No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Laxnes

Háholt 4 , Mosfellsbæ, 270
Hotel Laxnes has the Best of Both Worlds located a short 10 minute drive from Reykjavik but is also ideally located for seeing the Northern Lights. Situated opposite a river and overlooking Mount Esja, this hotel is the perfect choice for guests wanting to enjoy some of Iceland’s best scenery whilst being at a relaxing countryside retreat, just minutes from the heart of Reykjavik.

The hotel is a modern country style lodge with fantastic mountain views and 26 large modern rooms. Being next to rivers, waterfalls, mountains, sea, and a beautiful lake, the hotel is perfect for nature lovers and hikers alike. Each spacious room has an ensuite bathroom and is decorated in a fresh and relaxing style. All rooms are equipped with complimentary wireless internet, a work desk and chair and TV. All rooms have a mountain view and some rooms have access to a private balcony; where guests can enjoy the dramatic scenery. After an active day guests are invited to relax and mingle with other guests in the hotel bar. A variety of drinks are available in traditional Icelandic surroundings and hot meals are on offer with a fantastic grill kitchen. For those wanting to dine out, several nearby restaurants within a few minutes walk from the hotel offer special discounts for guests. A buffet breakfast is also available every morning and served between 7:30 - 10:00.

Nearby attractions include; the Alafoss Viking Wool store, Laxnes horse riding, Golf course, fishing lake and the famous Golden Circle trip. For guests who want to explore the local surroundings –or take a trip into central Reykjavik— at their own convenience, the hotel can arrange car rental at reasonable rates. Guests arriving at Keflavik Airport can make use of the hotelʼs convenient transfer service and guests also have access to on-site parking.

Hotel Laxnes is proudly the Tourist Information centre for Mosfellsbær
Picture of Hotel Laxnes, Mosfellsbæ at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
Really good hotel, staff were amazing and really helpful, view was incredible. Was there for four nights and honestly couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Could see the northern lights from my bedroom window. Really was incredible. Would defently recommentd

Reviewed by
Nick Harvey

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location for Reykjavic stop-off
We stayed one night after flying into Iceland - and this hotel was in a perfect location for us to spend the day exploring Reykjavik. The Laxnes is really easy to find just a short turn off the main road - but tucked into a quiet corner with great views of the mountains. We had a spacious room with a spotless bathroom, coffee-making facilities, and a small balcony. The breakfast was hearty and the staff very helpfull. There are plenty of maps and guides in reception - and a couple of really good supermarkets a short walk away if you need to stock up ahead of travelling. It was an easy run from Keflavik airport, then a short hop back into the city for sightseeing and dinner - and straight onto the route to drive the Golden Circle the next morning. Super convenient and really good value for money.

Reviewed by
Debbie G

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break holiday in Iceland
I loved the hotel which had a slightly quirky character but the room was large and airy with facilities for tea making etc. It is just to the north of Reykjavik but there was some good working in the area and local restaurant plus fast food outlets. The road back to Reykjavik was very fast for access to all facilities in the capital. Had a lovely break.

Reviewed by
Sally J

From Ferryside, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay at Hotel Laxnes
I emailed the hotel the night before asking about hotel drop off and if there was a baggage store. I was promptly emailed back telling us exactly where to go to get a hotel drop off and that the time we would be due to arrive would be fine for check in. We arrived an hour and a half early for check in and were told as we were first, we had been upgraded to a suite. We were shown to our room and given a map with a walk drawn out for us taking us to a lovely cafe and waterfall.
We found the staff to be incredibly helpful including letting us use their computer to print something out. The room was warm, comfortable and clean.
The breakfast offered a variety of foods to choose from, but no cooked breakfast of any kind, although there were facilities to make some toast and hot drinks were provided. The room was also very quiet and quite dark when eating, which was made more apparent as it was still dark outside. Saying that, I really am forcing myself to find something. The hotel and staff were great, lovely location and I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
A Pilkington

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful experience
Hotel Laxnes is a great hotel! Out of the hustle of the main centre but still easily accessible by the local bus. The view from our room was gorgeous and we were even able to see the Northern Lights from here!
The hot tub was a lovely treat - fun to dip into while it's freezing cold outside! The room was nice and cosy - plenty of space and had everything that was needed.
Last but by no means least the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and could not do enough for us. They really helped to make our trip to Iceland as great as it was.

Reviewed by
Louise Bennett

From Folkestone, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hotel in a fantastic Location
Had a fantastic time with my family ,really helpful staff, nothing to much trouble for any of them. Breakfast was really nice too. Great location and plenty of places to eat within walking distance.White Knight (5 mins walk) about £40.00 for dinner for 4. KFC/ Subway/Domino's and Hotdogs at the petrol station over the road were ok for a snack as well. Shaun (Hotel Manager) organised all our trips and transfers and was really helpful. We were even lucky enough to see the Northern Lights on our last night whilst outside the Hotel. Bus stop is just outside the Hotel and takes you into Reyjavik for about £1.80 (number 15 bus) about 15 mins walk from the hotel was an outdoor Heated swimming pool with slides, sauna, hot tubs , Jacuzzi which was fantastic afternoon out with the children (outdoor swimming when its snowing) around £7.50 for 2 adults/2 chldn. Thanks to everyone at Laxnes Hotel for making this a a great stay.

Reviewed by
D Wright

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a fantastic stay at the Laxnes Hotel, staff were so friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. Its about a 20 min drive from the town , its a great location with fantastic veiws.

Reviewed by
j james

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little motel/hotel
Nice place to stay,no cons just pros

Reviewed by
Edward G

From Welwyn garden city, Wales
Who stayed in January 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.