No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Peacock

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Peacock, Bridge Street, Bakewell, DE45 1DS
The Peacock is a traditional, friendly pub situated in picturesque Bakewell in the heart of the Peak District National Park. We offer Bed and Breakfast accommodation and have five bedrooms each with en-suite bath or shower, washbasin and WC, tea and coffee making facilities, TV and radios. Wifi Internet access from all rooms. Our bar is a great meeting place and we have a comfortably furnished dining area offering varied menu with a wide range of specials. The many attractions of the Peak District are within easy reach, as is Alton Towers.
Picture of The Peacock, Bakewell at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed for only 1 night, and the whole experience was superb . Both food &staff were fantastic.
We thought the cost of the room was I little over priced for a room only booking. Other than that the whole stay was really faultless and the staff and especially the owner were friendly very helpful and well organized . We will most definitely be returning.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Congleton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place good food, not sure what the rooms were 'superior' to they nice but average! food was superb both bar and breakfast

Reviewed by
Marie B

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good price accomodation for the centre of town . Excellent food. The best quality, taste and generous portion size . You must eat here even if your not staying.
Very friendly staff and owner. We will return .

Reviewed by
c harris

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable hotel. Price seems high but was in keeping with the general prices in the area.

Reviewed by
Douglas Troup

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good all round, excellent base for the area.

Reviewed by
Michael Edwards

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite a walk to accomodation,we did,nt take cases,we had to walk back to car,drop cases off on busy road,then take car back then walk back to room,by this time we,d lost our parking space in the very small car park.missing a toaster could do with one. Tv kept fusing then certain lights and fridge going off.blinds to skylight windows not working good job I had eye mask.have to walk through private courtyard where the house next door had washing line,bikes,table,we felt we were intruding walking through there property.

Reviewed by
J Leigh

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but expensive
The room was spotlessly clean and the service was friendly. The room suffered a lot from ambient noise from the beer garden although this did stop at around 11pm. The plumbing upstairs was also very noisy! Food was good but somewhat expensive. The breakfasts were definitely overpriced at £9.99 per person. The latter was well presented but nothing special for the price.

Reviewed by
Andrew J

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect place in perfect location??
Second time staying in the Peacock, this time we had superior room it was lovely,great value for money, it was large but cozy& very clean.the peacock is situated in a great spot in beautiful Bakewell, would highly recommend , will be back next year.

Reviewed by
Carla A

From , England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding Anniversary break in The Peak District
Although we were expecting to stay in the pub, we were taken to a studio 300m away. The landlord assured us it would be a good place to stay for a wedding anniversary celebration. It was a fantastic building, a studio with a lockable courtyard with table and chairs, BBQ, with stone wall surround. The accommodation was very good, more than an average hotel room. Very good, clean, comfortable double bed, sitting room, shower room. Tea/coffee making facilities, etc. However, the floors were less than clean. The toilet seat was loose. The long shower was unnecessary because the shower dribbled just vertically next to the wall and it was hard to get wet. The TV was very hard and long-winded to activate. The courtyard needed to be weeded which would have taken less than an hour. Interestingly, the studio was up for sale, so the new owners would probably rectify all these problems.

Reviewed by
E Goulding

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food and charming, helpful staff.

Reviewed by
D Bennett

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next