Reviews - La Fontana Italian Restaurant with Rooms


Oxford Road, East Hanney,, Wantage, OX12 0HP

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (32)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Anna Murgatroyd

  • August 2014


The room it was given was in a separate building-a barn conversion I think.

The room was clean with everything I required. I think if you were taller you may struggle with the sloping ceiling in this room but this was not a problem for me. The first night the lights were not working-this was rectified when I notified the staff the following day. A cooked breakfast was included and the servic

  • michael butcher

  • August 2014

Enjoyable stay

The staff were very friendly and the food was outstanding.

  • N Swann

  • July 2014

Friendly family atmosphere excellent service & food shame about the bed

We had a very nice experience during our stay, the service and food was excellent & staff were friendly & welcoming.

The room was spacious & clean the only thing that let it down for us was a skylight instead of a window which made the room very hot & airless, no aircon, bed was very uncomfortable we had trouble sleeping and there were loose floor tiles in the bathroom & the walls were shabby & the decor looked tired. Would stay again but not in room 7

  • Kevin Ellis

  • July 2014

We stayed in the hotel from Friday till monday as we traveled from the northeast to a wedding in a near by village room was very good.

And staff very friendly.

  • Michael Dixon

  • June 2014

Hotel and restaurant review

had the premier room most expensive in hotel very nice and clean.

Nice bath hot tub style bath with TV...Restaurant quite old fashioned but OK. The staff you could tell didnt want to be there (think they all one family)...Food OK

In truth I have stayed in Much better and better value for money suspect this is the going rate for location.

  • Gavin W

  • June 2014

Still no TV reception

I have stayed before and the TV reception is unsatisfactory - in some rooms.

This is certainly the case in the room I stayed in in the annex. There were NO watchable channels in the bedroom, although there was a good working wide-screen TV in the comfortable seating area in the lobby to the annex but his is not such a satisfactory solution. The bedroom was superficially clean & tidy, but more tidy than clean.

It could do with a deep clean and attention to fixing some loose fittings. I can't help thinking that the preponderance of furnishings, cushions, pillows etc (only 8 this time) would make cleaning a bit easier and quickly restore it to a high standard. Otherwise satisfactory.

  • Richard W

  • April 2014

A nice experience

I had passed this place a few times and decided to give it a try.

Friendly people, lots of regulars eating and nice service. On the last night I settled up as I was leaving before breakfast the next morning and was offered juice, cereal etc to be left out for me. A really nice touch. I will stay there again.

  • Mark G

  • March 2014

Excellent place to stay.

What a refreshing change to the local Premier Inn.


  • March 2014

Very good stay

Very good stay- room clean and comfortable.

Evening meal and breakfast both very good and generous portions.

  • narinder c

  • December 2013

good stay

nice room with good facilities.

friendly staff and good food. nice stay.