No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Chichester Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
38 West Street, , , Chichester, PO19 1RP
The Chichester is a traditional Inn, Grade 2 listed and dating from 1785, conveniently located within the old city walls and a short walk to the Cathedral, Festival Theatre and Pallant House Gallery. With its separate dining and entertainment bars, heated courtyard garden, accommodation and free car park, this friendly and comfortable pub is a great local meeting place and base to explore picturesque Chichester, Goodwood, the South Downs and nearby sandy beaches. An extensive range of home cooked meals, bar snacks and seasonal specials using some of the best locally sourced produce are served all day. Local real ales, lagers and fine wines may be enjoyed in the dining bar with open log fire, entertainments bar or south facing heated courtyard garden. The dining bar is available for private hire to enjoy your special celebration with a meal or party buffet, and a large shelter is provided in the garden for smokers.
Picture of The Chichester Inn, Chichester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well situated in the center of the city. Staff are friendly and helpful food and service is good an enjoyable experience

Reviewed by
B Cooke

From Whitstable, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good view
The room had recently been upgraded and decorated and had a good view over an open area although the Inn was situated very close to the city center.

Reviewed by
Brian C

From Whitstable, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old world charm with a warm and welcoming feel
This one is for those who love traditional British inns that have preserved their character over the years. From the stoney walls to the sun-trap beer garden, Chichester Inn is an ideal getaway on a budget that does not compromise on ambience.
The owner/manager is an extremely friendly host. He has decorated his ancient establishment with some interesting knick-knacks collected on his travels around the world.
The rooms are fairly basic and the bathrooms can feel a bit pokey but for the price you will pay to be within accessible reach of some of the best sites of the area, it all feels worth it!

Reviewed by
Aditi K

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was shut when we arrived! We needed to phone Laterooms to trigger the proprietor to attend
This is a pub which offers dated rooms. Admittedly it was out of season but it hardly compares with a similar price-range hotel. The breakfast was good however.

Reviewed by
Robin H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5 STAR all the way
The owners got my short break off to a wonderful start with the warmest of welcomes which was maintained throughout my stay (I left feeling more like a family friend that a paying guest!) The room I was offered was immaculate and extremely comfortable. A great selection of delicious food (generously portioned too) was on offer (as well as the superb breakfast) and the prices were more than reasonable.
I can't recommend the place highly enough and already plan to return to this ideally located hotel within the next few months.

Reviewed by
Michael D

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Stay
The room was comfortable and clean. I had a good sleep. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful. The Inn was right in the centre of the city and had a private car park. The service was excellent.

Reviewed by
Jack Swain

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms tired, Hotel generally cluttered, Overpriced. Not recommended

Reviewed by
Peter J

From Corbtidge, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traditional pub, great location
Let me say the best things first. The landlord and his son were very friendly, relaxed and welcoming. The breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed some jazz in the bar on the second evening there. The location is excellent, just 200 yards or so along the main street to the cathedral and the rest of the city centre. The room itself had a tiny, though adequately useable, bathroom, and a similarly tiny space for hanging clothes. All the same, for the convivial atmosphere and the great location (and moderate price) we would gladly stay there again on our next visit to Chichester.

Reviewed by
Mark L

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing Chichester accomodation.
The Inn Keeper gave a very warm welcome, carrying my suitcase to the room. He was always polite and interested in my reason for staying in Chichester.
However the room was disappointingly dusty and the bathroom small and dingy, particularly the shower tray and curtain. The cutlery was also not properly washed. I had hoped for better and envied friends who had stayed in other, cheaper, cleaner accommodation.

Reviewed by
C Power

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chichester Inn Review
The pub was mercifully quiet (though I would have not minded it being busy in the evenings). The Landlord was friendly and looked after us well, however the stairs, hallway and rooms could really do with a 'lift'. The breakfast was extremely greasy which marred the flavour. However, I would stay there again, and make use of the location, and sample more of the fantastic ale.

Reviewed by
Stephen P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next