No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The New Ellington - a Bespoke Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
23-25 YORK PLACE , LEEDS, LS1 2EY
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the
heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find
distinguished and discreet personalised service. You’ll find our décor
sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of
functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.

Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away
from The New Ellington – but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant
nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity.

A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen,
luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to
die for and a restaurant spearheaded by renowned chef John Whetstone.

Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with
state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet
access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and
high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest showerheads
and 32 –inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. Also available
are Nintendo Wii's and Xbox 360, coupled with pre-loaded ipods with a
variety of genres are available to borrow.


Breakfast can be added onto your booking for £15 per person.

Note of warning about building work:

We are currently very fortunate in Leeds to be undergoing growth in the
local economy; this has meant that construction work has begun in all parts
of the city and can be heard at times in the hotel. We will endeavour to
warn guests about building related noise outside working hours that we are
aware of, however this is not always possible. We sincerely apologise for
any inconvenience this may cause.

Picture of The New Ellington - a Bespoke Hotel, LEEDS at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 114 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Perfect location, clean, spacious. Professional and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
L Burton

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Great staff, lovely look and feel to the hotel. Will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
Simon H

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Boutique Hotel
Just great

Reviewed by
Helen W

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Coffee machine in bedroom faulty
Carpet dirty (stains)
Parking poor
No final bill given
Faulty wifi
No sky tv in bedroom

Reviewed by
Paul Wilson

From Burton upon stather, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good with a couple of hiccups
I was travelling for business and reliant on Wifi to make Skype calls, and this was a key factor in choosing this hotel. However there was no Wifi connection in either of the two bedrooms I tried and as the call was confidential I had to sit in a stairwell where I found Wifi coverage. The staff did not seem surprised that Wifi was a problem, and did immediately try to help initially, but when the second bedroom had no functioning wifi either, they seemed to have exhausted all options, apologised and left me to improvise myself.
There was no mini bar as described in the room information but the fresh milk was great.
The bar / restaurant staff were friendly and helpful and the evening meal was lovely.

Reviewed by
Helen A

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasantly surprising
After paying the amount I did I was expecting the room to be clean & comfortable, in reality the room was luxurious and was furnished to a high standard. The bed was very comfortable, making it all the more harder to get out of it on new years day morning!

Reviewed by
Ben L

From Stockton-On-Tees, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little hidden gem
Decided to treat ourselves to a little stay in Leeds during the Christmas break. The New Ellington was an excellent choice and we could a really good deal on the room rate. Hidden away in the business district but only 5 minute walk into the shopping areas, the hotel was in a good location. The fact that we could park on an adjacent street just 20 yards away was a real bonus. The room was lovely although I wouldn't want to have paid the full price. The deal we got made it excellent value. The restaurant wasn't open that night but there is such choice in Leeds in didn't matter to us.

Reviewed by
Scott N

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good standard
Nice and spacious room, lovely bathroom

Reviewed by
Sarka Oldham

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel in a great location
An easy walk from the station, a nice secluded hotel with offering wonderful luxury and an opportunity to relax. Walking distance for shopping, restaurants and the O2 Academy. Friendly and helpful staff, I would stay again the next time I am in Leeds.

Reviewed by
Marshall Hollis

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
Fantastic weekend we had at New Ellington

Reviewed by
G BALAN

From Stanmore, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next