No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rylstone mere

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
30 BAGDALE , WHITBY, YO21 1QL

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Small Hotel 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

Rylstone Mere is a late Victorian residence retaining many original features with the recently added luxuries such as en-suite facilities . One of our major benifits is off street PRIVATE PARKING , included in our room rate this makes us ideal for those wishing to either explore the surrounding areas or just forget about their cars. We are a genuine 3-4 minute fairly level stroll from the town centre, harbour, pubs and restaurants. Public transport is near at hand with a bus stop just outside and the train/bus station only a
2-3 minutes walk away. All rooms are NON SMOKING and have en-suite shower rooms . BREAKFAST IS NOT INCLUDED IN ROOM RATE, BUT CAN BE PRE- ORDERED WHEN YOU ARRIVE, we serve it directly to the comfort of your room enabling you to begin the day as relaxed and stress free as possible . We are SMALL 8 roomed family run guest house NOT A HOTEL providing comfortable accommodation,but be assured that there will be a warm welcome waiting for you here at Rylstone Mere
Looking forward to seeing you soon WATTY & MICHAELA HELEN & MICHAEL.
Picture of Rylstone mere, WHITBY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 178 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation, we were made to feel very welcome, and would recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From Woodhall Spa, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
My wife & I stayed for 2 nights, the whole experience was first class from the moment we arrived. We stayed in room 1 & found it first class & very warm. The breakfast was not included in the room price but ordered it & was delivered to the room, it was red hot & well worth a try.
Would definitely recommend the Rylstone Mere.

Reviewed by
chris stevenson

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great find, convenient and with parking
A great stay, well placed for Whiby Station, harbour, restaurants etc the B&B owners were very friendly and helpful.
Room was spacious, quiet and a comfy bed. The off road parking is really useful in Whitby but also
good for those arriving by public transport as handy for buses and trains (including steam trains). We ate breakfast on one morning, good to have the choice and having it brought to your room makes a different experience.

Reviewed by
Julia G

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and clean and handy for walking into the town

Reviewed by
J Cameron

From Helensburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice place to stay
Great host's and very friendly,differently go back

Reviewed by
Nick Hird

From Barnoldswick, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant place ideal location
would not hesitate to stay here again been t whitby many times and this is one of the best we have stayed . great breakfast which you just write down what you want on a pad in reception the night before then they bring it to your room .we loved it . great friendly hosts and yea the parking is a big bonus too just across from pannett park and a 5 min walk into the town .

Reviewed by
d fern

From stoke on trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Downtown whitby
The convenience of downtown parking and the excellent accommodation is highly recommended. Do take the breakfast as this was excellent too.

Reviewed by
Brian T

From Dronfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B
My partner and I stayed at the hotel at the beginning of the week. We were met when we arrived, and were given very helpful information about Whitby and eating out - it had been a busy week, and we were advised to book in advance to avoid missing out.
The room was very comfortable, and despite being on the main road, we had no problems with getting to sleep through traffic. The breakfast was delicious as well, and just what we needed before an dafter travelling!

Reviewed by
C Prescott

From Musselburgh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant base to explore Whitby and the surrounding area
We were welcomed by the owners, Watty and Michaela, who are a genuinely friendly couple and made us feel welcome right from when we first arrived. They offered some great advice about places to visit and how to get around easily.
The room was very pleasant, clean and the bed was comfortable - what more could you ask for? The B&B is within a couple of minutes walk of the town centre and you park right outside, so no worries about finding a place to leave your car. Breakfast is optional but if you do choose to take that option, it is delivered directly to your room (quite unique in my experience) and there are some tasty options to try. Our room had a small table and chairs to enjoy our full English cooked breakfast and my favourite, the smoked salmon scrambled eggs.
Surely the best recommendation is if you would choose to stay somewhere again and I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Rylstone Mere if I returned to Whitby.

Reviewed by
Michael B

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the best
Having just returned from a weekend stay at Rylstone Mere in Whitby we can certainly say this is a excellent place to stay. 5 mins walk to the railway station and the harbour etc. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful and very clean. We had room 3 which had a lovey view of Pannet Park. Breakfast was delicious and served in your room which is a fantastic idea. We will certainly be returning and will recommend this b n b to family and friends.

Reviewed by
Patricia W

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next