No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The New Ellington - a Bespoke Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
23-25 YORK PLACE , LEEDS, LS1 2EY
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the
heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find
distinguished and discreet personalised service. You’ll find our décor
sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of
functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.

Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away
from The New Ellington – but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant
nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity.

A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen,
luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to
die for and a restaurant spearheaded by renowned chef John Whetstone.

Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with
state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet
access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and
high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest showerheads
and 32 –inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. Also available
are Nintendo Wii's and Xbox 360, coupled with pre-loaded ipods with a
variety of genres are available to borrow.


Breakfast can be added onto your booking for £15 per person.

Note of warning about building work:

We are currently very fortunate in Leeds to be undergoing growth in the
local economy; this has meant that construction work has begun in all parts
of the city and can be heard at times in the hotel. We will endeavour to
warn guests about building related noise outside working hours that we are
aware of, however this is not always possible. We sincerely apologise for
any inconvenience this may cause.

Picture of The New Ellington - a Bespoke Hotel, LEEDS at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 126 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boutique with lots of problems
Pleasant staff. Bedroom large but the safe did not work and could not be repaired that day. Lighting in rooms very dim and entrance room light not working. This caused problem with trying to read instructions n the coffee machine. Again not repaired that day. Tolet roll holder loose. Fridge not stable and whole fridge moved when trying to open the door. Sitting chairs stained. Good restaurant and menu but ripped fabric on the seats.

Reviewed by
R Hurst

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Best kept secret in Leeds from start to finish.James on the front desk is just a credit to the hotel even down to his witty humour.
Nothing is too much trouble for any of the excellent staff at New Ellington,rooms ,service ,quality is spot on & in a great location
3rd time we have stayed in 6 weeks & ready to return soon
Thanks James & The Team @ New Ellington
Craig Lloyd

Reviewed by
Craig Lloyd

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, tidy and well found. Staff excellent. Oh and with 94 different gins behind the bar a very interesting evening.

Reviewed by
G Simpson

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely friendly Hotel very friendly service great rooms
The staff could not have more helpful,would definitely stay there again and recomend it to anyone
Great value for a City break or weekend away

Reviewed by
Philip Mitchell

From Kingston lisle, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxurious city break
I travelled to Leeds with my wife to visit friends and decided to treat us to a posh hotel for the night and the New Ellington was the perfect indulgence. Our executive double room was so spacious and comfortable and the staff were very friendly. The hotel is an easy walk from most of central Leeds - eg trian station, Headrow, Millenium square. Our only dispointment was we missed the resturant which stopped serving around 9.30pm as the food smelt gorgeous!

Reviewed by
M Lindow

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good hotel
This was a good hotel to stay in with lots of nice touches. A fridge, a choice of proper glasses and a corkscrew. Good quality kettle that manged to boil a cup of water in less than the usual 10 minutes. Even cotton buds in the bathroom. Occasionally let down by service - tea bags not replaced, trays left in stair well for a few days that sort of thing.
Location was in the business district so nice and quiet but a slightly longer walk to the action if that is what you're after.

Reviewed by
Magnus A

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The milk and gone off in the fridge, the blinds in the bedroom were broken, the room smelt of furniture polish, service at the bar was slow & poor.

Reviewed by
anthony simms

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food
My only real complaint about the hotel. Was when we ordered something to eat in the morning . I ordered a omelet & apple juice & my girlfriend ordered scrambled egg & toast with apple juice ( the toast came with no butter ) and the omelet was nothing special. But yet we was charged £16 I actually thought it was a mistake when checking out but was told that's what our breakfast cost . In noway was the breakfast worth a fraction of that & felt leaving the hotel pissed off . After all a general pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Kelvin Ellis

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I liked it
Very good hotel, pleasant staff, enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
Richard B

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!
Great value for money, drink on arrival and great service. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
C Gallacher

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next