No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The New Ellington - a Bespoke Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
23-25 YORK PLACE , LEEDS, LS1 2EY
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find distinguished and discreet personalised service. You’ll find our décor sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.

Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away from The New Ellington – but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity.

A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen, luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to die for and a restaurant spearheaded by renowned chef Anton Scoones.

Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest showerheads and 32 –inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. Also available are Nintendo Wii's and Xbox 360, coupled with pre-loaded ipods with a variety of genres are available to borrow.

Breakfast can be added onto your booking for £15 per person.
Picture of The New Ellington - a Bespoke Hotel, LEEDS at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 128 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The new Ellington
Fantastic Chic hotel, fabulous food, great room, but sadly lacked atmosphere

Reviewed by
John Redgwick

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Leeds weekend at The New Ellington
I know Leeds well having worked their for a few years and the hotel is well located to get anywhere you need to be of interest.
Check in was smooth, rooms were good and overall great value.
Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Carl Fletcher

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good friendly hotel

Reviewed by
Graham B

From Atherstone, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Upgrade
There was a party of 6 of us which I booked and thought it was brilliant for money, turns out when me and my partner got to our room we had been upgraded it was beautiful, you obviously have a brilliant set of staff and thanks for the upgrade! I'm sure we will stay again x

Reviewed by
Shauna Kemp

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not quite as expected
This was just a one night Sunday stay as a treat for myself and my husband. Arriving parking no problem. greeting from receptionist pleasant. Arriving in our room I had expected it to be bigger but the bed was big! And comfortable. We didn't eat at hotel so can't comment on the food. All in all a good experience.

Reviewed by
J Kenneally

From hartburn, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Big clean friendly

Reviewed by
G N

From SL9 7BB, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel

Reviewed by
Andrew Higgins

From Bingley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very well appointed hotel, but probably not everybodies cup of tea
The room in this hotel is as well appointed as any hotel I have ever stayed in. The bar is lovely (though almost permanently empty) and the location is walking distance from the centre of Leeds.
The only thing letting this hotel down is that it has a building site opposite, so is very loud from about 6.30am.

Reviewed by
James S

From Chertsey, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing experience. Service standards poor.
I wish I had read Trip Advisor reviews before booking this hotel. If I had done so I may have looked elsewhere. We understood that the restaurant was closed due to being a bank holiday. We were no too concerned as there was a 24 room service menu in the room. On ringing six times to (eventually) order room service we were informed somewhat brusquely that room service was not possible as the "chef had not left owt out". Milk was missing from the mini bar but was delivered to the room after requesting on the same call to order room service. At breakfast my wife, a vegetarian, specifically ordered the vegetarian option as it included Quorn sausages. When the breakfast was served the waitress informed us that the chef should have told her 5 minutes ago that they had no Quorn sausages. The sausages appear to have been replaced with french toast, but no-one asked if we would like this option. As my breakfast was served at the same time my wife did not want to refuse and then wait for another option. When we checked out the receptionists were apologetic but made no offer of restitution or compensation for failure of services. I would not recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Glenn T

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location and friendly staff
This was our second stay at this hotel which is located in the quiet business area of Leeds City Centre but within easy reach of the shops etc. The bar is excellent with over 100 different gins to sample. The friendly staff were on hand to assist with a selection from the extensive drinks menu. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and well decorated. We did not eat at the hotel as there are lots of eateries nearby. Overall a good choice - would recommend.

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next