpful staff is what we took away with us. The food was exceptional, well cooked and presented. The breakfast was enormous. A touch of old England and set in a beautiful village. It was a real privilege and pleasure to have stayed there.

  • Benjamin C

  • March 2015

The Whyte Harte Hotel

Very good service, amazing food.

Breakfast was perfect, could not fault this at all. Room was clean although the carpet needed a hoover. Room in need of a little bit of TLC in regards to decorating, no shower door replaced with shower curtain, not enough sockets in room, struggled to dry hair, room was very hot and could not open the window. Beautiful old building in an iydllic setting. Fantastic food!

  • elizabeth r

  • March 2015

friendly Pub

Booked at last minute for location .Speaking to one of the staff I was told it was one of the oldest Pubs in the country so very hard for everything to be perfect but bed comfy and food good.Internet not good in bedroom but ok in bar.I would stay again.

  • Geoff K

  • March 2015

The Whyte Harte Hotel

The room was clean, tidy and warm but the d├ęcor was a bit dated.

Can't fault the food or the service. Managed to park without any problems either in the car park or on the area at the front of the hotel.

  • Michael Thomas

  • March 2015

Hotel is old world style

Order my food and said I was in no rush.

The squid arrived but was like rubber and in some strange batter certainly not tempura. Just finish when the main was put in front of me, rabbit pie?!?!?. well the mash was like wallpaper paste the pie was some watery shredded meat mixture that could of even be chicken as it had no real flavour and the vegetables had brown bits on the ends. Vinegar used to cook pouched eggs for breakfast, have they not heard it's an old wife's tale to cook them this way. Hotel fine, food very poor.

  • J Pink

  • February 2015

Not too impressed with housekeeping or maintenance efforts

Beautiful very old pub serving delicious food.

All good at this place until you go upstairs to the bedrooms. Sadly they don't seem to be able to clean properly. Cobwebs and a shower so mouldy, I was fairly astonished. Plug sockets wobbly and not working... Not ideal either. Would I stay here again, probably not until they spend some money on those unloved rooms upstairs.