Reviews - Rylstone mere

30 BAGDALE, WHITBY, YO21 1QL

Price From 112.06 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (132)

96% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Gina A

  • January 2016

Weekend Break

Great stay, very friendly and knowledgeable owners and location was perfect.

Room was clean and well-appointed and we enjoyed our breakfast.

  • A Marriott

  • January 2016

Very good experience

Rylstone mere is very friendly and clean run b+b.

The breakfast bought upto your room was very good. The room was very comfortable

The only downside for us was the en suite is slightly small.

  • J Walker

  • December 2015

great location, great place

Fab place will defo go again.

We paid extra for our fab breakfast which was served in the room great idea. Really nice place far more than a b&b more like a boutique hotel. shame price varied by £10 from the original booking via laterooms.com.

  • e williams

  • December 2015

Rylstone mere

Our room was very comfortable and clean, we loved being able to have our breakfast in our room too!

  • garry g

  • October 2015

Nice place

Close to center of Whitby ( couple of min.

walk ) with free parking. Clean, friendly & warm. Will book again

  • Kimberly Phillips

  • October 2015

Lovely place, lovely people

A really nice place.

The room was an economy one so was very small and we were asked when we arrived if we would like to upgrade to a larger room, we decided against as the room we had booked suited us just fine. We arrived much earlier than the check in time and, as we had phoned in advance to let them know this, it was fine. The room and its en-suite were immaculate and the bed was lovely and comfortable. Can't fault the place.

  • anne r

  • September 2015

Excellent, really should be 5 star

The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable.

The owners are very helpful and nothing was to much trouble. Breakfast was wonderful served in our room which was very nice. We did not have to use our car everything was near by, I can`t fault this place. Thank you so much.

  • Gerald B

  • September 2015

Very good all round accommodation

Very helpful and welcoming hosts.

The room was very good if a little small and I found the bed on the hard side. Otherwise, everything was very good. The location was excellent, right opposite a lovely park and only 5 minutes walk from the town. Breakfast was served in the room and was a change from the norm - either smoked haddock and poached egg or smoked salmon with scrambled egg as an alternative to the usual full-English (which was available if you wanted it).

  • J Hallam

  • September 2015

overall impression

We arrived late as travelled from Scotland, we were greeted with a list of house rules and parking procedures.

the front of the property looks smart and inviting this is why i booked, the room we were in was very different

The decoration overall needed updating and smartening up. The room was very basic: we had 3 pillows, luckily one of us only likes one pillow so that saved that decision. The furniture was very rickety so we didn't use it. There was a television, very small screen and we tried to turn it on using both the remote controls but gave up.

The bathroom had been added to the room, but done in such a basic manner it stuck out like a sore thumb, there were towels and 1/2 used anti bacterial soap and 1/2 used shower gel, looked like it had been left by previous occupier. the shower had a shower curtain but i don't know how you could have a shower without soaking the whole bathroom as it was so cramped. there was a balcony, but a note pinned to the door frame with a drawing pin told us we could not go out there as there insurance did not cover anyone being out there. Breakfast was served in the room, the menu looked ok and reasonable but we didn't partake. the book on the table also had a list of house rules including a fine price if you didn't obey them. The lock on the door was most interesting, it consisted of a Yale lock in the top corner of the door so you had to turn the door handle and the Yale key at the same time. Why not have the lock near the door handle

The parking procedure was most peculiar, he asked us to leave our car key in the room just incase he needed to move it to let someone out, i would like to know who's insurance covered this in case of an accident

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review. We have read your comments and believe that you are expressing your opinion. However, it seems to us that because you didnt like the house rules (which most guest houses have for the comfort of all guests) they looked to find all the negative points you could.

The furniture is not rickety at all, it is hand made solid pine, the decor is not in need of smartening up it is in

keeping with the age of the property and also that in 1880 they did not put en-suite bathrooms in bedrooms so hence it had to have been added at later date to try to maintain original features and not take over the whole room.

We pride ourselves in keeping a high 98% recommendation and believe this review to be a total contradiction to all the other reviews we have received.

  • s Fitzpatrick

  • September 2015

Quality and Value at Whitby

great place to stay and explore whitby