No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rylstone mere

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
30 BAGDALE , WHITBY, YO21 1QL

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Small Hotel 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

Rylstone Mere is a late Victorian residence retaining many original features with the recently added luxuries such as en-suite facilities . One of our major benifits is off street PRIVATE PARKING , included in our room rate this makes us ideal for those wishing to either explore the surrounding areas or just forget about their cars. We are a genuine 3-4 minute fairly level stroll from the town centre, harbour, pubs and restaurants. Public transport is near at hand with a bus stop just outside and the train/bus station only a
2-3 minutes walk away. All rooms are NON SMOKING and have en-suite shower rooms . BREAKFAST IS NOT INCLUDED IN ROOM RATE, BUT CAN BE PRE- ORDERED WHEN YOU ARRIVE, we serve it directly to the comfort of your room enabling you to begin the day as relaxed and stress free as possible . We are SMALL 8 roomed family run guest house NOT A HOTEL providing comfortable accommodation,but be assured that there will be a warm welcome waiting for you here at Rylstone Mere
Looking forward to seeing you soon WATTY & MICHAELA HELEN & MICHAEL.
Picture of Rylstone mere, WHITBY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 169 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carls 40th birthday
Welcomed by owners on arrival and showed to rooms , very clean and lovely , breakfast was fab and owners so pleasant throughout our stay would defo stay here again .

Reviewed by
A Banks

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprise at the choice I made.
Excellent accommodation.large room was very comfortable.food spot on and manager more than helpful.would stop again.

Reviewed by
Lawrence Jordan

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great break.
great way to finish off our holiday nice location easy reach for town and harbour.
we only managed to get the small double room a bit noisy on the front and the shower room was one of the smallest I have ever seen but saying that for the price we did not expect a lot.The owners were very friendly and helpful and having a look at the rest of the property it has been furnished to a very high standard would stop there again in one of the larger rooms on the rear of the property.

Reviewed by
s holland

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

get away
The room was clean and a good size the owners were very helpful and friendly the location was good only a short walk from the centre of Whitby. I would recommend this guest house to anyone. Order the cooked breakfast it was excellent. Would definitely use this place again.

Reviewed by
P Keal

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional stay, Our first stay in Whitby and a very good chose of accommodation.
From the off a very warm welcome from Michaela and Watty, was shown to our room by Watty this was the WOW factor it was like a small apartment, room quite spacious and spotlessly clean, highly polished wooden floor, our own little dining area if required meals?? Plus side was the car park at front "god send" for us, Watty was a mind of information, he told us the best restaurant/pub to visit and places to avoid, also the attractions to visit yes enjoyed are stay , would definitely return

Reviewed by
William C

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed in the budget room which was small, but comfortable and clean. The owners were very welcoming and friendly. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend Rylstone mere to family and friends.

Reviewed by
F Measures

From Nottingham, USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Undiscovered Gem!!!
I booked Rylstone Mere for 2 nights to celebrate mine and my fiancée's anniversary. We both love Whitby anyway and try to find any excuse to get up there. We did arrive early but Watty came to greet us at the door and explained that our room was the first one to be changed ready for our arrival. Watty took our bags and showed us to our room, what can I say it was spectacular. I had booked the budget room at £49 per night so wasn't expecting The Ritz.... but we were both pleasantly surprised!! The Room was absolutely beautiful, had it own little on suite bathroom, yeah it was small but it was big enough for us. The Rest of the property was absolutely stunning too. Definitely going to make another trip up soon and stay here again.... Highly recommend if you are looking for a quiet weekend away. Thank you so much!!

Reviewed by
Chris Megson

From Derby, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location for Whitby town center and for 1 great parking space

Reviewed by
DAVID M

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal place to stay in Whitby
Ideal place has parking and short distance to walk to centre 5 mins maximum . Very clean, friendly you couldn't want more. Highly recommend .

Reviewed by
E Dickinson

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

does what it says on the tin
very nice little B&B bathroom a little tight but everything else first class.

Reviewed by
Neil L

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next