No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Fox Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Fox Lane SOULDERN, SOULDERN, OX27 7JW
The Fox Is nestled in the picturesque village of Souldern.
Close to M40 junction 10. Bicester and Banbury are both only 15 minutes away by car.

The Fox has 4 ensuite letting rooms. All our rooms have wi-fi, tea/coffee making facilities, TV with freeview and radio.

The cosy fire side bar has 3 real ales ( 2 which constantly rotate ) which are cask marque acreddited.
We serve traditional style home cooked meals in either the bar or dining room.
For those long summer nights we have a large patio & beer garden.
The Fox is closed between 3pm & 5pm so you will be unable to check in during these times.
Picture of The Fox Inn, SOULDERN at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Small Inn with BIG Service
This was our second stay and it was every bit as good as the first. The welcome was warm and friendly. We were offered help with our bags and shown up to our. We were offered a meal but chose to have a snack which was delivered promptly and beautifully cooked to our room. Breakfast was excellent and served at a time to suit us. In all we were made to feel very special.

Reviewed by
D Nicol

From Oakham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby (not chic)
Overdue a lick of paint, bedrooms look scruffy, light bulbs out in bar, general lack of attention to detail. In its favour the food and both real ales were good. Wouldn't serve breakfast before 8.00 which was a bit inconvenient, and choice was very limited, but the cooked breakfast was good quality. Poor electric shower with insufficient water pressure. Came away feeling shortchanged.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful village location. Very helpful and friendly management and staff

Reviewed by
D Proctor

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we were after
Good choice of beer and a nice menu, fantastic beer garden.
We really enjoyed walking in the local area and our room was lovely.

Reviewed by
Katie H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Small Hotel witrh a Big heart
We arrived and were given a very warm welcome. From start to finish nothing was too much trouble. When we wanted a snack at 10pm because we had worked most of the evening it was brought to our rom and was delicious and excellent value for money. Breakfast was provided at our convenience was high quality and efficiently served. With only 4 rooms and a small car park its not a venue for a large group but for a couple on a break its ideal. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Reviewed by
D Nicol

From Oakham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Pleasant clean room, with comfortable bed and soft duvet. Rather unusual as open plan bathroom to the bedroom.Stairs up to the rooms rather dirty but slept well and enjoyed the cooked breakfast in the sunny dining room.

Reviewed by
Jeremy A

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable accommodation
Very clean comfortable and friendly service. Food excellent.

Reviewed by
B Stewart

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely and Friendly
We found the Fox Inn to be a lovely and friendly pub in the beautiful little village of Souldern. We didn't have dinner there so can't comment on the evening meals. The full English breakfast, however, was hot and filling. Served by 2 very charming and happy gentlemen.
Our room was a double - it was clean and comfy. There was a TV, radio, hairdryer and kettle with a range of hot drinks to choose from. The bathroom looked like it had recently been updated, and again it was clean and what you would expect from a bathroom in a B&B! There was no bath, but that was no issue for us. The one slight drawback was it was open plan, so no door on the bathroom. I can't comment on the set up of the other rooms, so check before booking if this is an issue for you.
Overall we were very happy with our stay. We didn't hear any noise from the pub and would be more than happy to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Cathy A

From Kintbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overnighter
Very Friendly, Clean and good value. Enjoy

Reviewed by
A Broughton

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Breakfast and a quite and peaceful nights sleep
Room was good value for money. It was well presented and clean. The bathroom was also very clean and well laid out.
Comfortable bed and we had a very good nights sleep.
We were served a wonderful English breakfast which set us up for the day.
Lovely people!

Reviewed by
Rakhitha Dias

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next