No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Minster Hotel

3Self Classified Metro Hotel Ratings explained
58-60 BOOTHAM , YORK, YO30 7BZ
Drive in and park your car on site, once you have checked in you are ideally placed to enjoy all that York has to offer. You are now just a two minute stroll from the majestic York Minster and all the history and beauty of the walled city of York. With a choice of thirty-four bedrooms we have everything you could ask for to make your stay truly memorable.

Traditionally styled single, double or family rooms to the romance of one of our four-poster bedrooms. Complimentary tea and coffee making facilities are in each room, flat screen T.V.s, and of course each morning we serve a fabulous full English breakfast or extensive cold buffet. Wifi is available free in the public areas.

We also have a fully stocked bar and extensive wine list available for residents. Whilst there is no restaurant at The Minster we are able to recommend and book local restaurants for you.
Picture of The Minster Hotel, YORK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 69 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Hotel for visiting York!
This Hotel is very convenient for the centre of York and has a car park. It is spotlessly clean and the staff are professional, polite and friendly. The breakfast is superb and the price is very fair for a beautiful hotel with everything you need.

Reviewed by
P Wilson

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top Rate
Excellent size room, great location just outside the city walls, great Breakfast. Nothing too much trouble. A bathmat was needed but immediately provided and breakfast eggs overcooked and replaced with no fuss.

Reviewed by
Peter L

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Minster Hotel
The minster hotel was the best we have stayed in as yet on our many trips to York and we would stay again in the future. Nothing was too much trouble the staff are second to none the hotel is very clean and the breakfast was excellent and it is in a very good location .

Reviewed by
Steven Terry

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Minster Hotel
This hotel was ideally placed for exploring York and an added bonus was being able to leave the car parked at the hotel during the day, so avoiding parking charges, which are high. Would definitely return, it suited us perfectly.

Reviewed by
G Scarlett

From Ambleside, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really friendly hotel

Reviewed by
Gemma C

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Twixmas 2014 in York
We had a wonderful break at the Minster. You cannot fault the staff or service. And the location is without doubt excellent.

Reviewed by
Clive K

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Minster Hotel
Beautiful small hotel. Fabulously situated within walking distance.Very helpful staff couldnt fault the place. Private parking behind hotel which was great as we didnt need the car we could just walk. We stayed in the private annex behind the hotel which was quiet and private with our own key so no traipsing through hotel. Wonderful staff. Will be staying again.

Reviewed by
debra grice

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great and Happy Time
As soon as i booked in the hotel staff were very helpful. The room at the rear of the hotel was quiet and very comfortable. The hotel is so very close to York minster and the old town just a few hundred yards away. I can not thank the hotel staff enough for such a warm and friendly vist, there is no doubt in my mind that i would book and stay here again

Reviewed by
kevin p

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Initial Impression
Entering from rear car park area the sun terrace appeared in need of decoration,the public toilets were no more than adequate. The reception area was good,the reception staff efficient and very helpful. The staircase to the first floor rooms would have been better had a cleaner been used to remove pieces of paper that had been dropped and remained there for 24 hours. The room was clean and had all that was advertised,the bathroom was clean and hot water was hot. Breakfast was good and served by very pleasant staff. As there are ongoing improvements scheduled I would conclude that this hotel has not got far to go before becoming a first class destination.

Reviewed by
IAN HENDERSON

From Merthyr Tydfil, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On arrival staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Stayed room 30
Arrived with a group of friends (8) Value for money, free parking a real bonus. Easy to get in to the city on foot . Staff were friendly welcoming and professional. Rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast service was quick and adequate staff friendly to overseas quests, giving them the time and their knowledge about the sites of York . The breakfast room was quite dark and could do with cheering up but it was clean and in keeping with the age of the building. Would recommend this hotel to my friends and relatives. Thanks Minster Hotel for our lovely stay .

Reviewed by
Melanie Molinari

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next