No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Barns

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Home Farm, Shadow Brook Lane hampton-in-arden, Solihull, B92 0DG
The Barns is situated on a working farm approx. 1 mile from the National Exhibition Centre and LG Arena, 2 miles from the International Airport and Birmingham International Rail Station, 8 miles from Birmingham City Centre, NIA arena and the IPC centre.
Hampton-in-Arden railway station is just a short walk away providing a service to the NEC and Birmingham every 30 mins !!
We have 11 bedrooms all with ensuite baths/showers , T.V,Hospitality trays etc.....A guests lounge is also available throughout your stay!
A good hearty english breakfast is served in true Farmhouse style, freshly prepared and cooked on the 'Aga'
We have Double bed/twin bed combinations plus 2 family rooms sleeping 3 and 4 persons.
Picture of The Barns, Solihull at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We loved this B & B
We loved this B & B, everything about it was great. The location is perfect for the NEC which is where we were going. The owners were lovely and couldn't do enough for you and they do a wicked breakfast! The room was lovely, really comfortable. We can't recommend this place enough. We will definitely stay there again when we are in that area, it's perfect.

Reviewed by
Karen McIntyre

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Farm with Accommodation.
Good accommodation for a short stay with mates. Not somewhere for a romantic get away. Drive to parking was like going through a farm yard (in fact it was). Ground floor bathroom had no curtain, opaque glass and net curtain but not for the shy.
If you walk to the station or village take a torch. Road unlit without pavement. Accommodation could have benefited from better lighting for those walking around the building. Easy to trip in the dark. Basic accommodation, good breakfast, friendly welcome, and worth the money. Don't exoect too much and you won't be disappointed. Met the needs for a trip tothd NEC. Ststion15 minutes walk the. Just one stop to NEC. Ideal.

Reviewed by
David H

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for NEC and Birmingham City Centre and Keri was very kind and drove us to the local station (only 15 minutes walk) to catch the train into the city.

Reviewed by
Gary Holroyd

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
Couldn't ask for more, clean, warm and really close to the NEC
Will definitely stay again

Reviewed by
Philip P

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but needs polishing!
Very Friendly and helpful host, rooms dated, some things need attention. Breakfast a dissapointment for a farm house B&B, a little basic could be so much better. Good location for LG Arena

Reviewed by
R Richards

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we wanted !
A great welcome and a lovely place to stay too.

Reviewed by
Ian marshall

From Denbigh, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So impressed!Kerri went above & beyond to look after us after we had train problems!Would recommend!
I want to thank Kerri so much for looking after us. The Barns are a beautiful B&B, a lovely little retreat, would have loved to have stayed there longer to actually take advantage of the lovely room and settings. Incredible value for money. Not to be confused with the Barns housing in a village not far away... learnt that the hard way! I would recommend this place to anyone. Many Thanks!

Reviewed by
A Coney

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ancient farmhouse in an unlikely setting
The farm is situated in the improbable situation of a little hamlet close to the end of the runway of Birmingham International Airport. A delightful, quirky house and family home. My room was in the ancient part of the house, but some modern units are situated in the converted outhouses. I was very well looked after and much enjoyed my stay. The noise of aircraft taking off ceased at about 9pm and restarted at about 6am

Reviewed by
John Barkham

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dinners not a option
The owner is lovely and the rooms are fairly clean. Only down side was TV was a little dated I had no WIFI connection in room. If you were hungry in the evenings you had to go into the village which is about a mile and a half away to get food. Did a good Eggs and bacon.

Reviewed by
David R

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value for the money
We enjoyed our stay at the Barns, the owner and her mother were lovely and very helpful - We were going to a wedding nearby and felt comfortable to come and go from the B & B as we pleased - I found the bed very lumpy and uncomfortable though, which was a shame, so I did not sleep at all well. The room appeared a bit dusty and the bed could have done with a duvet too! The breakfast was very good and it was nice to be given a choice as to what time to have it and not to feel rushed at all - everything one could want was on offer. The stay was adequate for our needs (accept our bed) and we found the area very pretty as we drove back to London through Warwickshire. To sum up the B & B suited our needs and was very good value for money.

Reviewed by
J O'Sullivan

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next