Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Lake District > Cumbria > Ca14 Hotels > Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hunday Manor Country House Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Hunday , Workington , CA14 4JF
A family-run hotel in its own grounds with excellent views of the Solway Firth, offering Free Wi-Fi, traditional Log Fires and a restaurant with an excellent local reputation.

Hunday Manor is situated on the western edge of the Lake District, just 3 miles from Workington, with easy access to Keswick; this hotel offers the perfect retreat for exploring the surrounding area. This tasteful and beautiful hotel invites the imagination to take flight in the extensive romantic gardens with magnificent views over the Solway Firth to Scotland. This attractive building dating from the 18th century, the hotel has been continually renovated and refurbished to a high standard over recent years offering the highest standard of service. Guests of all age groups can soak up the wonderful atmosphere.

All our bedrooms and bathrooms have recently been completely renovated and re-furbished. Whether you prefer a romantic (four-poster) bed with drapes for love's young dream in our bridal suite, or a more modern-style bedroom, our twenty-four individually decorated bedrooms are just waiting for you to arrive. Hunday Manor's beautifully furnished bedrooms all have tea and coffee-making facilities, telephone and television as well as valeting facilities and tasteful en-suite bathrooms.

Attractive presentation of high-quality food in a tasteful atmosphere has established the excellent reputation which the hotel proudly nurtures. Evening guests can choose from a Table d'hôte Menu, offering three courses including coffee and dining à la carte is also possible. Hunday Manor's Sunday lunches are extremely popular and therefore to avoid disappointment reserving a table is the best option. For those who wish to compliment the chefs' delicious creations and celebrate that special occasion in style, there is a good selection of wines. The tasteful and comfortable lounge and lounge bar invites you to enjoy an aperitif, an after-dinner liqueur or coffee, or simply relax with a quiet drink in a cosy and soothing atmosphere.

Whatever the occasion, and whatever the size of your party, Hunday’s expertise is at your service - for christenings, weddings, conferences, funerals, retirement celebrations, and anniversaries. Hunday Manor is also licensed for civil weddings and the large air-conditioned function suite is completely self-contained with its own lounge, stage, dance floor and bar. It also has direct access to the patio and the beautiful gardens and grounds - ideal for wedding photographs or simply to enjoy a stroll during the breaks in conferences. Smaller family gatherings, functions or conferences are just as welcome as large ones and various separate tasteful dining facilities are available to you. For conferences services such as fax, photocopying, flip charts and the use of the hotel's wireless network are available.

Stunning views and some of England's finest scenery provide a backdrop to the wide choice of attractions and things to do in the Lake District. Take a trip to Cumbria and indulge yourself in quality food and drink from cosy Lake District pubs and inns to more formal restaurants. For the more adventurous there are plenty of outdoor activities on offer from walking and cycling to rock climbing and abseiling. If you prefer an amble around the shops and art galleries there is plenty to keep you entertained, with art exhibitions on throughout the year.
Picture of Hunday Manor Country House Hotel, Workington  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great deal great food great stay
Out of the hotels ive stayed in this one was the best, ive gotta say it was that good even the bed was comfy and that's rare for a hotel. The staff were very welcoming and very polite i would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Reviewed by
A Rasmey

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hunday Manor
What a wonderful place . Beautiful outside and in . Staff very friendly . Our room was spotless . Great views .Will return xxxx

Reviewed by
Anthony Thompson

From Bootle, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, great service and the food in the restaurant is really good, and well priced.
Great hotel, great service and the food in the restaurant is really good, and well priced. Comfy bed, decent shower, hotel was quite warm and i noticed there was no heating on, or no that i could see anyway. So you certainly won;t be cold there. The restaurant was very nice, and the food was cooked to a high standard whether you had food from the restaurant menu or from the bar meal section of the menu. I have been to hotels where the food was much higher priced and a lot worse. All in all a really good hotel.

Reviewed by
John C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Great hotel, ideal for a couples getaway ;)

Reviewed by
A Richardson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late booking
I was on a business trip and booked the room through Late Rooms at the last moment, after reading the review both by the description and reviews by other guests.
I was checked in by a very helpful and pleasant young lady, who also served me at the bar later on.
The room was spotless and bathroom sparkling.I had a very peaceful night sleep along with a well stocked selection of teas and coffee available in the room. I had a cooked breakfast again served by a very polite waiter where the food was more than adequately cooked., only one very small thing I would have liked some sauce selection.
Again I was checked out by a very polite member of staff.So much so I rebooked for the following Sunday night.

Reviewed by
D Valentine

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On arriving the staff where very helpful when we checked in and very nice.

Reviewed by
Diane Hardy

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall our stay was excellent the rooms were pristine and comfortable, it's located in a stunning area and would recommend this to any couple that wish to get away from the hustle and bustle of daily routines and life

Reviewed by
L Sime

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
I had stayed here before with work but this was a different visit. The hotel is lovely with excellent food in a beautiful location. Room was very nice. Didn't notice breakfast was not included in the laterooms booking which is something to look for. Also anyone worried about noise from the next door wind farm, there wasn't any.

Reviewed by
R Clark

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stopover
Nice location. Friendly staff. Room was comfortable but not outstanding. Guest book advised there were dressing gowns and disposable terry slippers - but there were none in our room. Okay for a stopover but wouldn't spend more than a night there

Reviewed by
R McKay

From Leven, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very friendly and helpful with directions. The hotel was very clean inside but could have done with the enterance being swept of dead flowers and rubbish put in ash trays were not cleaned out.The grounds were beautiful and as we had nice weather we sat outside early evenings as were others so cleaning of tables would be a good idea. The water fountain could have done with a clean and mend. It was lovely and peacefull and we had a good nights sleep and very good breakfasts, we never ate in the reasturant due to the menu not being changed and also there are a lot of things I dont eat( not their fault) but others that did always remarked how good the food was. We stayed in the four poster bed room which was very nice though the furniture was very dated and the wardrobe was a pain to open and shut. Lovely big shower but could do with being looked at rusty screws on soap containers and the door at the bottom was coming away. These are all silly points but some people would not be happy with after paying £134.00 per night.A lovley hotel the owner should be very proud of his staff they were all brilliant.

Reviewed by
D WELLS

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next