No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bagshaw Hall and Sleep Lodge

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Bagshaw Hill, Bakewell, DE45 1DL
Bagshaw Hall provides a unique and special opportunity to stay in an building with over 300 years of history, which has recently been converted to a very high standard in a contemporary style complimenting the historic features of the Hall.
Sleep Lodge provides premier accommodation in spacious and contemporary bedrooms in the grounds of Bagshaw Hall with panoramic views of Bakewell.
Bakewell is the capital of the Peak District and we are in a peaceful, elevated and central location, from where it is easy to access the local facilities and plentiful nearby attractions and activities.
We offer a choice of luxury boutique style bedrooms, some budget accommodation, contemporary accommodation, suites and apartments with self catering facilities in THE HALL, and contemporary accommodation in THE SLEEPLODGE, all with continental breakfast as an extra
We provide flexibility that a traditional hotel or bed and breakfast accommodation does not offer, which is perfect for individuals, couples, families, business travellers and groups, for an overnight stay, weekend break or a week's holiday.
Private dining and meeting rooms are available for reservation in Bagshaw Hall and there is dedicated conference centre just one minute's walk away
Payment terms are cash/cheque on arrival please - .Any credit card payments attract 2.5% bank charge
Picture of Bagshaw Hall and Sleep Lodge, Bakewell at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 69 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little stay
We were impressed with our view, a lovely stay in a lovely town.

Reviewed by
Jane A

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room
My wife and I stayed in the Ranulf Ffienes room, in the Sleep Lodge, for 2 nights. It was a lovely room - big, with a big comfortable bed and 2 chairs (unusual to have comfortable seating in a hotel these days). There was a fridge (great for wine and beer - oh, and food) hotplate and microwave. It was all that was needed, but to call it a kirchenette is a bit pretentious!
The en suite bathroom was roomy as well, with separate bath and shower. It was a good shower, too.
We order the cooked breakfast, which was delivered to the room every morning - unusual, but a great idea, as we could eat in private, at our leisure.
The room, overall was great, but, again, to call it a suite is a bit pretentious! The price was a bit high, but then prices in Bakewell are.
Overall, a good stay, and we would probably go back to Bagshaw.
Just a note about the name - 'Sleep Lodge' sounds a bit cheap - we nearly didn't book. Calling it something like 'Bagshaw Lodge' would capture it's character more.

Reviewed by
Pete M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just brilliant
We travelled as a couple and stayed in the penthouse suite for one night. The room itself was wonderful, and though we treated it as a hotel room more than a holiday apartment, the facilities for cooking were excellent. The lack of a traditional reception was a plus - we felt alone in the best possible sense, but were able to have any queries answered immediately. Though we didn't have breakfast at Bagshaw Hall, if it is anything like the rest of out brief stay there it would be nothing short of excellent. I would highly recommend it.

Reviewed by
Simon H

From Edgware, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good clean ,

Reviewed by
l webster

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, modern clean & comfortable

Reviewed by
v woodger

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor value for money
Clean accommodation, with good car parking. However essentially this is a travel lodge costing £100 a night. It represents poor valu for money
No complimentary shampoo, no functioning Wi Fi .
Bakewell is great, but we will not be staying here again

Reviewed by
N Carver

From Letchworth Garden City, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Deeply disappointing
I had booked this as a romantic break.I had booked on the only basis available,being minimum 3 days cancellation notice.I considered that safe,as the reviews were generally excellent,and the photographs showing seemIngly lovely accomodation in the tastefully modernised splendour of an historic stone built hall.We arrived late afternoon on a beautiful sunny day,after a long journey.What greeted us was the opposite of the image created.Heavily faded elegance would politely describe the (staffless) reception hall.A scruffy note directs new arrivals to call a mobile number.Georgina answers and tells you that someone will come to show you to your room.A surly young lady arrived,making no conversation other than telling me I would need to move my car.Our room - cheap furnishings in poor condition,ingrained dirt,tatty en-suite;;and a microwave,as apparently this stay for which we had paid £216 for one night,had no restaurant or alternative dining facilities.We called Georgina again.She had us shown another room.It was but marginally better.But what remained of course,was the absence of any staff,facilities or cleanliness.We left and drove to stay in a bland chain hotel in Derby,romantic break somewhat flat,£216 down and even a partial refund refused.A deeply disappointing experience,resulting from a profoundly misleading profile and price.We regularly stay in hotels worldwide for both business and pleasure and have never before felt compelled to leave a damning review.

Reviewed by
Paul Raeburn

From Lochgilphead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suited us well
Comfortable accommodation but room getting a little 'tired around the edges', loose toilet seat, loose bathroom door handle, wifi next to useless, etc., but only little niggles generally. Staff very friendly and helpful, and all other issues could be forgiven for the perfect situation and great view, we would happily go back in the future. 10% discount for guests available at the 'Pointing Dog & Duck', not well publicised but a worthwhile benefit at a very nice local restaurant.

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful weekend, made more special by the sumptuous room - and a great place to propose to my, now, fiancée.

Reviewed by
Gordon S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was verymodern and spacious. Cooked breakfast erved in room was brilliant. But could do with a bit of a dust. Otherwise perfect.

Reviewed by
Martin P

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next