No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Barns

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Home Farm, Shadow Brook Lane hampton-in-arden, Solihull, B92 0DG
The Barns is situated on a working farm approx. 1 mile from the National Exhibition Centre and LG Arena, 2 miles from the International Airport and Birmingham International Rail Station, 8 miles from Birmingham City Centre, NIA arena and the IPC centre.
Hampton-in-Arden railway station is just a short walk away providing a service to the NEC and Birmingham every 30 mins !!
We have 11 bedrooms all with ensuite baths/showers , T.V,Hospitality trays etc.....A guests lounge is also available throughout your stay!
A good hearty english breakfast is served in true Farmhouse style, freshly prepared and cooked on the 'Aga'
We have Double bed/twin bed combinations plus 2 family rooms sleeping 3 and 4 persons.
Picture of The Barns, Solihull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient overnight for the airport
The accommodation was exactly what we required and the service was friendly and very good.

Reviewed by
D Wood

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

an excellent find
Anyone flying from Birmingham airport or going to the NEC must use this accommodation. Excellent hospitality and close to the venue for our Robbie Williams concert.

Reviewed by
H Atkins

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Homely Place With Friendly People
Stayed one night when going to a party at Rugby club very close to airport. Before we arrived, I had a very friendly call from Kerry, the owner, to check our arrival time and she provided local taxi details for us. They even offered to look out for taxi and come and get us from room when it arrived! Room and bathroom spotless - not flashy or trendy but who cares? Room was not large but we didn't need much space - only thing that could have been a little better would be to have some sort of table/shelf with mirror for doing make-up, hair etc, but decent mirror in bathroom and full length one on bedroom wall. Bathroom layout was a little odd - making it rather cramped to sit on the loo (possibly awkward for disabled persons, which this hotel is otherwise good for being all on one level). Even though it is very close to M42, traffic noise was not a problem - a muted hum which would only disturb the most fussy. Inevitably a bit of noise from airport - but it didn't bother us and to be fair we slept with the window open as it was warm. Breakfast was lovely and served in a quaint little dining room. A very friendly, homely and relaxing place to stay - no hesitation in recommending this for airport stopover or trip to NEC etc.

Reviewed by
Emma S

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice accommodation with friendly staff, clean rooms with good facilities. Would definitely stay again. Within easy reach to the NEC.

Reviewed by
D Welsh

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
Friendly & very accommodating, lovely cooked breakfast in the morning & extremely flexible with plans!
I would definitely recommend & if I'm ever back in Birmingham, I would definitely stay here again!
Thanks for having us!
Ryan & Jen

Reviewed by
Ryan D

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B

Reviewed by
luke s

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice B&B with good welcome and breakfast; basic, but good value
Room basic, but met my overnight accommodation need. Very good location for National Motorcycle Museum where I was heading the next day. Would also be good for NEC. Had wifi, but very slow, so perhaps not a good base if you intend to be doing a lot of computer work. Proximity to Birmingham International airport might be an inconvenience if, like me, you like the windows to be open while sleeping but, unlike me, are not deaf. Double glazing had a good gap though, so if closed sound insulation is good. A very nice 'full English' breakfast. Welcoming host.

Reviewed by
Philip B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a find!
A real gem, hidden in the countryside and just 5 minutes from the NEC. My family and I visited the Gadget Show live over the Easter holiday and were delighted with the warm welcome and comfortable family room at the Barns. We had a delicious full English breakfast included at the time of our choosing, Would highly recommend!

Reviewed by
c smith

From Broadstone, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent friendly accomodation
this was a lovely place to stay with our 2 older children after visiting the Birmingham NEC. Room was very spacious and kids had their own beds unlike the travel lodges. owner was very welcoming and made a fantastic breakfast. would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
michele t

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Maintenance required!
Bedroom 1 had poor quality badly maintained headboard which banged against the wall every time you moved and cheap foam mattresses. There were old blankets, socks and hanky in the drawers. The bathroom was very clean. The bed had blankets and very thin old sheets.
Moved to Bedroom 8 which was smaller but had a better mattress again the bed had blankets and very thin old sheets.
Cooked breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
SHARON G

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next