Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Nechells Hotels > Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Star City
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Star City

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway,Nechells, Birmingham, B7 5SB
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City We are located within walking distance to all the excitement of Star City entertainment complex and only minutes from Birmingham's bustling city centre or the sweet temptations of Cadbury World. Explore the city's museums and galleries, or enjoy a pint at one of the many fine Victorian pubs in Birmingham Brindle place. Our Birmingham hotel offers a location that is easily accessible from the M6 J6 and excellent train links from New Street Train Station connecting you to Birmingham International Airport , putting you in the centre of it all. You will enjoy comfortable beds and free high-speed Internet access. Start your morning with our free Breakfast with hot favorites or relax on your return from work or day out in Birmingham in our Great Room. We look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Star City.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Star City, Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really great value for money room cost 49 pounds. No complaints at all.

Reviewed by
J Abbott

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent customer service

Reviewed by
J White

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, short stay.
Better value than Premier Inn as breakfast was included - not quite a Full English but good choice! The room was very good for one of these chain hotels - spacious and powerful shower, selection of soft and firm pillows. The mattress could have been better but it was still ok. Ample free parking and good, free WiFi coverage.

Reviewed by
Richard H

From Rickmansworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spot on
Stayed at this hotel for an awards do at Villa Park and this was the ideal place to base ourselves. Room was fine, staff were great and generally a very good stay. Breakfast was perhaps the only slight negative, as it was all just a bit flavourless/tasteless but that could have something to do with our hangovers (after winning the awards!)! Many thanks.

Reviewed by
Will J

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for Money
This is the second time we have used this hotel and find it very good value for money. The rooms are a very good size, comfortable, clean and tidy. It is also very well situated for the M6 and with Star City opposite a good place for going out to eat

Reviewed by
Clare Macdonald

From Dunmow, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised
After reading some reviews was a little apprehensive, but found everything very good. Nice welcome and helpful on reception. Clean room, everything you would need in it. Nice breakfast. Thank you.

Reviewed by
C Harris

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet Room
Requested a quiet room and free breakfast value for money. Location was ideal for Birmingham City University visit, easy to find.

Reviewed by
L Evans

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not my best experience
The Girl on the desk was pleasant and friendly. Went up to the room which was clean and tidy. I discovered there was no hair dryer, it had been removed from its fitting on the wall. I went down to tell staff on the way out to dinner but reception was very busy; there was a coach load being booked in I approached the desk on my way back which was unattended. It was 10:45 I waited 10 a full ten minutes before anyone came. I was asked which room? Was I sure? It should be on the wall? He then reluctantly got a replacement and asked if I would be using it tonight or tomorrow and would I bring it down at breakfast. I enjoyed a lovely hot shower and attempted to dry my hair - 3 seconds of power and it went off, waited a few minutes and tried again, 3 seconds later it went off again. Are the rooms not checked before they are booked out? I went down to breakfast, the girl serving breakfast was apologetic and asked which room, was this not already recorded? Breakfast was no frills, more like cheap and cheerful. I returned to the cutlery 4 times just to obtain one clean spoon.

ManagementResponse

Dear Karen T, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. As one of our valued guest, I was disappointed to hear of the shortfalls you experienced on your recent visit to the hotel particularly with the bathroom amenities and breakfast selections received. I can assure you this is not indicative of our usual high standards and for this I sincerely apologize. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve. Sincerely, Zelyn, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Karen T

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All round good hotel
I stayed here for one night on a business trip. The hotel is easy to get to and was easy to get a parking space. The hotel reception staff seemed a bit distracted by talking to each other but I was served quickly enough and the lady did tell me all the information I needed to know. Room is standard bed, toilet and t.v. The double bed had 2 x soft & firm pillows, very comfortable bed which was hard to get out of in the morning. Cooked Breakfast is pretty poor with just egg beans and sausages although you did have other selections of cereals, yoghurts and pastries. Overall a nice pleasant stay.

ManagementResponse

Dear Angela W, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to learn that you appreciate our comfortable beds and parking spaces. We are sorry you experienced inconvenience due to some aspects of hotels staff service and breakfast selection. Please be assured your feedback will be shared with the team and acted upon. Thank you again for your review. Sincerely, Zelyn, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Angela W

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top class hotel.
A very comfortable, clean hotel with a first rate staff.

Reviewed by
P Benson

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next