No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The New Ellington - a Bespoke Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
23-25 YORK PLACE , LEEDS, LS1 2EY
The New Ellington Leeds nestles amongst a row of Georgian buildings in the
heart of the financial district of Leeds. Through its doors you will find
distinguished and discreet personalised service. You’ll find our décor
sleek, stylish and warm and our facilities offer the height of
functionality. Once inside you will not want to leave.

Location is second to none, with culture and posh shopping all moments away
from The New Ellington – but amidst the bustle of commerce and the vibrant
nightlife, The New Ellington is a haven of serenity.

A luxury boutique hotel par excellence -expect Egyptian cotton bed linen,
luxury toiletries, comfortable beds, 24 hours in-room dinning, cocktails to
die for and a restaurant spearheaded by renowned chef John Whetstone.

Our guestrooms are immensely comfortable, uncluttered and equipped with
state of the art technology, complimentary wireless and hard-wired Internet
access, entertainment hubs offering connection for ipods, laptop output and
high-definition TV input, Nespresso coffee machines, rainforest showerheads
and 32 –inch flat screen televisions complete the picture. Also available
are Nintendo Wii's and Xbox 360, coupled with pre-loaded ipods with a
variety of genres are available to borrow.


Breakfast can be added onto your booking for £15 per person.

Note of warning about building work:

We are currently very fortunate in Leeds to be undergoing growth in the
local economy; this has meant that construction work has begun in all parts
of the city and can be heard at times in the hotel. We will endeavour to
warn guests about building related noise outside working hours that we are
aware of, however this is not always possible. We sincerely apologise for
any inconvenience this may cause.

Picture of The New Ellington - a Bespoke Hotel, LEEDS at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 120 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel - and towels!
Customer service very good but paid £14 for all day parking then had to move the car out by 2pm next day for new guests, I thought all day meant 24 hours! Anyway, rooms were clean and had everything in them that you could possibly need. Nice big comfy bed, lovely shower and towels! Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Louise S

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, Friendly Hotel
Friendly & helpful service from all members of staff. Clean, quiet and comfortable room. Good breakfast.

Reviewed by
David B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

loved it
We had a lovely stay in the New Ellington, attractive and spacious room and bathroom, all perfectly clean, a couple of minor scuffs that could be smartened up, but apart from that no complaints at all. Everyone was very friendly - in particular the bar manager who made some fabulous cocktails and couldn't have been more helpful

Reviewed by
Linda S

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Had a fab time in Leeds, we were greated by two lovely ladies who were happy to help with directions to other places. The room was lovely and bed very comfy. The only think I would say was that the drinks were expensive, and disappointed that the parking was so much even though it was just waste land.

Reviewed by
T Wilson

From Newcastle under Lyme, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, but not value for money
We stayed a couple of nights and decided that this hotel looked a bit 'special'
The room was large and clean. The bed was very clean and comfortable. However, the room also overlooked an office next door, which wasn't the best for privacy or views, so we had to make use of the rolling shutters more often than not.
The card system for accessing the rooms wasn't working, so had to be shown upto the room by the staff - not bad in itself, however, it did mean hanging around until someone could see to us.
The girl on reception also misdirected us to the lower priced car park and we ended up driving around for the best part of an hour trying to find it. In the end we ended up parking in the very small private car park - and very overpriced and were warned that some previous guests had ended up getting clamped.
The room, although modern in appearance, looked very tired - peeling veneer, worn linen, scuffmarks and a couple of blown lights.
If I'd paid less for it, I wouldn't have probably noticed all the small details, however, for an above average price for a room in Leeds, you expect more bang for your buck and this certainly failed in that respect. I'd recommend to a friend as it wasn't that bad, but I don't think I'd go back again.

Reviewed by
Ian L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel
very friendly staff the receptionist, bar staff and chambermaid all excellent,room was great bed comfy, and everything in good working order.

Reviewed by
A Sheldon

From Glossop, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasantly surprised
Very comfortable stay would stay again
Bed quality excellent, bathroom very clean
Very pleased to stay in hotel

Reviewed by
Andrew A

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impressed with the room however disappointed with details
Checked in to the hotel and found our room which was lovely, later that evening found the main light did not work, notified reception, we were told it would be fixed that evening which it wasn't. The next day I complained again as we would not be able to see properly in the room by 6pm we were told it would be fixed that evening (it was not) I then complained to the night porter who arranged for the day staff to contact me after 10am on the sunday, I was woken up early in the morning asking when they could fix the light, I said anytime after 12, we came back once again late that afternoon to get ready to go out and not fixed! When I spoke to the receptionist I found her to be rude, for something as little as a light it ruined our stay the beautiful hotel with many other kind staff. I expected gowns as it states on the website all rooms are supplied with lovely fluffy gowns we did have them either. Its a shame as I would have gone back or recommended the hotel if it was not for those silly little things.

Reviewed by
H Wilson

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Experience
Besides the wifi not working for the first two days everything else was absolutely amazing. Would recommend this hotel to all.

Reviewed by
D Borg

From Zurrieq, Malta
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hard to please fussy director of the company but everything was great
Will book your hotel on each travel to Leeds

Reviewed by
c ashton

From , England
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next