No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Chichester Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
38 West Street, , , Chichester, PO19 1RP
The Chichester is a traditional Inn, Grade 2 listed and dating from 1785, conveniently located within the old city walls and a short walk to the Cathedral, Festival Theatre and Pallant House Gallery. With its separate dining and entertainment bars, heated courtyard garden, accommodation and free car park, this friendly and comfortable pub is a great local meeting place and base to explore picturesque Chichester, Goodwood, the South Downs and nearby sandy beaches. An extensive range of home cooked meals, bar snacks and seasonal specials using some of the best locally sourced produce are served all day. Local real ales, lagers and fine wines may be enjoyed in the dining bar with open log fire, entertainments bar or south facing heated courtyard garden. The dining bar is available for private hire to enjoy your special celebration with a meal or party buffet, and a large shelter is provided in the garden for smokers.
Picture of The Chichester Inn, Chichester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
john mccormack

From Taunton, England
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

graduation

Reviewed by
Maureen S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Away from the madening crowd
Perfectly located , ten minutes walk to the Cathederal / Market Place
Beautifully decorated and furnished room , excellent light lunch and breakfast
We will be back soon

Reviewed by
Ray Baker

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little gem
wish i had known of this place before.lovely room great food in the centre of town

Reviewed by
micheal c

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Night at the Chichester Inn !
We were greeted at about 3pm , and we paid before going to our room . the young man offered help, then carried one of our bags .
Our room was very clean with a southerly outlook, though the traffic noise was loud when the doors to our balcony were open. We found two nice wooden folding chairs in the wardrobe!We had a Pint and a half of well kept real ale and watched the world go by in the sun on our balcony.
Half the floor had very squeeky floorboards,which may have been a problem to other guests , as we got "home" at about 2am on Sunday !. We slept V. well! (very comfy bed) and had an excellent Full English breakfast in the morning. Very good service. Very clean and attractive. a bit pricey I thought, but we could not get any cheaper in Chichester only booking a week in advance.

Reviewed by
Mark W

From Littlehampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Goodwood revival week
accomodation fine normally 90 pounds per night but this week prices were crazy at 220, cant blame them but for an inn a bit over the top. Would stay again in normal season/week

Reviewed by
Ian A

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well situated in the center of the city. Staff are friendly and helpful food and service is good an enjoyable experience

Reviewed by
B Cooke

From Whitstable, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good view
The room had recently been upgraded and decorated and had a good view over an open area although the Inn was situated very close to the city center.

Reviewed by
Brian C

From Whitstable, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old world charm with a warm and welcoming feel
This one is for those who love traditional British inns that have preserved their character over the years. From the stoney walls to the sun-trap beer garden, Chichester Inn is an ideal getaway on a budget that does not compromise on ambience.
The owner/manager is an extremely friendly host. He has decorated his ancient establishment with some interesting knick-knacks collected on his travels around the world.
The rooms are fairly basic and the bathrooms can feel a bit pokey but for the price you will pay to be within accessible reach of some of the best sites of the area, it all feels worth it!

Reviewed by
Aditi K

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was shut when we arrived! We needed to phone Laterooms to trigger the proprietor to attend
This is a pub which offers dated rooms. Admittedly it was out of season but it hardly compares with a similar price-range hotel. The breakfast was good however.

Reviewed by
Robin H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next