No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hill View Hotel

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
90 PRESTON NEW ROAD , BLACKBURN, BB2 6BH
Make Hill View Hotel your next destination and enjoy the wonderful views of the surround hills in a quiet and comfortable environment. Blackburn offers everything you could want for that great day out or a longer stay. With superb shopping, first class leisure facilities, interesting heritage and miles of dramatic moorland scenery…. You’ll find plenty of variety and a lot happening that’s right up your street, a warm welcome awaits the visitor and whether your stay is short term or long term we look forward to seeing you soon. We are a medium sized family run business, established over ten years. Hill View Hotel is committed to providing the best of accommodations at competitive prices. Our aim is to make each guests stay enjoyable and memorable we achieve this by our friendly atmosphere and our pleasing staff are here to help and cater for your every need.
Picture of Hill View Hotel, BLACKBURN at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
32% recommended this accommodation to a friend 42% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and a pleasant stay,owners very pleasant and polite
Very nice stay would recommend,only comment no towels

Reviewed by
R whittle

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything was great just very uncomfortable bed

Reviewed by
M Hartley

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The worst hotel (if you can call it that) I have ever stayed in
Where do I begin.. The hotel was dated and dirty. Clearly under renovation but for me it should be closed down. The 'lounge' was a building site, the walls with peeling paper and plaster dust all over the stair rails. The 'renovated' room had a ceiling so low it was a health and safety hazard. There were no towels in the room, no hairdryer, iron, wardrobes. The bathroom was tiny with a big whole with exposed pipes under the shower tray. Breakfast was from 6:45 - 7:45 so basically get up or go hungry. I decided on the latter for fear of what I would be served with. Awful Awful Awful.. take my advice... Do not stay here!!!! - laterooms - you should be ashamed to be associated with this hotel

Reviewed by
Denise Graham

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Certainly not a high standard
When we entered the hotel, the hall was very dated with peeling wallpaper and a smell of incense sticks. There was no one to greet us but a sign on the counter to say call and someone will be with you. Someone came and took my cash without giving a receipt, when I asked about what time breakfast was served the woman said 8-9am then as I walked up lots of stairs with a heavy case changed her mind and gave a different time. Going up to the room we passed old sheets hanging in doorways, obviously under renovation. Our room was an attic room. Late rooms stated rooms come with wifi access iron, ironing board and hair dryer. The room had none of these! No towels are provided but we asked and were given some. The bedding looked clean but the sheet came off and the under mattress protector had dirty stains.The en suite bathroom was barely big enough to swing a cat in. There was rags behind the sink clearly they'd had a leak. When we turned on the shower, the water spurted in all directions due to it being damaged and leaking and there was an unsightly gap beneath the shower tray. We went to breakfast in yet another room that was very dated with peeling old fashioned wallpaper to find that we had to sit at a table with other guests as there were only 3 in the room. The menu was on a piece of card and as the owners are of Indian origin we found no English cooked breakfast..it was halal and beef sausages. I just had toast on the first day and gave it a miss the second morning. I wouldn't class this hotel as 3* at all and was quite disappointed

Reviewed by
W Baker

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel should not be called a hotel .it was dirty and cramped I did not stay at this hotel .however my family did as we were at a family wedding .this hotel should not be on any website .

Reviewed by
A parsons

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good safe car park, Hotel ok for one night.

Reviewed by
R JONES

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel in the making
We booked a twin room which reflected the pic on the website. When we arrived we were given an old dark dilapidated family room instead as the room we booked was apparently not available. The room had curtains falling off the rails which you could not shut at night,an old outworn sofa which was in need of a good clean, and a very old shower room the size of a small cupboard that was offensive to both sight and smell. The whole room decor was depressing and far outdated. The only plus side was the bedding was clean.
This hotel appears to be in a refurbishment stage so maybe the room we stayed in will be the next to be updated.

Reviewed by
Linda W

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No breakfast
This hotel is set part way up a hill on a service road off the main road. There is no designated parking for the hotel which with 3 floors of rooms is not particularly helpful. I managed to park on the service road but I don’t think I was supposed to. It looks like there is some on-road parking on the main road. On arrival instructions were clear to phone a number using the desk phone and someone was with me within 2 minutes. I was shown to my room and bags were carried to the top floor. The single en-suite room was a loft room which was OK because I didn’t really need to access the sloping roof side. It would have been helpful to have a chair, desk and bedside table. The room looks and smells like it has been recently refurbished – so recent that I could still smell the damp plaster. There was a radiator with local controls that soon warmed up the room. No towels were provided but within 5 minutes the receptionist returned with some for me without me asking. There is a small TV with all Freeview channels. WiFi is not reliable on the 3rd floor and kept coming and going. The mattress was firm and comfortable. Oddly, at the head of the bed was what looked like a loft hatch secured only by a hook and a bit of plastic bag wrapped around it – I stuffed a pillow over it to stop any creepy crawlies getting in but it was probably the strangest thing I’ve ever seen in a hotel room. Breakfast, although paid for with the room, was non-existent. I was told the night before that it would be available between 6:45 and 9:45. The next morning I arrived at 8:00 for breakfast to be told it was 6:45 to 7:45. I was obviously very annoyed. The only response I got after that in broken English was “cook home”. I wasn’t the only person to have been misinformed as somebody else also arrived for breakfast at the same time.s

Reviewed by
Paul L

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
what lovely people the owners are.very pleasant and helpful.i had appointment at the hospital and never having been to Blackburn before,didnt know the way.the landlord went to the trouble to draw me a very good detailed map.I found my way no problem.SPOT ON> Thankyou.would recommend.

Reviewed by
j holdsworth

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spot on.
Everything you need for a low budget!

Reviewed by
Justin M

From Perranporth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next