No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The New Ellington - a Bespoke Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
23-25 YORK PLACE , LEEDS, LS1 2EY
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the
heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find
distinguished and discreet personalised service. You’ll find our décor
sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of
functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.

Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away
from The New Ellington – but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant
nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity.

A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen,
luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to
die for and a restaurant spearheaded by renowned chef John Whetstone.

Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with
state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet
access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and
high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest showerheads
and 32 –inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. Also available
are Nintendo Wii's and Xbox 360, coupled with pre-loaded ipods with a
variety of genres are available to borrow.


Breakfast can be added onto your booking for £15 per person.

Note of warning about building work:

We are currently very fortunate in Leeds to be undergoing growth in the
local economy; this has meant that construction work has begun in all parts
of the city and can be heard at times in the hotel. We will endeavour to
warn guests about building related noise outside working hours that we are
aware of, however this is not always possible. We sincerely apologise for
any inconvenience this may cause.

Picture of The New Ellington - a Bespoke Hotel, LEEDS at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 126 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel in a great location
An easy walk from the station, a nice secluded hotel with offering wonderful luxury and an opportunity to relax. Walking distance for shopping, restaurants and the O2 Academy. Friendly and helpful staff, I would stay again the next time I am in Leeds.

Reviewed by
Marshall Hollis

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
Fantastic weekend we had at New Ellington

Reviewed by
G BALAN

From Stanmore, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden discovery in the heart of Leeds
I wish we had longer to try the restaurant in the evening, breakfast was great and no buffet (hooray!) The bar was a lovely snug crying out for one last evening drink, staff fabulous bar none!

Reviewed by
Gavin Pilcher

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arrived early and was ok to check in. Hotel is lovely and well worth the money
Lovely hotel worth every penny
If staying in leeds this is lovely in comparison to similar priced hotels in leeds

Reviewed by
S Hutchinson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good hotel
Have used hotel previous and is very good quality.

Reviewed by
B PHILLIPS

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with excellent customer service
This was a lovely hotel we'll definately book again. It was much nicer and cheaper than one of the big chains. The bed was enormous and lovely and comfy and the room facilities were good. The staff on reception were lovely and made you feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
Linda A

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boutique prices, Travelodge fare
Positives first: comfortable bed, polite staff, central location. But, the material state of the room was jaded (toilet momma flush- needed to be sorted, roller blind fell off roller, toilet roll holder came off wall), no wifi as advertised in the rooms, no coffee available for in-room coffee machine, no remote for TV initially available. Worst of all, after long day travelling there was no table available in the restaurant and no warning had been given of the need to book when we received a pre-visit call from the hotel. A. Special weekend break for my wife and I was ruined.

Reviewed by
Neil T

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Excellent hotel all within walking distance of the city centre. Hotel staff all very friendly and was a pleasant stay over

Reviewed by
D K

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
enjoyed my stay here, gin menu was excellent (so my wife told me!) lovely comfortable room,
found Leeds to be a very nice city break, lots of pubs/restaurents, will definetly return
good location short walk to city centre/station etc

Reviewed by
gary c

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

really suprising stay!
Myself and colleagues were pleasantly impressed with the quality of this hotel. I often stay in leeds on business bit has never thought to stay here. Although it's not right in town it was only a 5 minute taxi journey to all of the shops.
The rooms are great considering the price and the beds are huge! Very good night's sleep! Also be sure to check out the cocktail bar: the bar men made our evening very enjoyable serving excellent cocktails. Breakfast was great aswell.
The only problem I did have was with the fact that they insist on taking a £50 deposit from your card (not just hold it) which I found very strange and did not understand why this is Necessary when no other hotels I have stayed in take a physical payment from your card.

Reviewed by
Samuel C

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next