No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rylstone mere

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
30 BAGDALE , WHITBY, YO21 1QL
Rylstone Mere is a late Victorian residence retaining many original features with the recently added luxuries such as en-suite facilities . One of our major benifits is off street PRIVATE PARKING , included in our room rate this makes us ideal for those wishing to either explore the surrounding areas or just forget about their cars. We are a genuine 3-4 minute fairly level stroll from the town centre, harbour, pubs and restaurants. Public transport is near at hand with a bus stop just outside and the train/bus station only a
2-3 minutes walk away. All rooms are NON SMOKING and have en-suite shower rooms . BREAKFAST IS NOT INCLUDED IN ROOM RATE, BUT CAN BE PRE- ORDERED WHEN YOU ARRIVE, we serve it directly to the comfort of your room enabling you to begin the day as relaxed and stress free as possible . We are SMALL 8 roomed family run guest house NOT A HOTEL providing comfortable accommodation,but be assured that there will be a warm welcome waiting for you here at Rylstone Mere
Looking forward to seeing you soon WATTY & MICHAELA HELEN & MICHAEL.
Picture of Rylstone mere, WHITBY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 172 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rylstone mere
Superb from beginning to end. We were made to feel very welcome in a home from home environment. The room was tastefully decorated and spotless. On both days, we were served a delicious, freshly cooked breakfast, which we ate in the comfort of our own room. We were sad to leave and we will definitely be going there again soon. The location is a 2 minute walk from all amenities, inclufincluding the train station.

Reviewed by
Lisa Shipman

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money . Very friendly. Lovely breakfast.
Only complaint was the bed was very hard so got no sleep for the 2 nights I stayed

Reviewed by
Gary W

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant stay in a spectacular house!
I came here for a weekend away for Valentines with my boyfriend, and we had a lovely stay. We were greeted by Watty and Micheala who showed us to our rooms and helped us with our bags. We had booked a budget double so weren't expecting a huge room, but we were greeted by a good sized room, enough for the two of us, despite a low beam for my 6 ft something boyfriend being a struggle, but it was in the corner of the room at the bottom of the bed, so didn't pose an issue unless for whatever reason we were reaching into our bags at the bottom of the bed. A nice sized en suite with a lovely shower, which in comparison to our student showers at University was like a luxury massage shower! We were even granted with breakfast on the landing the morning after, which wasn't in the terms of our room since ours was a small room and wasn't supposed to include breakfast, but Watty and Micheala were kind enough to let us have it, and it was delicious! Everything was brilliant and a brilliant price. When we had unpacked we were downstairs about to go out when Watty then told us all of the lovely places to eat, one of which included the Michelin star Greens of Whitby, which is a nicely priced, lovely romantic place to eat, brilliant for couples, but he warned us to book early to avoid disapointment, and it's a good job we did, we got the last table in the place! As the week went on it got lovelier, with a lovely heated corridor and room, and this contributed to us having a lovely nights sleep, despite the road noise when the window was open, which didn't bother us in the slightest. A few minutes from the centre of town and a lovely view surrounding. All in all a lovely stay and was a brilliant few days, lovely clean room and lovely people. Myself and Charles would highly recommend Rylestone Mere if you're looking for a brilliantly looked after home and brilliant service (our shower head broke and Watty came straight upstairs to fix it and didn't leave until it was fixed) and a lovely stay, especially for couples! A must see!
Thanks to Watty and Micheala for making us feel so welcome and enabling us to have breakfast (even though we weren't supposed to have it hehehe). We will definitely be coming again in the not so distant future! :)

Reviewed by
Charles Little

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly recommended stay at Rylstone
a very pleasant stay at an excellent location for Whitby Centre cared for by Excellent Hosts. The Room was Spacious Clean and had everything we needed for a very enjoyable weekend. On site FREE Parking was a Bonus, only equalled by a nice full breakfast delivered to the room each morning. Thank You, will definitely be our first choice when visiting Whitby again.

Reviewed by
d stones

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rylstone mere
Great accommodation good location excellent breakfast!

Reviewed by
W Ripley

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable, clean and friendly accommodation
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and had a very warm and friendly welcome on our arrival, the room was excellent and clean to a high standard, had a wonderful home cooked full english breakfast which was lovely and was brought to our room,we will definately be visiting here again.Thank you for making us feel very much at home.

Reviewed by
Andrea Leng

From Hornsea, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Blustery weekend
Stayed for one night. Small double room facing road. Very clean and comfortable. Slight downside was road traffic noise.

Reviewed by
S Lamb

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent accommodation. spotless & freindly. well worth the money.

Reviewed by
p sherwin

From rotherham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, prime location.
We had a lovely stay, owners were very accommodation and friendly. Location was perfect for exploring Whitby and free parking was an added bonus.

Reviewed by
A Hendry

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
Fantastic room. fantastic breakfast. what more can one say.

Reviewed by
L Welham

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next